Setting up shop for a Rimless 3by3by2

LittleBurger

Hi Littleburger....

Kudos to you for doing your due diligience on selection of tank maker. You definitely gets to keep your bra unlike some of the newbies here.

Some thoughts for food.

carbon - you can just leave them in a filter bag, there is no need for FR.

Get a biopellet reactor and a FR for rowaphos.

good job and keep us posted.

camping here....

for the carbon in the FR, i got the idea from Madpetz. also I thought that rowa looks same as the carbon. If use FR will be better reaction.

I bought the POX4 instead of rowa. Seems to the rave now.

Tank size:36"x36"x24"

Return pump" 2x Reef Octo 5000

Skimmer:BK Double Cone 200 on Reef Octopus DC 5500s.

Wavemaker:2xVortech MP40wES

Chemical filtration:1xeducator FR(biopellets)

Chiller:1hp Daikin compressor.

Lighting:2 x Kessil A360we

Auto topup system: JBJ ATO + new jet 1200

Dosing system: Kamoer 3 channel.

Additives: ESV 2 part.

Power consumption

2XReef Octo 5000: 120watts

BK skimmer:50watts

2xVortech wavemaker:70watts

Daikin compressor:775watts

Lighting:180watts

Ato system:21watts

Exhaust fans:16watts

Refugium light:27watts

Front side facing the main door. Decided to not cut any slits on the door. Maybe looks nicer.

tankview10.jpg

Other side facing the living room window. Door with slits. Air will be sucked in from here or blow out. Still not decided. tankview12.jpg

The side with big opening facing the wall. Due to the "extraordinary HDB designer", my living room wall is slanted. So when I postiioned my tank parallel to my living room window, there will be a gap between the wall & cabinet.

As my chiller is placed inside the cabinet, this gap might be useful for ventilation.

tankview13.jpg

The removable partition inside the cabinet separating the chiller and sump compartment. 2 coolmaster fan. The removable partition is for future expansion if I want to move out the chiller to get more space inside the cabinet. tankview17.jpg

Here comes the sump & pipings.

tankview14.jpg

Here comes the tank....

tankview15.jpg

The 45deg angled tip for the return outlet. Going to cut the tip shorter. Not sure worth the trouble.

tankview18.jpg

The black acrylic to place at the centre of the tank. Initially wanted a clear piece, but Dan got a black. Looks nicer. tankview16.jpg

Tank is positioned . 3 side crystal glass. Luckily my shelf dun need to be dismantled. Uncle Walter check for the capentry work such as the flip door of the boxup overflow & make final adjustments. tankview19.jpg Eagerly waiting tomolo afternoon for Uncle Walter to amend one of my drain pipe. Once done then I can start filling up the tank with RO water and work on the sump.

Power consumption

you can also consider supplementing the LED with 2 tube of T5, it will improve the coral growth ! Nice tank , keep the photos coming goodjob.gif

So actinic or white tube better for t5?

Power consumption

Nice!!

do keep the pic and commentary coming..

I still dont quite get the point about the removable panel for chiller though... which is the panel? And where are u placing the chiller?

Hi Wilson, the panel is this.

tankview29.jpg

Chiller placing here. Not sure how will be the heat exhange in this compartment.....

tankview32.jpg

As the exhaust air from chiller will rise up, I plan to put the exhaust fan on top.

Exhaust fan power consumption is 3.36watts. Am planning if this fan only kicks in when the chiller kicks in.

Whereas the 2 fan that pulls/pushes air into the sump will leave on 24/7.

Power consumption

Top cover of the overflow box.

tankview20.jpg

To prevent light gap.

tankview31.jpg

tankview30.jpg

Anti knock.

tankview21.jpg

QT tank drainage pipe

tankview24.jpg

tankview22.jpg

Space saving electrical socket

tankview33.jpg

Not sure should mount electrical socket in vertical or horizontal.

tankview28.jpg

tankview27.jpg

Sump close up

tankview25.jpg

tankview26.jpg

Power consumption

Nice setup pics with explanation. Keep it going! I have my reservations If there will be sufficient ventilation for your chiller. Do keep us updated!

