Ozone Generator

tayhonglee

hi all,

it doesn't seem like this post is against the bulk ordering guidelines, but if it is, please delete this post and i offer my apologies. seems like lots of posts have been deleted, so i better be careful. :)

i am going to buy an ozone generator to use in my next tank. everything i have read seems to indicate that ozone improves water quality, coupled of course with judicious use of carbon and orp monitor.

the cheapest ones in our current market is about $350 for a 50mg/h generator. this website sells a 200mg/h unit at US$45, excluding shipping.

http://www.ozone.enaly.com/OZX-300U.htm

US$45 is slightly less than S$80.

Bulk orders will be cheaper. I will continue to email them and find out exactly how much cheaper. i will post their reply as soon as i receive it.

in the meantime, if you are interested, please include your name so that i have a rough idea of how many people are interested.

here is the RC link where i read about ozone uses, ozone effects on aquariums, diy ozone reactors, ozone generators, and precautions to take note. in the thread itself there are others useful links about ozone.

http://reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.p...ew&pagenumber=1

again, if this post is against guidelines, i apologize to the moderators for extra work. :)

god bless,

henry

• Replies 148

I am interested in it, so how can i use it? the normal are at 50mg, will this 200mg cause a overdose?

Pls one with experience??

One more thing, i know tat not all skimmer can accept ozone rite? I am using H&S skimmer.

look carefully bro.... :)

the 300U or the 300T comes with built in air pump..so there is a small air nipple for u to plug in your air hose on the right bottom edge of the gadget...

if u want to use an external air pump, go for the 300Y... you can see 2 obvious air nipples...one IN one OUT :)

http://www.ozone.enaly.com/EOZ-300Y.htm

below is the pic of 300U with inbuilt air pump....

post-20-1113460012.jpg

I'm confused looking at the product... how do we connect?

Dun seem to have an inlet/outlet for pipe or so?

Ozone Generator OZX-B300T have a air pump, maybe just connect this to a air tube then into the tank or skimmer..

Any expert???

I am interested in it, so how can i use it? the normal are at 50mg, will this 200mg cause a overdose?

Pls one with experience??

One more thing, i know tat not all skimmer can accept ozone rite? I am using H&S skimmer.

H&S skimmer body can 'tahan' ozone. ;)

Thanks bro, tat is great, ok hope this bulk order can go thru, u getting one??

But at 200mg will it cause overdose as it is not adjustable.

Next is to get the expensive ORP monitor at $249 liao

hi everyone,

thank you for all your interests.

here are the emails that i have received thus far.

On 4/13/05, Henry Tay <tayhonglee@gmail.com> wrote:

> Dear Mr Wang,

>

> Please advise me on the number of units and the corresponding prices

> that you can quote.

>

> All orders will be delivered to Singapore.

>

> Regards,

> Tay, Hong Lee

>

> On 4/13/05, ENALYOZONE <enalyozone@yahoo.com> wrote:

> > Hello Tay,

> >

> > Thank you very much for interested in our products.

> >

> > Please tell us your possible order quantity so that we can make quotations

> > for you.

> >

> > We ship products only after we get full payment. Products will be shipped

> > from Shanghai, China. Shipping fee to Singapore is not high even by express

> > mails.

> >

> > OZX-300U is a CE listed product and more information on our products can be

> > viewed at our website, www.enaly.com

> >

> > Please feel free to contact us if you have any further requests.

> > Sincerely

> > Zhongxi Wang

> >

> >

> > Henry Tay <tayhonglee@gmail.com> wrote:

> > Dear Sir / Mdm,

> > I am writing to ask about your shipping policy to Singapore. I am

> > interested in your OZX 300U. Please advise on your payment policy,

> > shipping costs, shipping duration and total costs incurred.

> > Thank your for your kind attention.

> > Regards,

> > Tay, Hong Lee

> >

> >

> > ENALY TRADE CO LTD

> > 648 Gauthier Ave.

