Are we ready to move on?

blueheaven

Yes I did sacrifice quite a lot especially when the "O" Levels MT exams are on the next day after Aquarama. But now that the other subject tests are just around the corner, I really didn't have much time.

And as for me, I am still inexperienced in organising such meetings, especially when it involves a large number of people. I would really appreciate someone to hold a meeting at a venue where no one has to compromise much and plan an interesting schedule. For that, I would certainly make time to come.

And yes, I think I should just read the comments, lest I get pinned down even more ;)

• Replies 97

Blueheaven... O lvl is not that tough...... wait till u go poli or other tertiary institution.......

Yeah, you will learn how to spell Poly properly.. BH, dunt let these kinda comments get you down. Do your best for your 'O' levels and get into a good school. Foundation is very important and it will make things easier later on in life. Need to earn $$ to sustain the hobby rite? ;)

As for the meeting, dunt think you can depend on a lot of ppl in the forum to help you out.. there are a lot of selfish ppl here who just wanna learn as much as possible from other ppl and dunt bother contributing back and there are a lot of smiling faces with daggers hidden ready to strike. Unfortunate but true. Watch your back dude. ;)

there are a lot of smiling faces with daggers hidden ready to strike

ahaha another mention of the small-knife club :ph34r:

Be teachable always, nobody has a monopoly on wisdom. But learn to distinguish "fact" from "opinion".

Ok enough about the backstabbing, back to topic

Would like to hear views from more reefers (constructive ones) ;)

I know reality bites for many of us 'older' and 'wiser'... but remember how you were like when you were young and passionate in something you believed in?

If you kill the enthusiasm for one so young, things will never be attempted. So give the guy some credit and even if you don't like his style, don't cramp it.

I believe we are all different people at different stages in life... BH WILL become like us older folks one day and who knows? He may chide a younger reefer off very much like his younger self... or maybe not.

What's the saying? It is better to have tried and fail than to have never tried at all.

I'm sure all of us would agree that AT has done a great service to local reefers by starting a forum webpage to promote "Reefing". It was by no mean an easy task. More so, when he has had dedicated a lot of effort, time and money doing so. I would think that he has in fact made a very good contribution to our community and towards the conservation of marine life.

Contribution to our community? Encouraging youngsters to indulge in this hobby, which is fascinating as well as challenging is keeping them purposefully occupied. Actually, we can think of many more plus factors......but, I'll make it short to leave the rest to your own reflection.

Conservation of marine life? Yes, because through the forums more people learn about how to care for fish, corals, etc. As a result, they would understand and appreciate the efforts of those who have been trying so hard to protect and conserve them. Some might argue that by keeping marine fish at home we are contributing to their destruction! Not to worry - whatever we have in our tanks are

not the endangered species. AVA makes sure we don't.

Now, the question of "Are we ready to move on?" Certainly you are!!! But we need not make any drastic changes to what we are having now, which is serving AT's original "dreams" and "ideals" very well. More any more (myself included) are becoming members of SRC - to learn more about reefing. Besides, SRC covers a wide and varied range of topics for discussion, including KOPITIAM . This also helps bring people closer and friendship has developed and flourished. Sadly, "quite a few friendships have been strained and broken too".

Those of you who are "older" and "wiser" can always start a new thread for higher and more advanced levels of discussion. It can be name "Expert Reefers' Domain", etc. I'm sure AT will be more than happy to accommodate and encourage such an initiative. In doing so, WE, the novices, will also not be deprived of the opportunity to learn more from our more experienced friends.

Who knows, one day we may also join you at the "Expert Reefers' Club".

AT deserves commendation for Community Service. Of course, that was and has never crossed his mind.

Well said!! :bow::bow:

then again... from my point of view.... no offense... but the way i see it.... both of u there... have nothing else really important for u to let go and be at aquarama all the time...

Hey, young punk, i take offence with yr above statement!

My initial offer of help was on Sat only but having seen how AT sweating it out and lamenting that all other volunteers did not show up, i came again on Sun.

boss/AT.... more or less by boh pian act.... got to be there as he is after all the boss.....

So are u saying that the rest of the volunteers are kaypoh/busybody?

but then again.... i was so busy with work that it actually slipped my mind...... after all.... my priorities in life is my family first..... i need to bring home the bacon for my wife.... pampers and milk powder for my daughter.....

Perhaps those who volunteered but didn't show up should borrow yr excuse " slipped my mind....."

things ain't that cheap nowadays.... if i dun work hard and earn for my family..... will u donate to me? dun worry.... i won't buy golden tap.... just better bacon for wifey and more milk powder and pampers for my kawaii dotter.....

Luckily i'm earning close to a peanut.

It seems like u r still a long way off so pls stop passing sarcastic remarks on volunteers like us who sacrificed 2 weekends as " having nothing else really important for you to let go and be at aquarama all the time"

Fyi, i managed to go round n take a look only 1 hr before the exhibition closed.

