Water Parameter, is that all good?

Hello There,

Just wanted to share with you my water parameters, as I am quite new in that hobby (5 months:)) and a quick video of the tank. If you have any recommendation or suggestion, I am all open!! Thanks :)

MG : 1290ppm
No3 : 20 à 30 mg/l (never managed to bring it down since the launch of the tank...the chemical reaction is always in the purplish)
No2 : 0
Ph : 8 to 8.3
Po4 : 2 à 3mg/l

Calcium : 380 mg

Alk : 5.5meq/l (and this is a real issue, I don't understand why this is so high)

Here for a quick video

Cheers!

New Hobby lah - discovering...learning fast (or at least trying to learn fast)

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I guess you can buy them in every shop provided they have supply.
I got mine at Reef & System Service Pte Ltd, on Boon Lay Way. But they don't really have a retail shop, so, give them a call to check their stock and pay them a visit when they give you the go.

• SRC Supporter

Nice tank :)

Your alkalinity is quite high indeed but its probably not in the critical zone.What's your dosing regime like?

I understand that prolonged high alkalinity can affect the mucus later of fishes leaving them more vulnerable to infections.

Nitrate is likely to do with too much feeding & insufficient ways to remove the nitrates (either via water change, use of biopellets or chemicals to bind the nitrates).

Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/mysliceofnature/

Hey thanks! Pictures to follow :) My intention is to grow corals and ideally spam babies. I have already had bb prawns, all eaten by the fishes...

I think my pump is not strong enough, with approximately 400l/h for a 70l tank. That might explain the Nitrate.