Setting up shop for a Rimless 3by3by2

LittleBurger

Nice!! Where did u get this kessil? Tempted to upgrade to 2 units of a360we.
Bro, I think u can buy online from here, http://www.ecocityhydroponics.com Cheers.

Display Tank : 36" x 20" x 20" Herbie overflow box design, Sump : 36" x 21" x 17", Frag Tank : 16” x 20” x 16”, custom built by Tank Culture.

Lightings : Ecotech  Radion XR15 Pro x 2 for Main Display Tank, Inled R80 x 1 for Frag Tank.

Chiller : Dalkin 1hp compressor with build-in drop coil.

Skimmer : Skimz Octa SC205i Protein Skimmer.

FR : H2Ocean FMR75 Fluidised Media Reactor with Hailea HX-2500 (Feeder Pump) running Rowaphos.

CR : Skimz Monzter E Series CM122 Calcium Reactor.

BPR: Marine Source Biopellet  Reactor with Continuum Reef Biopellet Fuel. 

Main Return Pump : SICCE Syncra ADV 9.0 & Jebao ACQ-10000 Water Pump.

Wavemaker : Jebao MOW-9 x2 for Main Display Tank & Jebao SLW-20M  Sine Wave Pump for  Frag Tank.

Water Top Up: AutoAqua Smart ATO Lite.

Thanks! They didnt have the new e series though.
I got my e series from ecocityhydrophonics. I got mine delivered last nite. You may call Alfred to place an order.

Tank size:36"x36"x24"

Return pump" 2x Reef Octo 5000

Skimmer:BK Double Cone 200 on Reef Octopus DC 5500s.

Wavemaker:2xVortech MP40wES

Chemical filtration:1xeducator FR(biopellets)

Chiller:1hp Daikin compressor.

Lighting:2 x Kessil A360we

Auto topup system: JBJ ATO + new jet 1200

Dosing system: Kamoer 3 channel.

Additives: ESV 2 part.

Power consumption

2XReef Octo 5000: 120watts

BK skimmer:50watts

2xVortech wavemaker:70watts

Daikin compressor:775watts

Lighting:180watts

Ato system:21watts

Exhaust fans:16watts

Refugium light:27watts

Oh cool.same price as a360?
$590. I think slightly more than a360w? I dun know price for a360w.

Power consumption

Ok thanks.. would love to see a fts with this awesome light over!
awesome light but ugly tank. Still battling green bubble algae so I turn down the intensity of my radion light to slow down the growth and propagation. Some corals start dying. Though they say the light can cover 24x24, I find it dimmer as compared to my radion gen 1. If u read from the RC forum, the par value of this light is low, but coral response is good. Contemplating to get a 2nd unit.

Power consumption

This is the video of the kessil glitters. http://youtu.be/8xLYfPztl3E

Power consumption

The 1st video above is kessil a360we with 2x rapid led par38 bulbs. This video below are only kessil only. http://youtu.be/aaMVIRJYmDA

Power consumption

wow that shimmer is awesome!

Agree

Sent from my GT-N7105 using Tapatalk

| Display : 48x30x22 Skimmer : SK-201 skimz

| Sump : 30x24x18 Wavemaker : 2x RW-15 , 1x RW-8

| Cooling : 1HP titanium drop in coil ATO : JBJ

| Lighting : ATI Sunpower 8x54w + 48x cree xte royal blue Return : Jebao dc-6000

| Dosing : Jebao dosing pump [ CaCl2 + NaHCO3 ] Pump :

| Reactor : FSZ Z160 zeolite reactor & phosban 150

| System : ZEOVIT

decomm-ed :

Ydkm SPS reef

:wub: >><< :wub:

Damn sian that this morning was looking at my refugium and discovered that the mini red dragon 1200 pump for my double cone had kaput, barely 2 yrs and 4mths. The internal of the pump is clean, without any deposits that will hinder the movement. After googling and comparing the symptoms, the likely cause is failure of the motor block. Jin disappointed with bubble king. Been reading on forums of people complaining the quality of the pumps and never expected that it will happen to me. In the midst of looking for a replacement skimmer pump. Probably will go skimmer less for about 6-7days...