> > Coquitlam, BC

> > V3K 1R3 Canada

> > Tel: (604)937-3984

> > Fax: (604)937-3974

> > Website: www.enaly.com

i have read through the RC thread that i posted earlier on (and a looong read it was). there are some pictures in there that showed someone opening up a unit and performing some simple diy.

in a nut shell, the inlet pipe is built inside the ozone generator unit itself. this inlet air tube is accessible when you open up the unit. an ordinary air tube was then attached to the inlet air pipe.

thereafter the other end of the newly attached air tube is connected to a simple air dryer. apparently dry air facilitates the production of ozone.

the diy air dryer is basically a bottle filled with desicant, with a small drilled hole to which you attach the inlet air tube.

the outlet of the ozone generator is connected to the air input valve of your skimmer, via a Y joint.

:) does my explanation make sense?

my suggestion is to read the RC thread. there are lots of information in there. i would like to help as much as possible, but i have no experience at all with ozone. please do not be impressed by the false perception that im an expert. :)

i shall create a list of all interested individuals, and i shall post the list periodically so that we may all be in the clear.

please understand that im not making any money, or that i have any business undertakings with the abovementioned website. if you have any cheaper alternatives, please do not hesitate to post. the cheaper the better :)

on a different note, my impression was that ozone seems to be safer than commonly perceived. mosts of the posts are in favor of ozone. for myself, i shall not be using an orp monitor. the costs of an orp monitor with a probe are too steep for me. my plan is to run the unit for increasing number of hours a day until i see good visual improvement in water quality, and then back off and maintain the same duration.

i think i talk too much....hahha

henry

Anyway, here is my ORP meter, pic taken sometime back in jan 04...dunno where i chucked my sanders ozoniser and this ORP meter already....

I bought it from Sim Lim Tower, I don't think it is very expensive, your guys can check it out....can't remember name of the shop but it's at the basement... :)

it is cheaper because it just reads the ORP, but i think WEIPRO does make a cheap ORP controller that can both read the ORP as well as turn your ozoniser on/off...you guys can check that out too :)

Or can check out American Pinpoint ORP monitor here

http://www.eaquanature.com/store/product_i...products_id=830

Or the American Pinpoint ORP controller here...

http://www.marinedepot.com/md_viewItem.asp?idproduct=AM1313

post-20-1113461542.jpg

hi roidan,

can you provide some details about your orp monitor?  how much does it cost?  im really interested.

thanks!

henry

I seriously can't remember how much i paid for it.....but i bought it at the basement of Sim Lim Tower...take a walk around and u will definitely find a number of shops selling such ORP meters/controllers....

or our sponsor EAN is selling the American Pinpoint ORP meter as i have pasted above, at $228

http://www.eaquanature.com/store/product_i...products_id=830

but remember this does not turn your ozoniser on or off when the readings get too high or too low.....only an ORP CONTROLLER does that, which is why it is more expensive..

if you do not mind the brand and the quality, WEIPRO makes an ORP controller i believe around 300plus or so....then u can hook up your ozoniser to it and preset the activation and deactivation of the ozoniser at your desired levels ;)

if u want to use an external air pump, go for the 300Y... you can see 2 obvious air nipples...one IN one OUT :)

http://www.ozone.enaly.com/EOZ-300Y.htm

If you go with the 300Y you can also limit the amount of Ozone being produced by using a smaller airpump... also no ongoing maintenance probs if the inbuilt airpump breaks like you would have with the 300U :idea:

Caution to those who're planning to purchase this Enaly Ozonizer as this product is an overkill for most of us unless you're having a 2,000l tank. ;)

Moreover there is no rheostat to control the output!

Based on info from the website, the min output of this Enaly OXZ-300U is 200mg and max is 300mg. This is enough to "cook" your fish.

Fyi, the standard value recommended is to have 10mg ozone/h in 100l of sea water and if you are having a 850litres tank then you should be sourcing for a unit which produces a max output of 100mg/h with a rheostat control.

Please re-consider your buying decision.

aquatronica7na.gif

People Will Forget What You Said.

People Will Forget What You Did.

