Looking for LR

Don't know if i should post it here...if I'm wrong...sorry........

Anyone has any idea which LFS still having stock for LR and what is the price for it....thanks!!!!

... :P

Tank: 5 X 2 X 2.5

Sump : 3 X 1.5 X 1.8

Tunze 6060

Tunze TF08

Oceanrunner 6500

Deltec AP 902 Protein Skimmer

I-Aquatic Calcium Reactor

Arctica Chiller

even if the lfs have stock, they are mostly all flat ones or ones that won't look nice no matter where u put them.... payar lebar got a few at $10/kg... now there are new ones at $15/kg... rocks from some island near hawaii.... very nice rocks nice colour and nice shape.. at LCK110

Can try sealife balestier, they still have alot left the last time i went there. They are still selling them below $10 but i think you will need to cycle them for quite long cos the ammonia smell on the rocks is quite strong. ;)

i thk SeaLife selling at $8/kg....someone went there last week and the LR still around :unsure: as for the ammonia smell... :P i dun know...never try smelling a LR :blink::sick::pinch:

Hi....

Will any rock do?....Today passed by Soon Heng...the 1 at Bukit Merah View.....they have the 1 in crates and smaller rocks in a box......it's says...for freshwater and marine tanks.......

Hope you guys can help...thanks......

Tunze 6060

Tunze TF08

Oceanrunner 6500

Arctica Chiller

Aiyah..dunno mah...so I ask lor......

the shopkeeper said...the rock was taken from freshwater area....not from the ocean.....so blur blur....dunno if should buy.....

Tunze 6060

Tunze TF08

Oceanrunner 6500

Arctica Chiller

may i ask, how to differentiate an algae rock from a actual lichen rock (with coraline algae) ? How much purple must we look at before buying ?

Got any pictures to show or not huh? dun want to spend a fortune later find out actual buying a rock with algae. :thanks:

Erm.....sorry....what does Live Rock do for marine tank??? beside for beauty......

thanks!!!

This is the page 1 of 6 taken from About Live Rock in Saltwater Aquariums

paultbs1.jpg

What Is Live Rock?

When talking about live rock (LR), it is a misconception that the rock itself is alive. What makes it live are the many forms of micro and macroscopic marine life that live on and inside of it. The rock itself is only made up of the calcium carbonate skeletons of long dead corals, or other calcareous organisms.

There are different types of live rock. In J. Charles Delbeek's article "Your First Reef Aquarium", published in Aquarium USA in 1994, under the Live Rock section he refers to "reef rock" basically as pieces of coral or coral rock from outside the reef that have broken off and fallen to the bottom that then becomes covered with encrusting organisms, such as coraline algae and sponges. "Inshore rock" Delbeek refers to as rock from inside the reef that has a tendency to be more dense and becomes covered with macroalgae, clams, mussels, crabs, shrimps, and other unwanted organisms. In Delbeek's view, reef rock is much more desirable then inshore rock because it cycles more quickly and stabilizes a tank much faster. There is also dead base rock, meaning it has no live growth on it. This is rock that is devoid of external life that probably won't see much light, so you can put other forms of more advanced live rock and corals on top of it to build your reef system base, once your tank has settled and the base rock is seeded or cured. Beginning a reef tank using seeded base live rock as the center stones of the aquarium is not a bad idea. Once the base rock is established, then you can begin to add, slowly, more advanced types of live rock.

Some descriptions of live rock sold by suppliers can be confusing. For example, Flying Fish Express describes their Pacific live rock as, "Actually pieces of coral skeletons that have broken off reefs during storms. This 'rubble' washes in toward shore where it is collected in shallow water." So, is this a lighter type of "reef" rock, or heavier type of "inshore" rock? See what we mean? For now we just wanted to make our point on this matter, but in Live Rock Part 5 - Tips For Buying LR Locally or Online, this topic is covered in greater detail by means of asking a supplier questions about what type of live rock you will be receiving.

What Is The Purpose of Live Rock?

Live rock becomes the main biological nitrification base or biological filter of a saltwater aquarium, while at the same time enhances the look of the aquarium and provides shelter for the inhabitants. To better understand what purpose live rock serves in an aquarium, Delbeek explains it like this:

"The use of live rock immediately introduces into the aquarium numerous algae, bacteria and small invertebrates all of which contribute to the overall quality of the aquarium water. Live rock has just as much, if not more, surface area for bacteria than a trickle filter. Since live rock in the aquarium contains various types of bacteria, algae and corals, waste products such as ammonia, nitrate and phosphate can have a number of fates. Ammonia, nitrate and phosphate are readily assimilated by algae and photosynthetic corals growing on and in the rock. Ammonia can also be quickly converted into nitrate by the bacteria on and in the rock. This nitrate can be either absorbed by the algae and corals, or it can be denitrified by bacteria in close proximity to the nitrate producing bacteria." -- Read More From J. Charles Delbeek

No matter what type of live rock you choose to use, as you may know, a biological filter base has to cycle and settle for your aquarium to run properly, and this pertains to the curing of live rock as well.

Though the LFS always said their LR is cured, don take the risk. I tried a few time & always caused hell in my tank. I cured my LR in a clean pail with air stone & DIY wet/dry filter (I kiasu ma) for 4 weeks before I put it in the main tank. Not sure this is the right way though. Anyone?

It's also a good practise to SMELL the LR when selecting. If it small bad, better put it bad.