PO4 less than 0.03, still have nuisance algae.

rekian

Just tested my tank PO4, is less than 0.03 but seem like nuisance algae is still growing. Still cycling the tank, 3 weeks old now.

Attached a picture, is that hair algae?

Currently on the 24w white T5 during the day and 2 x 24W blue T5 during the night. The light routine okay?

Dosing dry bacteria from henry initially (2 weeks), now dosing microlift special blend.

Was using NSW, now toping up with saltwater mix.

Any advise?

Beside the usual issues such as do not stock too fast especially during cycling, do not overfeed, use RO/DI or Distilled water and addPO4 remover; you may want to read the articles below that will answer why you PO4 reading is low.

http://www.algone.com/articles/technical-aquarium-information/aquarium-phosphate

http://reefkeeping.com/issues/2006-09/rhf/index.php

Hope that helps.

LRs may be leaching phosphate, its part of cycling.

For me, I will torment the hair algae until the are totally gone. Besides through above, I will continously brush them off.

get the vaccum from gemsurf, i cleaned my rocks milky white , i was having the same issues, 0 no3 0 po4

Mix Reef Tank: 5ft x 2.5ft x 2ft mixed reef

Chiller: daikin 1hp compressor

Return: Red Dragon 6.5m3

Lighting: Aqua Lumen Ocean 4ft

Skimmer: Reef Octopus RO-RPS-5000-EXT w/ Bubble Blaster

CR: RM 824 /milwakee PH controller

Tunze TS24 with 7096

Tunze Osmolator

American Pinpoint PH monitor

American Pinpoint ORP Monitor with Resun Ozone

RM sulphur denitrator

RM FR 424

RM FR 624

TLF Phosban Reactor

My old tank thread

469748_10150741487628605_529506809_o_zps36d5c396.jpg

get the vaccum from gemsurf, i cleaned my rocks milky white , i was having the same issues, 0 no3 0 po4

Vacuum the hair algae out? Izzit strong enough? Do you think is advisable to throw in cheato to compete for nutrient? I should only add in live stock or coral after the hair algae problem is gone right? Can add in cleaner crew after I am sure the ammonia and nitrite is 0?

May i know for the hair algae if we brush it off will it spread to other part of tank??I am currently having hair algae problem at the top part of live rocks but i use pluck with no gd result.

I have never encounter that, as I usually off the pumps and wavemaker, brush them off and siphon them out.

May i know for the hair algae if we brush it off will it spread to other part of tank??I am currently having hair algae problem at the top part of live rocks but i use pluck with no gd result.

I think it does, The live rock with hair algae is near my wavemaker. Second week onward I can see rock along the wave path seem to be getting it.

How old is your light tube?. If it is used too long and you didn't change it, the change in light spectrum will cause algae growth as well.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

Do water change every other day.

Plug out those long hair algae.

Run phos remover or use Good Bye PO4.

And keep some cleanup crew like turbo snail , abalone and \

sea urchin.

I have the same issue 6 months ago

6.5 * 2 * 2 + 3.75 * 1.5 *1.5,(Decomn on 14/9/08)
4*2*2 + 2.5*1.25*1.25 (Decomn on 1/8/09)
5*2*2 (Fully LED light system, 140 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)
2.5*2*2(Fully LED Light System,96 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1 HP Daikin compressor with cooling coil
2 Jebao OW40, 1 ecotech MP40,
1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

1 DIY 80 led control by Bluefish mini 

1 radion XR30W G2, 2 Radion XR15G3

Sump area lite by 5 ft T5 , 6 * SSC 3 watt red LED for refugium

1 Full spectrum E27 led light

1 CR control by bubble count

Start No Water Change since 1st Dec 2016

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

What test kit you using?

My Salifert kit tell me zero also.

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

If you can afford get Hanna tester for PO4 measurement and Red Sea professional series tester for NO3 measurement

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

waiting for the astro snail to help me out ... turbo snail day dream all the way

phosguard cum rowaphos running in fluidizer still cannot keep the alage at bay ... jin jialat

only 2 fish and target feed few pallet once a day ..... gods knows what happen

0 does bot mean it is really 0. Get another brand of test kit to check, one that can test lower range. D&D or hana checker. U will be surprised by the reading. Had that happen to me too, last time.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

waiting for the astro snail to help me out ... turbo snail day dream all the way

phosguard cum rowaphos running in fluidizer still cannot keep the alage at bay ... jin jialat

My turbo snail also day dreaming!!! If they still don't do work gonna throw them into the sea.

0 does bot mean it is really 0. Get another brand of test kit to check, one that can test lower range. D&D or hana checker. U will be surprised by the reading. Had that happen to me too, last time.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

where can get hana checker?

I find that the best snails are cowry snails. They are very effective in shearing off hair algae from live rocks. The sheared rock will looked white again. But these cowries cost $5 apiece & the only consistent source is Coral Farm.

bought 3 astrea snails from ah beng last weekend and 2 hermit crab from AM few days ago

thanks to these felle .... mange to clean up the rock mostly except one bunch of greeny which seems a bit different from hair algae

astrea seems more effective this time

what to feed them if algae run low?

I find that the best snails are cowry snails. They are very effective in shearing off hair algae from live rocks. The sheared rock will looked white again. But these cowries cost $5 apiece & the only consistent source is Coral Farm.

I will look out for cowry snails then. My turbo snails may not be eating the clumps of algae which is appearing here and there in my tank. Glass also start to have bits of algae growing now.