But People Will Never Forget,

How You Make Them Feel.

very right bandit :) .....the more components, the higher the risk of failure....

i also would recommend getting the one without the inbuilt air pump :)

henry, i would strongly advise you to get an ORP controller if the ozoniser is overpowered for your application....so that when the ORP levels reach your set point of say 450 for eg., it will turn your ozoniser off....either this method or u can just buy a lower powered ozoniser like sanders/redsea and leave it on all the time....but a lower powered ozoniser may not be able to push your ORP readings to what you desire...so that's another point to consider :)

simply put, to use a powerful ozoniser without knowing your ORP readings is akin to dropping a powerful engine into a carbody and speeding without knowing what dangerous speeds you are at....

similarly, to use a weak ozoniser without knowing your ORP readings is akin to dropping a weak engine into a car body and applying blind faith that this gadget will do what is supposed to do ;)

thus an ORP meter is like your speedometer.....whereas an ORP controller is like your speedometer with the cruise-control...it will speed up the car to the preset setting when the car slows down climbing up a steep road and it will slow down the car to the preset setting when the car speeds up going down a steep road :)

Caution to those who're planning to purchase this Enaly Ozonizer as this product is an overkill for most of us unless you're having a 2,000l tank.  ;)

Moreover there is no rheostat to control the output!

Based on info from the website, the min output of this Enaly OXZ-300U is 200mg and max is 300mg. This is enough to "cook" your fish.

Fyi, the standard value recommended is to have 10mg ozone/h in 100l of sea water and if you are having a 850litres tank then you should be sourcing for a unit which produces a max output of 100mg/h with a rheostat control.

Please re-consider your buying decision.

All quite valid risks, but if you go with a small air pump (say 4l per hour) you have no risk of this happening according to the table supplied on the 300Y page.

Put it on a timer to only come on for a set period per day, monitor the ORP, or get a controller and all is good.

However, Ozone is VERY dangerous and is not too be messed with unless you are willing to minimise the risk. IMO, I would not use an ozonizer without an ORP controller.

IMO, I would not use an ozonizer without an ORP controller.

I 2nd that as well :)

Use underpowered ozonisers, while safe, may mean u are just wasting electricity without the gadget doing serious work on your water....

On the other hand, using overpowered ozonisers will be damaging not only to your tank but to you and your family.

so be effective and yet safe, drive with a *speedometer(orp meter)*, or better still, get one with *cruise-control(orp controller)* :P

anyway, here are more articles on ORP and ozonisers :)

http://www.athiel.com/lib5/redox.htm

http://www.reefcentral.com/reeflink/johnl/mfaira/13.htm

on second thoughts, the best way might be for everyone interested to pm me the model you want and i will compile them into a list. after all orders are given to me, i will bargain for the lowest price with Mr Wang of Enaly.

It would be best if everyone could choose between 300U and 300Y, since there is only a difference of US$1.

as for the orp monitor, i have no cheap alternatives. if anyone have any good ideas about where to buy cheap ones, please post or pm me. it'll be most appreciated by all of us interested reefers, im sure.

thanks!

ok, three other persons other than myself have indicated interest in the ozone generator. not too bad, considering this is the first day.

i would like to wait 2 weeks for all interested people to be aware of this bulk purchase and to consider. what do the rest of you think?

if there are any concerns or problems with this time frame, please pm so that alternatives can be discussed.

god bless

henry

also, after reading the advises and links provided by everyone, i think an orp monitor is a definitely wise addition. :paiseh:

haha, so please let me know if you have any cheap sources ok?

thanks!

Here's a link to a cheaper pinpoint orp meter Reefdepot

If you want it even cheaper, something of equivalence will have to wait awhile... ;)

hi everyone,

no updates today. im still trying to find an oem orp controller or monitor. i haven't been successful sifting through the net, but i will be going down to sim lim tower tomorrow, so there is still a glimmer of hope. :)

i will report my progress tomorrow evening.

god bless

henry

thank you melyvn for that fine link to reefdepot. it is most definitely a viable option. thank you! keep the tips and links and ideas coming guys!

1. 0

EXTRAWD - Agen Slot88 Terpercaya Paling Menguntungkan

EXTRAWD - Agen Slot Gacor Terpercaya Paling Menguntungkan

3. 0

wts zoas

4. 0

EXTRAWD : Akun Demo Slot Pragmatic Play Gratis Gampang Maxwin x1000

5. 0

EXTRAWD : Situs slot online dan bandar togel terpercaya di indonesia 2024