Need help in treating ich.

My tank is about 3-4 months old.

One of my clownfish recently have many white spots and pass away the next morning.

I have since remove my other clownfish out to a quarantine tank. He seem ok so far.

My display tank have LPS corals, hermit crabs, snail & abalone.

Do I really have to leave it fishless for 6 weeks?

And my other clownfish in the QT. Do I have to treat it even it doing fine.?

Many thanks

Sent from Singapore Reef Club mobile app

My tank is about 3-4 months old.
One of my clownfish recently have many white spots and pass away the next morning.

I have since remove my other clownfish out to a quarantine tank. He seem ok so far.

My display tank have LPS corals, hermit crabs, snail & abalone.
Do I really have to leave it fishless for 6 weeks?

And my other clownfish in the QT. Do I have to treat it even it doing fine.?

Many thanks

Erm you sure is white spot?

If yes, your display tank must be fishless for 76 days.

If u want to fully cure white spot u need to do copper treatment for ur fish for 30 days.

Just make sure the spot is u c is not velvet or brooklynella else do treat it asap.

Clownfish got thick mucus so they may carry the problem but not yet shown.

Erm you sure is white spot?

If yes, your display tank must be fishless for 76 days.

If u want to fully cure white spot u need to do copper treatment for ur fish for 30 days.

Just make sure the spot is u c is not velvet or brooklynella else do treat it asap.

Clownfish got thick mucus so they may carry the problem but not yet shown.

90% quite sure is ich based on the photos shown online.

Oh so have to keep it fishless for 76 days...
read online is 6 weeks?
sigh...

Quite sure is not velvet.
But Brooklynella and ich seem very similar.
What the difference

Some may link ich with white spot but itch can also be shown when the fish rubbed against something but with no major spot on them. One of the signs is they may go in front of a wave maker. Brookly, on the other hand, is evidenced by white slim coat, fast breathing and swimming 'rigidly'. 

90% quite sure is ich based on the photos shown online.

Oh so have to keep it fishless for 76 days...
read online is 6 weeks?
sigh...

Quite sure is not velvet.
But Brooklynella and ich seem very similar.
What the difference

I never see a brook in real so can't give accurate advise.

But i will base on the below to determine

1) White spot grow at a very fast rate

2) The clown die within 1 to 2 days after u spot the white spot

Based on my understanding, white spot is not deadly unless situation is in their favour and somemore is clownfish with thick mucus.

My clownfish developed white spots on Friday night and was gone when I woke up on Sat morning.
Not exactly white film but individual white spots. Unfortunately I did not take any photos.

For brooks, do I need to treat my tank? Or leaving it fishless will be fine too?

If so my only concern is my other clownfish. Not sure whether I should treat it w copper. If it is healthy thru out 76 days in the QT without any medications. Can I safely say it is clear and I can put back in my display tank?

Sorry for so many questions. Just dun Want to copper treat my clownfish unnecessary as I heard it might weaken it

not expert here, but i recommend treating it if u have QT tank. Copper is quite safe imo, i use cupramine at low dose and measurement at regular intervals to keep copper at certain level. clownfish is quite hardy so shld no issue. treated a few times is quite safe. For me i didnt leave fishless for 76 days, i only tried about 30 days. then i test water and put 1 tang inside as they more prone to ich, if monitor 2 weeks no spots den i put the rest back in. my system got run UV lah maybe it helps shorten the time. just sharing.

Thanks!!!
I heard raising temp can shorten the time too.
But have corals in it. Will prefer not to

Thanks!!!
I heard raising temp can shorten the time too.
But have corals in it. Will prefer not to

i dont think it helps for temp, other is tank transfer which is super troublesome and hypo, hypo seems success rate also not high. copper i think is the least work and most reliable, problem with copper is ppl debate about is poison...its all about using the correct dosage for the corresponding chemical, those safe chemicals at high dose can also be deadly.

oh yes, i also tried fresh water dip, it is effective also, immediate all white spots drop, i think it gives fish fighting chance. but if too serious infection fish might not able tahan the shock so i only fresh dip in initial stage and certain fish also more sensitive to fresh water dip. i tried on clowns before is ok

Yup I do a freshwater dip for 4 mins before moving it to QT.
Decide to just leave my DT fishless and copper treat my clownfish in the meanwhile

Thanks for the advises

Copper don't treat brook, only treat white spot and velvet.

Only formalin bath effective but u can't get pure formalin in SG.

You can try ruby reef rally or seachem Paraguard but effective or not I can't tell.

Maybe you can don't do anything and monitor 1st then do 1 or 2 time bath before u put back to Main tank.

Copper don't treat brook, only treat white spot and velvet.

Only formalin bath effective but u can't get pure formalin in SG.

You can try ruby reef rally or seachem Paraguard but effective or not I can't tell.

Maybe you can don't do anything and monitor 1st then do 1 or 2 time bath before u put back to Main tank.

For the past year or so I’ve been trying something else as an alternative to a full quarantine: 1 week in QT, then before adding to main system, put fish in Paraguard medicated bath for 1-4hours, followed by a 5min freshwater dip as a secondary safety net. Seems to work really well, haven’t had any parasite or disease issues since. But perhaps I’m just lucky hahaha.

This idea not bad bro but maybe u want to put 2 weeks to be safer.

I also do methylene blue bath after my QT before putting to DT.

Maybe I should do Paraguard bath.

I kana 3 times suddenly death, suspected velvet. Lucky got QT, now I super scare liao...

This idea not bad bro but maybe u want to put 2 weeks to be safer.

I also do methylene blue bath after my QT before putting to DT.

Maybe I should do Paraguard bath.

I kana 3 times suddenly death, suspected velvet. Lucky got QT, now I super scare liao...

That’s what I thought too at first, until I read up more in depth about common parasites like ich and their life cycle.

The reason tank transfer works so well is because they’re exploiting the time during which the parasites on the Fish drop off into their free-Swimming phase(which is when copper is able to kill them).

Usually this starts to happen after the first 72 hours, during which time if you’re QTing only one Fish at a time, the ectoparasites that may survive the copper dose are unlikely to reinfect the same Fish within such a short period. Before they can potentially repopulate, the week is over and I transfer the fish to the Paraguard bath to get rid of any potential loose ends and I must say the product has not let me down so far.

The medicated bath for a few hours really seem to get rid of all the nasties, and the freshwater dip before finally introducing them to the main system serves as some insurance lol

That’s what I thought too at first, until I read up more in depth about common parasites like ich and their life cycle.  
The reason tank transfer works so well is because they’re exploiting the time during which the parasites on the Fish drop off into their free-Swimming phase(which is when copper is able to kill them).

Usually this starts to happen after the first 72 hours, during which time if you’re QTing only one Fish at a time, the ectoparasites that may survive the copper dose are unlikely to reinfect the same Fish within such a short period. Before they can potentially repopulate, the week is over and I transfer the fish to the Paraguard bath to get rid of any potential loose ends and I must say the product has not let me down so far.

The medicated bath for a few hours really seem to get rid of all the nasties, and the freshwater dip before finally introducing them to the main system serves as some insurance lol