a matter of reliability

christan1959

Generally I find fellow reefers here honest and helpful. But there a few who are out to profiteer.Recently I bought Ric from a member, and it turns out to be much smaller as advertised and also not of the colour shown.But having driven all the way from serangoon to jurong,I didn't want to leave empty-handed and so bought it

it.It was overpriced, but a lesson learnt.The other thing I don't understand is why people post photos taken in 100% blue light - how on earth can u see what colour the item is in blue light??

Generally I find fellow reefers here honest and helpful. But there a few who are out to profiteer.Recently I bought Ric from a member, and it turns out to be much smaller as advertised and also not of the colour shown.But having driven all the way from serangoon to jurong,I didn't want to leave empty-handed and so bought it

it.It was overpriced, but a lesson learnt.The other thing I don't understand is why people post photos taken in 100% blue light - how on earth can u see what colour the item is in blue light??

Bro u very funny. 1st of all, rics are not consider rare corals. I wont go from serangoon to jurong just to buy a pc of ric unless it is damn rare colour. If i see that item is not same as ads, i will skip the purchase. All this are your own choice leh.

I think your thread topic should be "credibility"?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

Cheers,

James

Reviving my reef tank :

Crystal glass 53" x 22" x 17" rimless (inclusive of 12"x22"x17" IOS)

Life Reef HVS3-24 with mazzei venturi

ATI Sunpower 8 x 39w T5 (4 x Blue plus, 2 x Aqua blue special, Coral plus)

ZET Light 3 x 3w LEDs moonlight

Arctica 1/3 Hp + 1/4 Hp back up

Vortech mp40w x 3 + Jebao wp25

Eheim 1264 x 3 + water blaster 5000

Vortech back up battery

TLF-150 + Rowaphos

Activated carbon

Kamoer 3 channel + CaCl2 + NaHCo3

150L Refugium with DSB, miracle mud, cheato

2ft T5 x 2 light tubes for refugium

Something which I would like to highlight is, the type of lightings used between buyer and seller, especially If one party is using a high quality LED lightings with all colour spectrum and the other is only using t5. As such, there is no way we can achieve the same viewing standard and there will be a big difference eventhough it is the same coral..

Bro, actually you could have asked for more pictures from the seller especially when he is quite a distance away from you. Since you already drove down, had a look and feel its overprice, you shouldn't have taken it. Its a wasted trip alright but could have saved you the anguish you are feeling now. As what the bros said, willing buyer and seller, unless his light and your light is the same and at the exact setting as yours, there is bound to have some difference..

Tank Size: 3.5 ft x 2 ft x 2 ft
Sump: 3ft x 1.5ft x 1.5ft”
Return Pump: Eheim 1264
Chiller Pump: H2Ocean Flow Pump 3000
Skimmer: Vertex Alpha 200
Wavemakers: 2 X Maxspect Gyre 130; 1 x Ecotech VorTech MP10WES, 1 x Ecotech VorTech MP40WES, 1x Jebao RW15
Filtration: Schuran Multifilter 100 (Rowa Phos), Two Little Fishies Phosban 150 Fluidised Reactor (Vertex Rox 0.8 Carbon), Enductor Fluidized Reactor- FR45 (NP Biopellets & All In One Biopellets) with Eden 140 Pump, Santa Monica Hogx1 Algae Turf Scrubber, Cheato
Calcium Reactor: Skimz CM152 with needle valve and Maxijet 600 feed Pump (CaribSea ARM Extra Coarse ,KZ Coral Gravel, Two Little Fishies Reborn, Grotech Magnesium Pro)
Dosing: Bubble Magnus Dosing Pump BM-T01 + 2 x 4 Head Expansion Accessory BM-T02
Bio Media: Marine Pure, Bacteria King, Eheim Substrat Pro, Eheim Substrat, Seachem DeNitrate, PowerHouse Hard, Polyplab Biosphere, Seachem Purigen

Chiller: JBJ Arctica Titanium Aquarium Chiller (1/3 Hp - DBE-150)
Lighting: ATI Powermodule 6 x 39 Watt T5. Solite 4 x 39 Watt T5 (Only 2 used) (Blue+ Blue+ Coral+ Purple+ Coral+ AB Special) (Blue+ Purple+)
Auto Top Up system: Tunze Osmolator Universal 3155 Auto Top Off
Monitoring: 2 x Milwaukee MC 122 PH Controller (Calcium Reactor & PH Monitoring)

Substrate: CaribSea Aragamax Select

To be honest, end of the day, u get to decide if you want to buy it or not. Coral colours are extremely subjective to many variables, its just different ways of viewing it. Like you, i usually still end up buying the coral, but lesson learn will be to ask for more information next time.

With regards to pricing, its really up to individual seller, i.e he may have bought it expensive, hence selling at that price. It may be a piece that have been well frag and conditioned. You decide if its value for your money. Even LFS are guilty of such things, i can go to LFS A, ask the price of a tang of certain size and origin, and be quote twice the amount of the exact same in LFS B. You decide for yourself.