You will need more working space for your FRs.Try to unscrew the FR now to simulate changing the media.you will find it v awkward to do so. It will be harder when sump and FRs are running in future. Make sure you have sufficient flexible hosing to give you that leeway you need for maintenance.

Filled up system with RO/DI. Took about 12hrs.

Tested the water flow.

Power consumption

Nice setup pics with explanation. Keep it going! I have my reservations If there will be sufficient ventilation for your chiller. Do keep us updated!

You will need more working space for your FRs.Try to unscrew the FR now to simulate changing the media.you will find it v awkward to do so. It will be harder when sump and FRs are running in future. Make sure you have sufficient flexible hosing to give you that leeway you need for maintenance.

Am told to leave out the biopellets n pox4 pellets during the cycling time. I try lifting the fr up n unscrew. Due to short tubing, it is bit diffocult to unscrew. Maybe need lengthslightly the tubing.

Been doing landscaping since yesterday. Today came home n found my power supply for my led kaput. Using the refugium light bulb no

Am questioing myself how long should i cycle. Without sufficient lghting for my corals n fish... might be transferring everything over asap.

:rolleyes:

Power consumption

great build! and interesting slanted wall :lol:

i'm also having doubts whether the chiller's ventilation would be adequate. would it not be possible to turn the chiller exhaust to face either side doors instead? perhaps then you could do something with the doors as well just like how the back panel is now

One of the TEDIOUS job after tank delivery is the check & clean away any silicon glue residue.

The next "siong" job is to do the rockscape. Put base rock in tank, take out to drill & glue. Put in 2nd piece rock arrange, take out, put it.

IMPORTANT point to note is the floor is wet so when you step onto the high chair must really be careful. Cos I encountered once the chair moved forward when I stepped up, hand still hugging the big rock. "Kum sia" Goddess of Mercy....

How the rockscape came about....

Since Fengshui is always in & out of our life. With a wider width, decided to create the scape shape in a chinese character "八".

I remember a recent posting by Bro CFoh on the pics of planted tanks. The "essence" or layout is you are looking at a miniature river. It's a zoom out view. Personally, I feel that a zoom out view looks "peaceful", serenity & calm.

From the pics, it seems like the structures ie rocks & plants are of the correct side chosen, probably in correlation to the tank size itself. Again maybe the golden ration plays a part.

My current tank scape, I've stack & stack rocks. Somehow this seems to me it's the "zoom in" look. So trying out a "zoom out" look now. Think that maybe with a "zoom out" look layout, u can still have a "zoom in" look. But with a "zoom in" look, you can't have a "zoom out" look.

Anyway, it's just my thoughts..... Thinking is always easy but creating the idea is always difficult.

Also read one book borrowed from library. The author was saying to create an environment that's reef like. There's a few reef structures ... can't remember the actual names.

But I like the cliffs the most. So I decided to have high "walls", but not too bulky. As my tank width is wide, it eases the effort in choosing the correct size LR. All my LR from my old tank.

rock6.jpg

I wanted the rockscape to reduce hinderance to the flow, thus hopefully reducing dead spots. At the same time to take in the factor that vortech pump's "direction of sight" should not be blocked so as not to reduce its efficiency. The rocks were adjusted to its current position.

With a wider width, there is more room to create a "3D" viewing.

1st side view

rock4.jpg

2nd side view

rock5.jpg

3rd side view

rock1.jpg

RETURN PIPE ANGLE ANGLE ADJUSTMENT

The 2 return pipes are rotated pointed outwards so the flow would be...

rock8.jpg

After the LR are in positioned, the substrate are poured in. Not enough substrate. Going to get another from Madpetz today.

With advice from Ken, I've put some bigger sand bits near to my underflow.

coarsesand.jpg

Power consumption

nice setup

can share whos the maker

My tank maker is Coral Reef Aquarium. ;)

Power consumption

Is tat e final scaping bro?

Hi bro, ya it's the final scape. U have some advice?

