hot air generated by Chiller

Bro, now that you mention it. I have an air con unit just at the adjacent wall to where my tank will be placed. Do you think... they are able to use the same compressoor? So i can just get some air con ducting guy and link it to that "coil" in my tank right? Am I missing anything?

Hi Bro RH8198, I had the same question in mind as you too! It really took me some time to find the right person who is honest enough to quote me reasonable market price for my compressor and still taught me all the whys, dos, and don'ts. Our fish tank compressor has to be a non-invertor type compressor, while our home used air-con, normally uses invertor compressor. Why? Because home use nowadays are normally system 2 or 3 or 4 up. A non-invertor is suitable for 1:1, as the below reasoning.New_Daikin_Web_Graphics_04.png

<<In an inverter Air Conditioner, an inverter is used to control the speed of the compressor motor, which allows it to change as per the temperature the Air Conditioner is set at. This feature helps cut down the electricity consumption of the Air Conditioner, and is the biggest differentiator between a non-inverter Air Conditioner and an inverter Air Conditioner. The compressor motor of a non-inverter Air Conditioner only operates at a maximum capacity, or is switched off altogether. This leads to unnecessary electricity consumption and higher electricity bills.

The ability of an Inverter Air Conditioner to control the speed of the compressor motor eliminates stop-start cycles. This in turn makes the Air Conditioners less prone to breakdowns and cheaper to run.

The usage of an inverter Air Conditioner helps bring down the electricity bill by 30-50%. Therefore, it may seem as an expensive investment while making the purchase, but it definitely reduces your electricity bill by huge margins and results in greater savings in the long run.>> (the above is extracted from Daikin website)

However, I had also challenge the air-con man, saying I don't care about electricity bills, and just want to connect from my existing air-con compressor, can or not? Few issues to this was replied.

1. The current compressor is for system how many? Let's say system 3, then all the fittings on the aircon outlets would have already connected liao, where got extra fittings for fish tank?

2. Even if there are available fitting, the smart chip invertor compressor(because it is invented for saving electricity) cannot operate the same way a non-invertor does, that is to start and stop altogether.

3. The air-con man don't know how to do and cannot give warranty if cause any damage, as this defies how the invertor compressor operates.

Wah, haha, a little lengthy... But hope it helps you.

PM me, if you need the contact, he is really cheap comparing to those who quoted you in this field. Because he is not in this marine fish field. He does 20 over years on refrigeration and air-con and is a very experience and nice person.

Hi Bro RH8198, I had the same question in mind as you too! It really took me some time to find the right person who is honest enough to quote me reasonable market price for my compressor and still taught me all the whys, dos, and don'ts. Our fish tank compressor has to be a non-invertor type compressor, while our home used air-con, normally uses invertor compressor. Why? Because home use nowadays are normally system 2 or 3 or 4 up. A non-invertor is suitable for 1:1, as the below reasoning.New_Daikin_Web_Graphics_04.png

<<In an inverter Air Conditioner, an inverter is used to control the speed of the compressor motor, which allows it to change as per the temperature the Air Conditioner is set at. This feature helps cut down the electricity consumption of the Air Conditioner, and is the biggest differentiator between a non-inverter Air Conditioner and an inverter Air Conditioner. The compressor motor of a non-inverter Air Conditioner only operates at a maximum capacity, or is switched off altogether. This leads to unnecessary electricity consumption and higher electricity bills.

The ability of an Inverter Air Conditioner to control the speed of the compressor motor eliminates stop-start cycles. This in turn makes the Air Conditioners less prone to breakdowns and cheaper to run.

The usage of an inverter Air Conditioner helps bring down the electricity bill by 30-50%. Therefore, it may seem as an expensive investment while making the purchase, but it definitely reduces your electricity bill by huge margins and results in greater savings in the long run.>> (the above is extracted from Daikin website)

However, I had also challenge the air-con man, saying I don't care about electricity bills, and just want to connect from my existing air-con compressor, can or not? Few issues to this was replied.

1. The current compressor is for system how many? Let's say system 3, then all the fittings on the aircon outlets would have already connected liao, where got extra fittings for fish tank?

2. Even if there are available fitting, the smart chip invertor compressor(because it is invented for saving electricity) cannot operate the same way a non-invertor does, that is to start and stop altogether.

3. The air-con man don't know how to do and cannot give warranty if cause any damage, as this defies how the invertor compressor operates.

Wah, haha, a little lengthy... But hope it helps you.

PM me, if you need the contact, he is really cheap comparing to those who quoted you in this field. Because he is not in this marine fish field. He does 20 over years on refrigeration and air-con and is a very experience and nice person.

Wah bro. KAM SIA! I love your answer and much thanks for sharing.

This answer, really money cannot buy! :thumbsup:

Wah bro. KAM SIA! I love your answer and much thanks for sharing.

This answer, really money cannot buy! :thumbsup:

As of now, I am thinking that I will simply start off with a chiller. I will keep it in a compartment with open rear and front. In addition, I will have a tower fan right in front of it, to direct air at the chiller . I think this may help with dispersing the heat generated. Of course, this will also mean additional electrical cost incurred for the tower fan as well, but I doubt it will be very heavy.