EvolutionZ's Floating Reef

Evolutionz

Just pour the whole bag into DT with the water? Or we need to filter the pods with a fine net?

Shadow Walkers's 4 ft Shallow Reef Chronicles

4 Ft - 120.35.35

3 Ft Sump

Skimmer: Bubble Magus NAC7

Chiller: Hailea 1/4 HS66A

Lights: T5 4 tubes ATI + Maxspect Glaive Led

Refugium with Liverocks and Cheato and lots of pods

Refugium light: Par38 Full spectrum

Return pump: Hailea HX6540..stupid pump so noisy

Wavemaker: Maxspect Gyre 130

Thanks Bro Evolutionz

Welcome!

Put some in refugium at least safer place for them

Yes! I placed some in my sump too and remember to remove filter sock and off skimmer for couple of hours for the pods to settle in the rocks.

sorry cant help but to say this again ! i love your rockscape :DDDD

Thank you so much again!

EvolutionZ's Floating Reef:

(Decommed) EvolutionZ's 4ft shallow Mixed Reef Build :

Great Setup!

I am going to have Bean Animal overflow setup soon, can I know the size of PVC fitting you are using? Roughly, how much the flow likes?

Thanks! i uses 1" PVC size and this size can probably handle more than 15,000l/hr.

Update:

Today is day 14 of set up. I have measured all of my parameters (all using salifert test kit)

No3 - 2ppm

po4 - 0.001 - 0.003

Ca - 400ppm

kH - 7.8dkh

Mg - 1320ppm

Potassium - 370ppm

Also added 3 dispar and 2 blue eye anthias, was planning to get only 3 - 4 anthias but they are simply too beautiful to resist!

Getting ready to swim in their new home

http://s961.photobucket.com/user/fissiden/media/fissiden037/DSC07825_zps026d0a1a.jpg.html'>DSC07825_zps026d0a1a.jpg

Just went in..

http://s961.photobucket.com/user/fissiden/media/fissiden037/DSC07852_zps6d323417.jpg.html'>DSC07852_zps6d323417.jpg

The next day, all 5 started feeding on live brine shrimp just hours after adding into the tank, the blue eyes were particularly stable.

http://s961.photobucket.com/user/fissiden/media/fissiden037/DSC07853_zps71223b6b.jpg.html'>DSC07853_zps71223b6b.jpg

http://s961.photobucket.com/user/fissiden/media/fissiden037/DSC07855_zps107fb388.jpg.html'>DSC07855_zps107fb388.jpg

Show casing some other fishes, Midas blenny, bought this piece as a risk during my "blue tub" period and im glad its doing exceptionally well.

http://s961.photobucket.com/user/fissiden/media/fissiden037/DSC07817_zpsfb5a528d.jpg.html'>DSC07817_zpsfb5a528d.jpg

Fire goby, beautiful finnage, a pity it hides most of the time

http://s961.photobucket.com/user/fissiden/media/fissiden037/DSC07799_zpsde788a52.jpg.html'>DSC07799_zpsde788a52.jpg

Also bought 8 of these interesting spiny star astrea, first time is see them and was recommended by a friend to be very effective in algae eating!

http://s961.photobucket.com/user/fissiden/media/fissiden037/DSC07831_zps77c50bba.jpg.html'>DSC07831_zps77c50bba.jpg

Also brought back some zoas that were kept in a friend's tank, amazing growth and color in his tank!

http://s961.photobucket.com/user/fissiden/media/fissiden037/DSC07862_zpsc8e50bec.jpg.html'>DSC07862_zpsc8e50bec.jpg

Brought back this radioactive bn to 'test water' too

http://s961.photobucket.com/user/fissiden/media/fissiden037/DSC07867_zps57f22bc0.jpg.html'>DSC07867_zps57f22bc0.jpg