I Love Stagsss

If travel so far there then found out that item is not what u expect, just say Sorry to Seller n pass the deal, rather then get le not happy. I'm sure Seller understand. To me is....buay song then don't buy.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I think it is good to restrict the number of posts in pasa malam section and in each post, only two items max for sale in a month, it becomes a trendy for people to buy in LFS and resell it in a smaller portion in the forum. By doing that, are they not taking away business from the LFS?

If LFS is not earning enough, price will go up. In business, volume means lower price. That will benifit everyone in reef. Why not restrict the number post for the sale of coals in the forum.

For equipments, there is no need to do that. Why? I believe many reefers import from oversea online stores. For coal, they cannot import.

I think it is important to buy from reefer you know and you can trust their husbandry. If you just buy coral from any reefer that comes along who post a WTS, you may end up visiting a run down tank and corals all bleaching. Just my 2 cents.

• Like 2

I think it is good to restrict the number of posts in pasa malam section and in each post, only two items max for sale in a month, it becomes a trendy for people to buy in LFS and resell it in a smaller portion in the forum. By doing that, are they not taking away business from the LFS?

If LFS is not earning enough, price will go up. In business, volume means lower price. That will benifit everyone in reef. Why not restrict the number post for the sale of coals in the forum.

For equipments, there is no need to do that. Why? I believe many reefers import from oversea online stores. For coal, they cannot import.

Hi I Love Angels, there is already a new regulation in place to guard against people profiting from fragging bought colonies. Max of 5 frags/mth. Personally, like i mentioned before, this is a good move to serve its intended purpose. Innocent reefers on the other hand, looking for more options and availability of corals will suffer. Hobbies who are more interested in home aquaculture will suffer. I know home owners who find more joy in propagating corals as compared to having a display tank. And on my end, I perfer getting frags from these "home growers", as coral frags tend to be more stable in a aquarium environment, and lesser corals collected from the wild. Anyone disagree?

Simply put, if LFS brings in aquacultured corals, i would pay the premium rather than get a wild colony having a 50% survival rate. Nonetheless, I still support LFS as not everything is possible to be cultivated from home, i.e Fishes, larger variety of LPS/ Soft corals. In fact, 80% of my overall expenditure to support the aquarium goes to LFS because of dry goods alone.

Bottom Line, it boils down to integrity of us individuals to continue a sustainable SG forum.

I Love Stagsss

Good point aquareef123 !

The buyer should exercise his own judgement and should have the courage to reject the sale since he don't find it worth.

Adding regulations for every reefer discomfort or poor judgement is not the way to go I feel.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

Cheers,

James

Reviving my reef tank :

Crystal glass 53" x 22" x 17" rimless (inclusive of 12"x22"x17" IOS)

Life Reef HVS3-24 with mazzei venturi

ATI Sunpower 8 x 39w T5 (4 x Blue plus, 2 x Aqua blue special, Coral plus)

ZET Light 3 x 3w LEDs moonlight

Arctica 1/3 Hp + 1/4 Hp back up

Vortech mp40w x 3 + Jebao wp25

Eheim 1264 x 3 + water blaster 5000

Vortech back up battery

TLF-150 + Rowaphos

Activated carbon

Kamoer 3 channel + CaCl2 + NaHCo3

150L Refugium with DSB, miracle mud, cheato

2ft T5 x 2 light tubes for refugium

Ya lor... I kena a couple of times but glad to pay tuition fees ...

Some joker sold me a bleached rbta tell me sure can recover (my toes will laugh now if I hear this line)

Then the cuckoo in me bought a fish from a reefer who packed into bag refuse to let me go up to view ... I trusted the $)@"?!# but I should have trusted my guy feel better... Fish brought home open mouth fly home to Vegas

Ya lor... I kena a couple of times but glad to pay tuition fees ...Some joker sold me a bleached rbta tell me sure can recover (my toes will laugh now if I hear this line)Then the cuckoo in me bought a fish from a reefer who packed into bag refuse to let me go up to view ... I trusted the $)@"?!# but I should have trusted my guy feel better... Fish brought home open mouth fly home to Vegas Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Lesson learnt. I always ask buyer to view before i trap. Another thing is because src alot of pilot. Tell u reserve end up mia. So dont want to stress up my fishes for nothing

Ya lor... I kena a couple of times but glad to pay tuition fees ...

Some joker sold me a bleached rbta tell me sure can recover (my toes will laugh now if I hear this line)

Then the cuckoo in me bought a fish from a reefer who packed into bag refuse to let me go up to view ... I trusted the $)@"?!# but I should have trusted my guy feel better... Fish brought home open mouth fly home to Vegas

My rbta did recover. But it became bbta (brown) lol

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

My Wish List

- Black Ocellaris

- Royal Grammar

- Orchid Dottyback

- Rose Anemone

- Zoos (all kinds!)

- Purple People Eater

- Floridae Rics