New to this hobby. Any recommendation for a AIO tank?

Hi, I'm new to this hobby and I've been reading up in the recent weeks on nano reefs, salt water tanks etc, planning to get a tank this weekend and also the things to start off with. Here's what I plan to have, a pair of clownfish, life rocks, and 1-2 corals, of course not all at once.

With cost into consideration, I've narrowed both to these 2 tanks, Nuvo 10 or OF Nano 3?

Which would you guys recommend and why? considering budget as well.

Also, what are some of the things I have to get to start besides live sand, live rock, test kit, salt mix? 

• SRC Member

Welcome to the world of saltwater reefs, hope it goes well. Do check out BRSTV on youtube as they have a new 5min tutorial series aimed at the new reefer, as well as Dr Tim Hovenac MACNA presentation on cycling a tank (also on youtube). Personally I would go with as big as tank as I could and with a sump (use this forum to find a good deal on second hand equipment) bigger tanks are more stable but can also fit in utility fish like yellow tang.. but I assume you have already considered all that, so back to your question... If I was to choose, I would go with the nuvo 10. I had one of these ages ago. It has more standard options for installing equipment (skimmer, media basket). Feel it would also have better resale value. As to what else you need... refractometer (Check on lazada or if possible the new hanna pen is a good option), some form of temperature control (inkbird?), some form of auto top off as evaporation can cause instability not to mention lack of water haha. And finally a good light (ai prime, kessil or my favorite the xr15 pro, all would be good options as in future if you upgrade they can still be used with hybrid options like the aquatic life, or as part of a multi puck set up on a bigger tank). note the light, temp control and ato can be added later after tank cycled. Good luck.

Sent from Singapore Reef Club mobile app