As well as this aussie duncan

http://s961.photobucket.com/user/fissiden/media/fissiden037/DSC07864_zps4474c565.jpg.html'>DSC07864_zps4474c565.jpg

Bought these 2 sps frags to try out as well. Blue stag

http://s961.photobucket.com/user/fissiden/media/fissiden037/DSC07872_zps7c7bf154.jpg.html'>DSC07872_zps7c7bf154.jpg

Blue tenuis

http://s961.photobucket.com/user/fissiden/media/fissiden037/DSC07870_zpsaab0ceb2.jpg.html'>DSC07870_zpsaab0ceb2.jpg

FTS, sorry for the messy sand bed!

http://s961.photobucket.com/user/fissiden/media/fissiden037/DSC07890_zps287f8cf0.jpg.html'>DSC07890_zps287f8cf0.jpg

Thanks for viewing

Awesome bro feed your anthias well since your Bp is powerfull!

300Gallons of Pure Goodness! >Dimensions 6x2x2 (Foot)

1: Maxspect 160 Watt qty-2

2: Vortech MP 40 Wes

3:Jaebao WP40 qty-2

3: Skimz Becket Skimmer/ Ehiem 1260

4: Dymax XC 900 Calcium Reactor

5: American Pinpoint PH Controller

6: Iwaki MD 55 And MD 70 (Return)

7: Hydra Aquatics FR45 Reactor

8:Hailea 10HP Chiller

R2R forum->>>http://www.reef2reef.com/forums/photography-forum/154896-ashwins-reefing-photography.html

Thanks guys! Ya, risky indeed.. But am glad. They took pellets on day 3! My dad will feed them 5 times a day.. Very crucial period for thr anthias whether they live or die.

:thumbsup: anthias lover here too. Bro you might want to try TDO C1 pallets, my blue eyes love them. cos anthias is mostly mid level feeder, a lot of pallets are either floating or sinking pallets, so anthias might not be able to catch them.

子非鱼,焉知鱼之乐... (you are not the fish so you...)

Then: my 4FT low tech selling off tank... (2006)

Now: (2014)

@Sept 2014

:thumbsup: anthias lover here too. Bro you might want to try TDO C1 pallets, my blue eyes love them. cos anthias is mostly mid level feeder, a lot of pallets are either floating or sinking pallets, so anthias might not be able to catch them.

Wah! Dun say anthias. I think every fish also one TDO. These days my clowns and even YT will wait for the food inside the feeding cylinder. Lol!

Haha. But be careful of feeding only TDO to tangs, cos i think the vege content of TDO is not as high as ON formula one and two.

子非鱼,焉知鱼之乐... (you are not the fish so you...)

Then: my 4FT low tech selling off tank... (2006)

Now: (2014)

@Sept 2014

I do have TDO pellets too! but yet to feed them with it, currently feeding NLS pellets (with garlic one) and frozen brine shrimp.. crucial time to pump them up!

Wow nice fishes bro, so jealous of your anthias! My dream fishes! :D

Thanks!

Indeed all my fishes whack TDO!

Haha. But be careful of feeding only TDO to tangs, cos i think the vege content of TDO is not as high as ON formula one and two.

He's wiping out my algae at the same time so I guess for now should be alright. Will start supplementing dried algae soon. :)

Update:

Today is Day 25, and its almost a month!

Decided to upgrade to a bigger skimmer and got my self a Bubble Magus Curve 7, the curve 5 was my first initial choice but after researching decided to go for the Skimz SN123, its a good skimmer with DC pump, but not enough for my needs IMO. Went straight up to Curve 7 which produces 520L/hr and is rated for 700-900L, Definitely overkilled! I also changed my reactor to the JNS Omega 1 as the JNS Alpha 2 were way too big and was wasting space. At 700l/hr the pump were dead silent and were spinning the AIO biopellet really well!

http://s961.photobucket.com/user/fissiden/media/fissiden038/IMG_20141207_121430_zps3aafdd33.jpg.html'>IMG_20141207_121430_zps3aafdd33.jpg

