Constant power trip

DerrickLim

Hi guy,

My area is prone to power trip upon lightning strike. We know that our aquarium can't go powerless for long.

Anyone tried using Self Recovery ELCB? Basically it will "untrip" the circuit breaker automatically. Need to hear from anyone who has experience for this device.

I got a Mobeye GSM alert but it doesn't help if no one can restore the power at home.

i don't think i had come across any auto-recovery system for household. Might have for commercial.

If is available will be very costly.

Suggest you feedback to your town council about this as it shouldn't keep "tripping" whenever there is lightning strike.

See what they can do. Coz it will affect other household as well and the home appliances will be affected.

Due to the power consumption, It is almost not possible to run the chiller as a backup in the event of a power failure unless you run a generator, but maybe there are some suggestion which you can look into ;

1) Pass your house spare key to a close friend or a relative if you are traveling for a period of time. The mob eye will come into very handy as in the event of a power trip, it will inform you to contact your friend / relative to go to your house .

2) Consider running fan as a backup in the event of a power failure but it has to be hook to either a aquarium computer or a UPS. Fan will draw much lesser power as compare to a chiller and this will provide a temporary solution to cool your tank, but do watch out the evaporation rate as well , so this is best to incorporate with a auto topup without any electrical devices.

3) Consider hooking your wavemaker to a battery backup as usually the wavemaker consume much lesser power compare to a return pump thus lasting longer. A good wave maker like the vortex also give out almost no heat at all keeping your tank stay cool for a longer period of time.

4) Consider running air pump as backup in the event of power failure and yes it might look ugly, but who care when livestock is at stake. A battery operated air pump can last really longer and help keep the tank cooler for a longer period of time.

5) Engage help from a trusted LFS to come to your house daily to check or during a bad weather ect...

6) Drop the temperature of your tank to one or two degree lower before you travel oversea, as it will allow more time for the temperature to climb to a dangerous level.

Depending on the thickness of your glass and size of your tank, your tank should be able to stay cool for up to 5-8 hours or longer with some water movement. Hope the above tips helps :)

Due to the power consumption, It is almost not possible to run the chiller as a backup in the event of a power failure unless you run a generator, but maybe there are some suggestion which you can look into ;

1) Pass your house spare key to a close friend or a relative if you are traveling for a period of time. The mob eye will come into very handy as in the event of a power trip, it will inform you to contact your friend / relative to go to your house .

2) Consider running fan as a backup in the event of a power failure but it has to be hook to either a aquarium computer or a UPS. Fan will draw much lesser power as compare to a chiller and this will provide a temporary solution to cool your tank, but do watch out the evaporation rate as well , so this is best to incorporate with a auto topup without any electrical devices.

3) Consider hooking your wavemaker to a battery backup as usually the wavemaker consume much lesser power compare to a return pump thus lasting longer. A good wave maker like the vortex also give out almost no heat at all keeping your tank stay cool for a longer period of time.

4) Consider running air pump as backup in the event of power failure and yes it might look ugly, but who care when livestock is at stake. A battery operated air pump can last really longer and help keep the tank cooler for a longer period of time.

5) Engage help from a trusted LFS to come to your house daily to check or during a bad weather ect...

6) Drop the temperature of your tank to one or two degree lower before you travel oversea, as it will allow more time for the temperature to climb to a dangerous level.

Depending on the thickness of your glass and size of your tank, your tank should be able to stay cool for up to 5-8 hours with some water movement. Hope the above tips helps :)

Thanks Bro, many great tips!

Considering APEX Neptune but no budget now. Haha

BT Panjang. There was a typo, shld be TC tested the whole columns.....
yo bro. Not sure we have talk on this when we exchange the frags. How old is yr flat? My case is bit similar as yrs but I didn't check my neighbors if they have trip as well. So when at work, I heard a loud thunder, my balls shrink. Touch wood but after I change my elcb, so far so gd. Just take a pic of yr elcb n go sim lim tower, level 3, left or right shop of the going down escalator. Much cheaper than getting the service of an electrician.

Tank size:36"x36"x24"

Return pump" 2x Reef Octo 5000

Skimmer:BK Double Cone 200 on Reef Octopus DC 5500s.

Wavemaker:2xVortech MP40wES

Chemical filtration:1xeducator FR(biopellets)

Chiller:1hp Daikin compressor.

Lighting:2 x Kessil A360we

Auto topup system: JBJ ATO + new jet 1200

Dosing system: Kamoer 3 channel.

Additives: ESV 2 part.

Power consumption

2XReef Octo 5000: 120watts

BK skimmer:50watts

2xVortech wavemaker:70watts

Daikin compressor:775watts

Lighting:180watts

Ato system:21watts

Exhaust fans:16watts

Refugium light:27watts

Abt 15 yrs flat. Town Council is investigating why the column of units from level 2 to 9 have the same problem. But other units on same level don't. So the problem is outside the unit.

Lately no thunder. So I have no idea if they have fixed anything. Haha

Abt 15 yrs flat. Town Council is investigating why the column of units from level 2 to 9 have the same problem. But other units on same level don't. So the problem is outside the unit.

Lately no thunder. So I have no idea if they have fixed anything. Haha

does other breakers also trip with elcb? If only elcb then u can suggest to hdb to replace your elcb to verify since they dun know wat to do next. At least they do something to verify. Reason wif them I think they will be willing to do this test.

Power consumption

BT Panjang.

There was a typo, shld be TC tested the whole columns.....

Which area in Bukit Panjang?

I do not have this problem

6.5 * 2 * 2 + 3.75 * 1.5 *1.5,(Decomn on 14/9/08)
4*2*2 + 2.5*1.25*1.25 (Decomn on 1/8/09)
5*2*2 (Fully LED light system, 140 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)
2.5*2*2(Fully LED Light System,96 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1 HP Daikin compressor with cooling coil
2 Jebao OW40, 1 ecotech MP40,
1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

1 DIY 80 led control by Bluefish mini 

1 radion XR30W G2, 2 Radion XR15G3

Sump area lite by 5 ft T5 , 6 * SSC 3 watt red LED for refugium

1 Full spectrum E27 led light

1 CR control by bubble count

Start No Water Change since 1st Dec 2016

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

OIC

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

I see. Lucky I not staying that area.

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

I see. Lucky I not staying that area.
fajar got more chio bu than pending..... :)

Power consumption

fajar got more chio bu than pending..... :)

Really. But if is ELCB then is leaking current somwhere

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

Really. But if is ELCB then is leaking current somwhere

previously, my elcb tripped together wif another breaker when there's a loud thunder. So I looked at the house electrical drawing and zoomed down to the few electrical power outlets. So got a certified local electrician to check. Opened the electrical outlets cover n told me some sloppy jobs done by hdb. Somehow there were some unused dangling wires that had their ends wrapped in insulation tape. The tape are too thin n somehow it will cause the trip. He just wrapped my tape over and solved the problem.

After some time later, I again encountered power trip. But now only my elcb tripped. So googled online n found pple had similar symptoms n so just replace the elcb. So far so gd. Elcb old Liao, sensitive to thunder.

Power consumption