Help on return pump.

• SRC Member

For 90L tank, 900LPH pump mean 10 time turnover in an hour..depend on what u r keeping, some need stronger turnover while some weaker turnover..the turnover rate subject to ur skimmer capacity too..coz if flow rate too fast and smaller skimmer can't skim fast enough = no work..cheers :)

@ 291213

Updated video: Kenyee FOWLR

http://m.youtube.com/my_videos

rule of thumb, at least 10x of your tank volume. You may need to consider pump head loss factor. Get higher flow rate. Cheers and Happy Reefing

30ikthj.gif30ikthj.gif30ikthj.gif
BANNER.jpg
1-3.jpg

LFS Map in singapore

• 3 weeks later...
  • SRC Member

Hi All, I'm new to this hobby. I'm currently cycling my 4 feet tank, using a Eheim 1260 or 1262, which has a 4500L/H flowrate, which is as mentioned about 10 times the volume of my tank. However, I realized that the return of water flow back to my display tank was relatively very slow. My return pump goes from my sump through my 1hp chiller prior to the display tank. If the flow rate which is 10 times is already slow, what do you guys suggest for a faster flow? Can I use a higher flowrate pump? What could be an ideal flow rate then? Can someone help enlighten me? Appreciate.Thanks.

Hi All, I'm new to this hobby. I'm currently cycling my 4 feet tank, using a Eheim 1260 or 1262, which has a 4500L/H flowrate, which is as mentioned about 10 times the volume of my tank. However, I realized that the return of water flow back to my display tank was relatively very slow. My return pump goes from my sump through my 1hp chiller prior to the display tank. If the flow rate which is 10 times is already slow, what do you guys suggest for a faster flow? Can I use a higher flowrate pump? What could be an ideal flow rate then? Can someone help enlighten me? Appreciate.Thanks.

I usually don't like to link return pump to chiller. It's better a stand alone pump imo. Also too much bend on pvc pipe actually slow down the flow.