LiveStock Pricing

jinners

Hii, many a times have people been "conned" from dishonest and greedy lfs owners preying on the "newbies", quoting them high prices.

Maybe if its possible, a list of "acceptable" prices of livestock could be complied, so people know if they are being ripped off, and stop going to the lfs again.

usually livestock prices depend solely on supply prices-

flunctuation is very common- but a rough guide is helpful.

an example is the prices of tangs..sometimes a small blue tang can go for $5 @pac marine but on sun(yesterday) they were @$8.

copperband butterfly was $2 at one time, yesterday@$8

but reefworld was selling $3 each.

clown triggers- depend on size & numbers collected & also season.

i think its a good idea...but where to start?

for fishes i can give a good range of prices but corals i dun buy so often so i'm not up to it.

anybody any ideas on this?

jinners- as long u dun buy from rainbow then its more or less exceptable.

$12 for a tomato clown@rainbow?( normal price $3-$3.5 or even $4)!

They can't garantee their tangs are net caught & cyanide free-! & in the $20 or $30 range for each its a damn big risk.

enlightening......

actually thats what i mean, to get the average price range...

so people know if they should buy from which ever shop...cause u never know when a shop wants to be the next "rainbow"

cause i've been to places that sell clowns for 3 bucks...and another place for only a dollar (and its bigger too)

so perhaps this would be most helpful for newbies and everyone

=D

just my two cents worth :)

Price range (apprx only, small to mdm sized specimens)

domino damsel $1

blacktail humbug $1

common clown $1 - $2.

true perculas $12

regal/hippo tang 2" $12 - $14

herald's angel $6 - $8

singapore angel $3

flame angel $35

flame hawk $45

keyhole angel $7

bicolor/oriole angel $7

rusty angel $7

pygmy angel (transparent tail - extra small specimen) $5

flame back $40

koran angel (juv) $12

common firefish $6

potters angel $40

pearl scale angel $7

coral beauty $7

eibli's angel $7

long nose hawk $20

yellow tang $25

purple tang $40

sailfin tang $12

hawaiian kole tang $40

cleaner shrimp $8

blood shrimp $10

boxing shrimp $3

red-drawf lobster $6

trying to avoid repeating loonz:

blue damsels(aka blue devil) $1

Domino damsels $1

Tomato clown $3.50

Saddle back clowns $5

Skunk clown $3-$4

maroon clown $3-$5

lion fish(base on species related) $8-$12

O.Niger trigger $8

Picasso trigger $6

clown trigger $20-$40(seasonal)

chromis $1

copperband butterfly $3-$9(seasonal)

cleaner wrasse $3

clown wrasse $6

dragon wrasse $6

banana wrasse $6

baggai cardinal $5

strawberry gramma $9

white spotted boxfish $10(med)

yellow spotted boxfish $8(tiny) $12(small)

scooter blenny $4

mandarins $8

comet/camel/candy shrimp $3

Common Seahorse (H.comes-aka-tigertails) $3-$5

snails $1-$2

i think i paid too much for some of my livestock.... :(

Fred, i always knew that u have too much $$$ to spare.. hahaha.. now Tanzy, look for derf.. he is rich.. not me.. hahhaha.. what did u get that cost u lots...

kel,

pls.. since when m i rich??? really broke nowadays... everything cost hell lots nw... besides, it's coming out of my own pocket nw... hehe....

i bot my cardinal fr chinatown for $12!!!!!! :angry:

Loonz

Where can we get flame hawk at S$45? CoralFarm in LCK is at S$90 (supposed to be import/exporters)!

Anyone know where has stock for purple tang (S$40?)? Its will the last resident for my tank but I have not seen one on sale for a long time - LCK, Seletar, Lor harus etc.

Norvin!

I just left my 2 purple tangs at Ocean Planet for sale...!

They have been sadly separated from another PT and YT which they have been together for close to 3 years!

They stick together so I hope you can buy both!

They eat anything... nori, fresh vege, pellets, frozen mysis etc and they are not afraid of people.

If you like, I will reserve them for you but promise me you'll take very good care of them!

Too bad I wish to keep other tangs in my new tank.... if not they would still be together... in fact, my wife was also sad.

Oh well.... :(

btang9.jpg

btang16.jpg

btang11.jpg

derf...oooooooh !! no wonder u wanted list! heh heh.

chinatown stock not really very healthy leh!.not to mention pricy!

u staying west- patricks@marinelife-heong leong.

yup! hehe... bo pian... seldom go ard hunting for cheaper stuff like u guys... no time no transport... :(

i onli go there cos it's near my work place.

i used to go to patrick but it's not v convenient actually. i do get pretty good discounts fr him cos got abit of connection... hehe... will prolly go look for him one of these days...

He quoted 45 for small and 60 for large... but I think many of the forumers could get better price.....

45??? :o no way.... i dun mind if that's the correct price i shld be paying provided it doesn't die on me after getting it.... dan it's 45 bucks down my toilet bowl.... :P

I think the price of a purple tang is around there.... blue(regal) tangs would cost much less.....

Hmmmm.... a small one for my refugium would be interesting... later can upgrade him to my mains once he gets large and my mains ready.... :rolleyes: