Setting up shop for a Rimless 3by3by2

LittleBurger

Looks like bristle worm....

[/quote

There's 3feelers on the head leh. Thought bristle head machiam centipede...

Tank size:36"x36"x24"

Return pump" 2x Reef Octo 5000

Skimmer:BK Double Cone 200 on Reef Octopus DC 5500s.

Wavemaker:2xVortech MP40wES

Chemical filtration:1xeducator FR(biopellets)

Chiller:1hp Daikin compressor.

Lighting:2 x Kessil A360we

Auto topup system: JBJ ATO + new jet 1200

Dosing system: Kamoer 3 channel.

Additives: ESV 2 part.

Power consumption

2XReef Octo 5000: 120watts

BK skimmer:50watts

2xVortech wavemaker:70watts

Daikin compressor:775watts

Lighting:180watts

Ato system:21watts

Exhaust fans:16watts

Refugium light:27watts

Throw it away bro!!!! Flush it into e toilet bowl!!!

As for ur scaping i can visualise it... 

Where ur stayin bro? If nearby tamp, i can dropby to help... 

Me staying bukit panj. My CO wan me to cease "operation" as guests are coming soon....

Sibey sian...

Power consumption

think it is not bristle but bobby worm(hope i got the right name). The body should be giving 2 tones coloration.....movement faster than bristle....

Bro 1 radion kind of dim and not enough to light up the tank.

ya man.... hope got more variable bonus to buy another unit.

Wanted to put nps at areas with less light though. Going to make a vertial wall for nps too

Power consumption

Nice idea on the Y shaped overflow box to hide the Vortech. I couldn't visualize through your description, but a picture is better than a thousand words.

You might wanna re-look at your chiller hoses though... the bending seems like it might cause the hose walls to squeeze in and limit the flow.

I agree with cool guy on the scaping. With the wow amount of money and effort spent for your setup, you need a wow scaping to complement it.

And yes, do consider supplementing your lights with T5s.

think it is not bristle but bobby worm(hope i got the right name). The body should be giving 2 tones coloration.....movement faster than bristle....

Ya 2 tone coloration. When i dump into toilet bowl, me n daughter saw it got a reflective blue tone.... damn

Power consumption

oh my.. i hate that worm. like what everyone's saying its a bobbit and needs to be flushed down. it would be a good idea to continue to keep an eye out for these pests!

should try inviting cool_guy over to help with your scaping, his scapes are :score:

My office comp cant see the pics you posted, but i shared your enthu.

Got open house, plse invite me. Bring a sps reef warming gift for you.

cheers,

bigmike

Been living in my house for abt 11yrs. No more house warming but welcome any 同道中人。

Looking for monti frag to start off my 1st sps. If u have i can buy frm u.

Power consumption

Nice idea on the Y shaped overflow box to hide the Vortech. I couldn't visualize through your description, but a picture is better than a thousand words.

You might wanna re-look at your chiller hoses though... the bending seems like it might cause the hose walls to squeeze in and limit the flow.

I agree with cool guy on the scaping. With the wow amount of money and effort spent for your setup, you need a wow scaping to complement it.

And yes, do consider supplementing your lights with T5s.

Theres a pic titled vortech pump installation. Not really hiding the vortech. Initial idea was to construct a extrrnal wavebox n put wet side in external box. But in the end aborted the idea. Risky.

The chiller hoses for the input side going to redo cos like wat u say it might restrict more flow at later stage

Power consumption

Bro, 1 radion for a 3x3 tank seems insufficient.

And while the scape may look quite bare, as long as you like, that's cool...

scaling is like choosing gf.

Everyone says light not enough.... jin jia sad... looks like need to find excuse buy a post boxing day present for myself...

Yr light is total 500w rite?

Power consumption

Its a bobbit worm.. will hunt fish.. glad that u caught it out...

It moves slow, to me eyes. Dun have mouth like the movie The Thing.

Cant imagine it can hunt fishes. I was clearing the sand n remaining lr when i pull out a lr covered in sand, when i flip over n got a shock of my life. Very disgusting.

Wonder does it also kana shock by someone finding its lair. Recently i lost my royal gamma... dun know if its the culprit.

Power consumption

oh my.. i hate that worm. like what everyone's saying its a bobbit and needs to be flushed down. it would be a good idea to continue to keep an eye out for these pests!

should try inviting cool_guy over to help with your scaping, his scapes are :score:

Wonder how we can net these pests... just like our tank maintenance. If theres a product tat can without harming fish n coral would sure sell like hotcakes

Power consumption

Bro straydum, ur jus kiddin. My scaping is easy n anyone can do it.

Btw bro LB, if u really need help jus let me noe. Only need u to provide my transport fee... Lol

Wats up never sleep at 230am?

Power consumption

I always werk till 3am bro... I

U in tourism industry? or u surf net & play game?

Eh i only know KTV open till 3am leh....:whistle

Power consumption

Wonder how we can net these pests... just like our tank maintenance. If theres a product tat can without harming fish n coral would sure sell like hotcakes

The last time I encountered a bobbit worm in my tank, it was lodged in my base rock..... I had no choice but to remove the whole base rock , kill the rock and the worm crawled out... I was so pissed of with it, Ketchup and I dumped boiling water onto the worm to kill the bugger for good.. it ended up being about 3 feet long.. and I suspect it had eaten my golden rhomboid. You're lucky you caught it out whilst cycling... mine was in my matured tank.

And yes.. 1 radion is really not enough for your tank.... my personal opinion that 1 radion is barely enough for a 2x2x2 cube but yours is 3x3x2! You definitely need 2.

Merry Xmas and have fun stocking up.

Cheers, ;)

Desi

Sheldon (TBBT): A little misunderstanding? Galileo and the Pope had a little misunderstanding...

Useful "tools" for attaching items. These 3M "velcro" like tape are good. Their sticky side is extremely strong & the "velcro" side is very secure too. I've also used it to secure my vortech controller. But the price is steep. I got it from HOMEFIX.

plasticvelcro.jpg

plasticvelcro2.jpg

Added 1 more 20cm exhaust fan to the chiller compartment for extra power. Chiller input line not yet modified to prevent the kink. Even Ehiem hose will kink. Searching for hardier hose.

exhaustfan.jpg

The weather for these few days is damn great. If we can have this weather minus the rain, it would be superb!

Chiller never turn on at all, saves $. Gals can wear "winter" wear go out catwalk & provide eye candies for the guys.:heh:

Power consumption

I wouldn't even go on to get another radion, over rated and under delivering specifications. Put the money on something reliable and proven.

With the electricity tariff going up like our minister's pay :poster_oops: , it could be hard to sustain the hobby. As MH's heat generation is probably the main cause of $$ drain, I would prefer LED lighting.

The reason why I chose radion over the rest is due to the software. It's versatile.

I would agree with u on not getting a 2nd unit of radion just yet. Currently intensity at 50%. So will be buying some SPS frag from bro cedric & test out on the capability of the lighting. I hope it don't fail me though... cos MH is very "heaty".

Power consumption