Dosing increases salinity

lyz77

• SRC Member

I have been dosing Ca and KH for 6 months and I notice an increase in salinity over time say 2 weeks from 1.025 to 1.027. To reduce salinity, I top up with RO/DI but the down side is it will affect my Ca and KH level. I am thinking of doing a 20% water change with salinity at 1.022. However, this will also reduce the Ca, KH and Mg level in the water mix. If I add Ca and KH in the water mix, again, it will increase the salinity.

In this case, how can I maintain my Ca and KH and still prevent salinity increase? I measured my Ca and KH mix with a refractometer and both register high salinity reading, over 1.025. :(

• SRC Member

I do not follow Randy Mix as I choose to increase the concentration of the mix and reduce the dosing proportion. Currently, this is my mixing ratio:

Ca: 1L RO/DI water + 500g CaCl

KH: 1L RO/DI water + 180g Sodium Carbonate (Baked)

Mg: 1L RO/DI water + 200g Magnesium Chloride

I have no issue with my Ca and Mg as with the above mix, I dose 48ml each at 8 different interval. As for my KH, I need to dose 500ml per day at 8 interval as well. With the above mixing ratio, I tried to measure the mix with a refractometer and the reading go way beyond 1.025 which I believe is what contribute to an increase in salinity over time when I continue to dose. I am still trying to figure out why my KH fluctuate so much and I need to dose such a high level to keep it above 7dKH.

• SRC Member

90g of Sodium Carbonate is a lot to dose. What is the size of your tank? Low Mg makes it difficult to maintain Kh/Ca in solution. Check your Mg level.

• SRC Member

90g of Sodium Carbonate is a lot to dose. What is the size of your tank? Low Mg makes it difficult to maintain Kh/Ca in solution. Check your Mg level.