Power consumption

Light installation

Bought a $2 vernier caliper from Daiso. Measured false ceiling(gypsum board) 10mm thick. Bought the gypsum board plug & 10mm drill from HOMEFIX.

gypsumboardplug.jpg

Was worried on how the installation. U suppose to fold in the wings, compressed it & insert into the hole in ceiling. But was visualizing that if inserted the plug into ceiling, when u try to screw in the screw, wouldn't the plug also turns inside the ceiling?

Got confirmation from Ken(Madpetz) that the plug wouldn't turn at all.

lightinstall1b.jpg

Here goes the installation. Insert gypsum plug into ceiling

lightinstall1.jpg

Screw in the hanging kit

lightinstall1a.jpglightinstall2.jpg

lightinstallationcomplete.jpg

With new sand & refugium mud, the filter sock gets clog easily within just a few minutes. Water is extremely cloudy. So LL, shifted skimmer over.

Luckily got the caribseas biomagnet. Quite effective.

skimmermovein.jpg

Fans installed in chiller compartment. The 2 fans on the left are will be drawing air out from the sump area. The right fan is for evacuating warm air from chiller compartment. Will be getting another 1 & put below.

They're computer lights, so with LED lightings. B)

fans.jpg

Power consumption

Hi bro, ya it's the final scape. U have some advice?

Hmmm... Sori to say tis. I don feel tat scape suite ur tank. It look normal. U got an high end custom design tank wit high end equipment. Hence ur scapin should be high end scapin too. Hehe... Try to make a trademark for ur scaping. For example, when reefer came to my hs, they noe my trademark is tree scaping. Same goes to u. In future when reefer go to ur hs n they will say " tis is a hign end tank wit high end scaping" 

Anyway tis is jus my opinion. Don take it too hard. No offence ar bro. But end of the day, if ur hapi then so be it... Hehe... 

But i noe u can do better scapin... 

Hmmm... Sori to say tis. I don feel tat scape suite ur tank. It look normal. U got an high end custom design tank wit high end equipment. Hence ur scapin should be high end scapin too. Hehe... Try to make a trademark for ur scaping. For example, when reefer came to my hs, they noe my trademark is tree scaping. Same goes to u. In future when reefer go to ur hs n they will say " tis is a hign end tank wit high end scaping" 

Anyway tis is jus my opinion. Don take it too hard. No offence ar bro. But end of the day, if ur hapi then so be it... Hehe... 

But i noe u can do better scapin... 

I dun have any idea of scaping liao le. From the beginning already got this scape in mind. I'm trying to replicate a landscape from the ocean & modifying a bit & also leaving more swimming space. So really running out of idea what other shapes....

Or u already got a scape in mind for my tank? :whistle

Power consumption

Finalize electrical socket location & installation plus chiller installation

electricalsocketlayout-1.jpgchiller-1.jpg

Vortech pump installation

vortech-1.jpg

Let there be LIGHT!!!

1 unit of radion suspended at abt 9" from top of water. Quite satisfy with the light coverage.

Only with few LPS, laying them temporarily there. If possible, will be fragging the pineapple coral.

lighton.jpg

Found this under a piece of LR buried under the sand. It was hiding under the rock.

Is it a cocoworm without the "house"? Cos I see 3 feelers....

Should I put in tank or refugium?

cocoworm.jpg

Power consumption

Finalize electrical socket location & installation plus chiller installation

electricalsocketlayout-1.jpgchiller-1.jpg

Vortech pump installation

vortech-1.jpg

Let there be LIGHT!!!

1 unit of radion suspended at abt 9" from top of water. Quite satisfy with the light coverage.

Only with few LPS, laying them temporarily there. If possible, will be fragging the pineapple coral.

lighton.jpg

Found this under a piece of LR buried under the sand. It was hiding under the rock.

Is it a cocoworm without the "house"? Cos I see 3 feelers....

Should I put in tank or refugium?

cocoworm.jpg

Looks like bristle worm....

30ikthj.gif30ikthj.gif30ikthj.gif
BANNER.jpg
1-3.jpg

LFS Map in singapore