Managed to set up my jebao dosing pump and is currently dosing kH and Ca together with Fauna Marine Balling trace elements. I had no idea why but my tank were sucking 0.5 dkh almost daily!

http://s961.photobucket.com/user/fissiden/media/fissiden039/DSC07919_zpsa59ea5aa.jpg.html'>DSC07919_zpsa59ea5aa.jpg

Amazing skimmer producing skimmate 5 minutes after washing the cup. Though it is a china brand, but i believe it does not lose out to Skimz or even Deltec. Time will tell how long the rock pump will last (i bought this 2nd hand!)

http://s961.photobucket.com/user/fissiden/media/fissiden039/DSC07921_zps0e2d1fc3.jpg.html'>DSC07921_zps0e2d1fc3.jpg

Moving on to the main tank,

All fishes are doing great! 3 Dispar and 2 Blue eye anthias are feeding very well on pellets 4-5 times a day (Small amount)

My midas blenny loves to swim together with the anthias

http://s961.photobucket.com/user/fissiden/media/fissiden039/DSC07959_zps4f5586bf.jpg.html'>DSC07959_zps4f5586bf.jpg

Potential alpha male?

http://s961.photobucket.com/user/fissiden/media/fissiden039/DSC07965_zps7c901058.jpg.html'>DSC07965_zps7c901058.jpg

Just got myself this big boss emerald crab, Its 2" big with huge claws! Damn its scary..

http://s961.photobucket.com/user/fissiden/media/fissiden039/DSC07971_zpsa37946ba.jpg.html'>DSC07971_zpsa37946ba.jpg

Hanged my Aquazonic 2ft 2-tube fixture and running D-D Actinic + (AKA ATI Blue plus) and ATI Purple plus. The addition of the T5 fills up all the shadow and the disco effect cast by the razor.

http://s961.photobucket.com/user/fissiden/media/fissiden039/DSC07950_zpsf4724477.jpg.html'>DSC07950_zpsf4724477.jpg

FTS: Bought some more SPS and the majority will be taken back soon, will update on the corals soon!

http://s961.photobucket.com/user/fissiden/media/fissiden039/DSC07947_zps34d5ae57.jpg.html'>DSC07947_zps34d5ae57.jpg

Thanks for viewing!

Lieewww very swee leh

Imagine the top all filled with sps colonies packpack and sandbed full of zoas rocks / brains / scolies / acans

Win liao!

| Display : 48x30x22 Skimmer : SK-201 skimz

| Sump : 30x24x18 Wavemaker : 2x RW-15 , 1x RW-8

| Cooling : 1HP titanium drop in coil ATO : JBJ

| Lighting : ATI Sunpower 8x54w + 48x cree xte royal blue Return : Jebao dc-6000

| Dosing : Jebao dosing pump [ CaCl2 + NaHCO3 ] Pump :

| Reactor : FSZ Z160 zeolite reactor & phosban 150

| System : ZEOVIT

decomm-ed :

Ydkm SPS reef

:wub: >><< :wub:

Lieewww very swee leh

Imagine the top all filled with sps colonies packpack and sandbed full of zoas rocks / brains / scolies / acans

Win liao!

hahaha! Thanks bro! Hopefully pocket deep enough! :D:D

Bro your last FTS was awesome. Can imagine full sps it will be very beautiful. Time to change your signature bro haha

Shadow Walkers's 4 ft Shallow Reef Chronicles

4 Ft - 120.35.35

3 Ft Sump

Skimmer: Bubble Magus NAC7

Chiller: Hailea 1/4 HS66A

Lights: T5 4 tubes ATI + Maxspect Glaive Led

Refugium with Liverocks and Cheato and lots of pods

Refugium light: Par38 Full spectrum

Return pump: Hailea HX6540..stupid pump so noisy

Wavemaker: Maxspect Gyre 130