Power consumption

Had placed order for a skimmer pump and hopefully to receive in early apr.

While these 2 days without any skimmer, the carnation, seafans, Xmas worms and thorny oyster seems to be happy. Only got 3 types of sps namely horrida, millepora and fiber optic and so far polyp are still out.

Have always wanted to keep a mixed reef and mimic part of a reef zone.

The initial placement of the 2 vortech pumps were on same side panel left and right. But the non photosynthetic animals dun like the direct flow, too strong even if vortech is pulsating. Hard to catch hold of the suspended particulate food.

Furthermore, the waves generated by the left & right vortech will converge to the centre and became very strong wave(even if in anti sync mode). Lps that inflate up will not be able to withstand the flow.

d3adcd896169e4a55a58dae94b0450fd_zpsb7db

The vortech pump 1 was moved to under pump2. But same thing again, at sync & anti sync, the flow will be strong at middle and left side of tank.

586a62a1b09001f5b23717ca0ea70181_zpsa542

Without much choice, at the expense of aesthetic, vortech pump1 is moved to its current position, opposite each other, in anti sync mode. This creates a true alternate wave throughout the tank. The previous 2 locations will have uneven alternate waves and strong laminar flow. Dispensing liquid and powder food for the nps have a higher capture rate.

The idea of wave movement is from this pic below.

4c411a5973d148acead76666a1f13b2e_zps3ce7

The right side of the tank would be fore reef, top part of the first rockscape would be reef crest and moving towards the left would be reef flat.

On the extreme left, where there's lesser light, it would be more of a "reef wall" for the nps.

Power consumption

It's been a few days without a skimmer. While waiting for the arrival of the new skimmer pump(hope by next week), thought of a skimmer less setup(some people are doing it) come into mind. How about a sump that has nothing except cheato?

Without the skimmer, I can see that the carnation coral and seafan are extended most of the time. And my remaining sps are doing ok(I'm not really into coloration but into having a mixed reef. It's good to have nice colored sps but not my top priority all along).

As there were 2 changes which occurred during this time, (1) being my vortech pump short pulse to longer wave time but weaker (short pulse in short wave time but stronger wave seems to be too strong throughout the tank, nps can't seem to get their food. (2) being skimmer less, it is hard to determine if they are related. So once I restart my skimmer I should observe for changes.

Found some nice sites for more reading.

1)http://animal-world.com/Aquarium-Coral-Reefs/Birds-Nest-Coral

2)http://www.nano-reef.com/topic/180538-acroporas-coral-guide/

3)http://www.flmnh.ufl.edu/fish/SouthFlorida/coral/Communities.html

Power consumption

It's been 17 days without a skimmer operating. As my bioload is low & less, so thankfully no causalty. And today, my replacement skimmer pump has finally arrived!! So with the skimmer in operation, I will observe if the nonphotosyn coral will continue to do well. http://s160.photobucket.com/user/waterbottle_23/media/Mobile%20Uploads/DSC_1731_zpsgdcneziw.jpg.html'>DSC_1731_zpsgdcneziw.jpghttp://s160.photobucket.com/user/waterbottle_23/media/Mobile%20Uploads/DSC_1734_zpsfdg48cfb.jpg.html'>DSC_1734_zpsfdg48cfb.jpg

Power consumption

FINALLY !! The replacement pump for my bk double cone has arrived! And it is not going to be another overrated & highly priced bk pump. And the replies I got from royal exklusiv further made me never to spend my hard earned $$ on another bk pump.

As a consumer, the expectation of a high prices item, u expect it to perform at the very least, reliability.

