Clown fishs paired ?

minsmarine

I have 2 false percula clown.

They are just size different by 2cm and 3 weeks different in the tank

Day time, bigger one will be hoping around 2 Arnemones (Yes I have 2 arnemones, one big one small ), while smaller one will be just at the side of the tank.

When lights are off, both of them will be at smaller arnemone till next morning.

They won't swing together.

Are they paired.

hmmm... seems like there some ppl out there like to be a cupid for the clown fish :)

well juz to share my "5-cents" experience here. I've successfully paired individual clown fish on both the "True Percular" and the "Maroon Clown". For the "TP", I've paired them 3 pair out of 3 tries with one at a size of 1/2inches and one at 1 1/2 inches big. For the "MC", it's 1 pair out of 1 try. Also successfully and now still with me in my "MC" only with anemones tank.

Based on (if I'm not wrong) my experience, it's possible to pair up individual clown fish of different sizes. Some biting and chasing will sure to happened for a start but after a few days to a week or 2, they will pair up.

The only clown fish that is yet to pair up are my two "Tomato/Fire Clown". They dun really swim together but dun really bite each other to death, juz some playfull chasing once in awhile. they are still in my reef tank :)

• 2 months later...

If you have one big one already (first one in the tank) you can be sure it is female.

Clownfish will change their ###### to female if there is no female around.

What you need now is at least 2 smaller, freshly captured clownfish (so they have no time to change ###### in case they are kept separate). If you look at the stripes of the fish, make sure to get them with as straight stripes as possible (Maroon clownfish females usually have a bump in the stripe - not sure if this counts for all clownfish though).

Now introduce the two new clownfish - introducing two has the benefit that they get chased alternatively (gives the other one some rest). Usually after a few days the female will pick at least one of the males. If only one is chosen, remove the other one immediately (will be killed otherwise).

Now you only need a flat piece of stone and a bit of luck and you will have baby clownfish soon (if you are lucky enough to remove the plankton larvae immediately after they hatch).

Good Luck.

For me i juz buy two small ones about 1" in length, Then after some time one will grow larger then the other.

The larger one is usually the female lah... (wonder why.... mother nature HAS a twisted sense of humor) :erm:

And its a good idea to hav only one anemone in yur tank to increase the chance of successful pairing and possible breeding. :P

Anyway, thats my experience. Now my pair is defending the anemone as its territory, chasing away any fish that comes close and inpecting anything that is placed too close, that includes new corals, small rocks :rolleyes: and even tried to bit my hand when i hand feed my anemone!!! :blink:

The larger one is usually the female lah... (wonder why.... mother nature HAS a twisted sense of humor) :erm:

Females might be larger in size so that they can produce more eggs. There will be exceptions though. Depends on whether the species provides parental care. For species that don't the female tends to be the larger one in the monogamous pair, so that more offspring can be produced to increase survival rate. For species involved in parental care (cardinalfish, cichlids, etc), males tend to be larger as they need to protect the young. Females are normally smaller in this case as the brood does not need to be large as survival rate is already increased by parental care. Does't apply to humans as we don't lay eggs. :lol:

Haa actually Human Female also bigger, just compare while they are expecting, sure heavy then their husband :D

Just for though

Oh yea forgot to tell you

My 2 clown fishs think not pair

True percula always chease false percula. True Percula is abit bigger is term of size. I think not pair cos no haching :(

And normally one at the conner and another one @ other conner. Left with small BTA, seem like BTA not happy with them. So no1 hosting BTA.

Females might be larger in size so that they can produce more eggs. There will be exceptions though. Depends on whether the species provides parental care. For species that don't the female tends to be the larger one in the monogamous pair, so that more offspring can be produced to increase survival rate. For species involved in parental care (cardinalfish, cichlids, etc), males tend to be larger as they need to protect the young. Females are normally smaller in this case as the brood does not need to be large as survival rate is already increased by parental care. Does't apply to humans as we don't lay eggs. :lol:

GREAT INSIGHT!!! :D:D

Haha can go show off to my friends liao! :lol::lol:

Hmmm imagine if it applies to humans.... :erm:

Eggs all around... like the alien movies, ready to spring into life.... :shock:

Babies crawling about everywhere... on road, on pavement, in the longkang... in the trees... Hunting for their own food... :huh:

Kinda freaky HOR!!!! I think i like them better helpless and in the cradle. :angel:

Hmm females bigger then males.... now thats a freaky thought. :ph34r:

• 4 months later...

For my 2 true percula crown,one will aways be swimming at one coner n e other playing w e anemone.E smaller one will onli dare to go play with e anemone when e bigger crown is not ard.They dun share e anemone tog leh.At times e bigger crown will still chase e smaller crown but sometimes they do swim tog lor.It have been for a mth liao...

Do u think they r pair????Or they need more time tog??? <_<