Algae scrubber version Xiggie

xiggie

For the refractor sheet use bbq aluminum tray No problem too right ? Just asking so people can find the material easier

This is a signature : hi

Wah! Bro Xiggie, I'm very impressed by your gesture leh... You literally teared down your equipment to share your experiences with us. Thumbs up for you man! You are the man! After my queries posted and you shared with me your DIY Algae scrubber, I had placed order to the Hongkong distributor to acquire the 660nm LEDs on 18-May-2015. I have been so eager to check my postage each day, although it has yet to arrived(since the promised ETA was 2-Jun then).
And do you know, that I have been trying to search high and low for the best & closes algae growth screen as yours from since then, but nothing comes close to the one I saw you posted. I also paiseh to ask you leh, because such simple item ought to be able to find at "5 metal shop", but to be frank, nothing comes close to yours, Daiso, Japan home, and etc, all cannot find... So, so... you shedded light to me again, heehee, Artfriend! After my completion, will share with Master my completed DIY project. Hope mine work too! Thanks again.

No need to paiseh !! Just pm me any questions I'll be happy to help.. My pm box always empty haha

The led light will take about a month to arrive and it's registered mail , postman will send to your doorstep .. The plastic arcrylic sheet can be found at Artfriend too .

Stairway to Heaven

Thanks Bro Xiggie for all advises and experiences shared.
Wahset! The delivery sure is snail mailing man... takes so long leh...*Muahaha*
But I really cannot complain lor, because it is a cheap yet effective bargain.
Will go shop for the cross stitch plastic sheet this weekend at Artfriend.

Thanks Xiggie for sharing :)

For the cross stitch sheet, other places to get it are Polyart @ Clementi C328 . Also found at Spotlight @ Plaza Singapura.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/mysliceofnature/

No problem at all , just sharing what I can.

And please take note , those who intend to build this scrubber with legs instead of a floating one , please take note of the height of the water when your return pump is switch off , the led box needs to be well above the water line when the pump is switched off ... Or else you r gonna get an underwater submarine scrubber set ..!!

Stairway to Heaven

Hi Bro Xiggie, the 660nm Red Leds finally arrived at my home yesterday! Exciting moments!

I had connected it up and it switched on properly just now. I had also screwed the PCB onto a thick aluminum sheet, so as to let it act as a heatsink to dissipate some heat. I do have a question though, can you enlighten me?

After turning it on for about 30mins, I realized that the driver makes a hissing noise! Does yours has similar noise created by the driver? I was afraid that it might be some kind of electricity leaking so I decided to switch it off, and seek advise first. Can you show me some light? Thanks.

Hi xiggie how often do u water change?

Once a week sometimes once in 2 weeks.

I would like drag longer but due to the bare bottom I get lots of detrius, i wC to remove them or else the tank will have lots of floating particles.

Stairway to Heaven

Hi Bro Xiggie
I had been using for past 1 month, and the Algae is growing! Long long algaes, just like those in your pictures. However, I then realized what you said was right! An upflow Algae Scrubber is indeed not as efficient as the floating scrubber. I felt that the growth has been restricted somehow. But I do have to give the DIY scrubber the credit, as it has significantly reduced all those red slimes and green algaes in my display tank, and all the trapped-air-bubbles problems are gone too! *Phew* What a relieved!
I will be modifying the upflow scrubber into a so-called floating scrubber once the 5-7 x3W driver reaches me!
But most importantly, I have to thank you very much for your guidance and advises that I no longer need to stretch my hands into the display tank every evening to clear all those unsightly red slime and trapped air bubbles! Thumbs up, Bro Xiggie!
And thanking SRC too for the platform for us to learn from the seniors continuously!

I understand there is 3 version.

1) mesh in the air, water flow down

2) floating with a hole in the center for air bubbles, light shine from top.

3) face to face on the glass wall, with air bubble blowing upwards.

Which is better? :D

I normally do WC once a week but just that minor bit(one standard red pail). It's for replenishing the trace elements like what Bro Xiggie has mentioned. I haven't try not changing yet, but I'm only having LPS and fishes. But doing water change is a easy task for me, 20mins from start to stop, because now no need to rid algae from Display tank saves me so much time!

As for options 1, 2, and 3. I will go for number 2, since I had tried the upflow(no.3) now, with the light source from the outer of glass. I realized that, what Bro Xiggie said was right, more air generate more algae inducement. But for an up flow, the surface area is too small so it restricted the algae growth. The larger the surface area, the more algae growth possibility, but that also means you must have ample light on them. That is why Bro Xiggie had two side by side.

Water changes are not needed even for SPS. All the trace elements are in your food.

There are three main types of scrubbers: Upflow, Waterfall, and Horizontal River.

The Upflow includes the floating, and the attach-to-glass.