Ok, enough of the ranting. Now it is doing a short review on the 2014 Reef Octopus dc 5500s pump.

Am grateful to David of Span aquarium for indenting this pump for me before my long overseas trip.

Couldn't take the risk of running a reef tank without a skimmer.

Behold the 2014 reef octopus dc 5500s skimmer pump.

f7bdfe4a5ce5250ea257f5d51d4a1341_zps31b8

It also comes with a nice silicon tube for the air intake.

f2cfc55ca9ed24d3fc6ab42ecb859022_zps0c8c

Comparison of the bk min red dragon 1200 & reef octopus dc 5500s

fb1b5e078ab50031e151cbd6e23091b5_zpsb287

The connection of the new pump is the usual threaded type. David found an hose adaptor to install it. It is longer than the bk pump.

62aff61862b1878a9850b4a84f37507e_zps3f1544a8c904aff8050426d7e05147efbc11_zps39c9

Height wise, the reef octo 2014 dc 5500s is lower than the bk pump. Temporary used 2 empty cd casing which increased its height to perfectly match the intake of the skimmer body

bd87eb9c6f903e4260ece648ab6eebf1_zpse166

Base of the reef octo pump. Detachable.

2e767eaad3838a9c9c5c41436a86ea0c_zpsfbfd21bda49c168f33ce1cfc0e0f78bf5d96_zps8844

Had opened fully my wedge pipe. Performed the speed settings.

Speed 1. Water level inside skimmer body is about half.

http://youtu.be/nAti7WmNV5k

Speed 2.

http://youtu.be/P0zBP-IgFb4

Power consumption

Speed 5. Highest speed. http://youtu.be/PCeosV8Eo-Y'>http://youtu.be/PCeosV8Eo-Y After about 3 hrs of running. http://youtu.be/nz_Tkhb2Qoo'>http://youtu.be/nz_Tkhb2Qoo The pump is very quiet and when u touch the body of the pump, u can't feel any vibration.

Power consumption

Using auto doser to dose liquid food but find that the particulated food will settle at the bottle of container. Went to sim lim tower and DIY a stirrer. http://s160.photobucket.com/user/waterbottle_23/media/7e7c185b4f1ba95592fefb1982748413_zps9793249e.jpg.html'>7e7c185b4f1ba95592fefb1982748413_zps9793http://s160.photobucket.com/user/waterbottle_23/media/ea1b5c7773d0d462d07172d2f1a6f24a_zpsdbe5b3ce.jpg.html'>ea1b5c7773d0d462d07172d2f1a6f24a_zpsdbe5 The motor will turn the propeller and stir the liquid food.

Power consumption

Indirectly you created a kalk stirrer (;Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ya. But think I need to add a variable resistor to lower the speed of the motor. For kali stirrer , I need to choose a slower motor with higher torque.

Yr avatar bery nice....

Power consumption

If it's a dc motor, use a smaller voltage? That will stir it slower or shortening the usual stirring period of the kalk at each interval.

Just a thought (:

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Happy Reefing,

Marc J.

If it's a dc motor, use a smaller voltage? That will stir it slower or shortening the usual stirring period of the kalk at each interval.Just a thought (:Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
yes, u r right. Can use a lower dc power. That's for the alternative tip.

Power consumption

Very Nice Stirerr

300Gallons of Pure Goodness! >Dimensions 6x2x2 (Foot)

1: Maxspect 160 Watt qty-2

2: Vortech MP 40 Wes

3:Jaebao WP40 qty-2

3: Skimz Becket Skimmer/ Ehiem 1260

4: Dymax XC 900 Calcium Reactor

5: American Pinpoint PH Controller

6: Iwaki MD 55 And MD 70 (Return)

7: Hydra Aquatics FR45 Reactor

8:Hailea 10HP Chiller

R2R forum->>>http://www.reef2reef.com/forums/photography-forum/154896-ashwins-reefing-photography.html