Sorry, hv to repost again as my comments didn't appear separately.

Hey, young punk, i take offence with yr above statement!

My initial offer of help was on Sat only but having seen how AT sweating it out and lamenting that all other volunteers did not show up, i came again on Sun.

So are u saying that the rest of the volunteers are kaypoh/busybody?

Perhaps those who volunteered but didn't show up should borrow yr excuse " slipped my mind....."

Luckily i'm earning close to a peanut.

It seems like u r still a long way off so pls stop passing sarcastic remarks on volunteers like us who sacrificed 2 weekends as " having nothing else really important for you to let go and be at aquarama all the time"

Fyi, i managed to go round n take a look only 1 hr before the exhibition closed.

Ok.... we are drifting off the topic again.

For new posters, I am quite sure that SRC has come to an agreement on public flaming of specific persons so pls refrain from that.

As I've said, I would not want to bring up the Aquarama issue but I used it as an example so let's just keep that at the back of our heads ok? :D

yea...stop the flaming arnd here...lets continue with the feedbacks.. :D

I guess the gist of the issue here is how we reefers look at our hobby ;)

Are we those who try to come up with new ideas and try out new ways of reefing?

Or are we those who associate ourselves with the attributes that come with certain "levels" of reefing? eg. SPS reefing---expert reefer

Or are we those who follow what others do or a standard protocol and just sit back and look at our creation

Or do we have a certain meaning to our hobby? eg. Propagation to save reefs

Which one are we, this is the question we must ask ourselves ;)

And I truely hope that the disclosure of my age will not affect the seriousness of every post I have made and I hope that my feedback will not be taken more lightly but with the same weightage as everyone else :)

BH.....come to think of it......I wonder what I was doing while I was at your age! :paiseh:

Way to go....... ;)

In any case the flaming did arouse my interest in reading this thread.......you can see and evaluate people's thought....... :peace:

Honestly I have not much to contribute as I only wish to have a humble reef tank.....manageable maintenance cost....sit back and relax........ :paiseh: .....besides there is really too many things too worry about.....things which deserve much more priority and attention to...... <_<

BH what you just mentioned are exactly the different levels of interest of people indulging in this hobby. Everyone has different priorities. No matter what, reefing is still a "hobby"and should be regarded as such. As long as this hobby serves to enrich and enhance lives (not otherwise), it does not really matter "which one are we".

SRC is a wonderful platform that brings people together. People who share a common interest. Regardless of which level of interest we belong it would make life more pleasant by being tolerant and respectful of each other's differences.

To quote kschew1498 :

].....besides there is really too many things too worry about.....things which deserve much more priority and attention to......

For me, Reefing is a form of past-time and a break from other more serious concerns. I do learn a lot from our more experienced friends - that's bonus for me!

So we all talk until the cow comes home...5 pages in all AND ??? :lol:

Well, I would like to hear more views from more ppl before we reach a verdict

Yes bro cyclop had captured what I am trying to express, that everyone has different levels of reefing. Its only until we know which we belong to that we can further discuss this topic.

And just to let you guys know, this topic is not only about me. It's about the very first suggestion I have made so if need be, pls refrain from targetting all my posts unless it is crucial. Everyone's comment is appreciated :lol:

i think the cows long ago came home liao, make another round and came home second time AND ???

so.... you wan the cows to go again??

I think the cow cannot reach home because it has its lost way - too distracted!!!

...a good thing i am not a cow hahahhahaha...

Hi BH... let me start by applausing yr passion for reefing... it is always nice to see that..... for your suggestion to organise regular meeting etc... if you really want to arrange such meeting... i think you should just arrange it rather then asking ppl for suggestion etc.... and to date i have not seen any concrete suggestion... once you have arrange a gathering or meeting then... solve the problem which arose during the arrangment...

As you know there has been a regular gathering in the west side... minimium once a month and if u really want to join us just pm me yr nos and i will keep you inform when there is such gathering... unless travelling is too far for you... if that is the case.. then organise a big group gathering will be even worse... who knows which part of Spore you will ended up with.....

As for getting the experience reefer to share with the newbie.... i think there lies lots of gray area... how do u define a experience reefer.... if you have check through some of the posting.. you will see experience reefer kanna slam by newbie who quote some article make by some professional biologist etc.... and worst when the experience reefer have to shut up his mouth just not to argue with the newbie who think they are mighty.... and funny thing is they are the ones who decommission their tanks after a year or so....

Your persistent in this issue will only invited more framing and slamming session.. and then some shady character will appear out of no where and start slamming the rest of the regular ppl here... and worst is when all the rest of the ppl who don't really get the picture start adding oil to flame... and you get a huge fire ball and that where the moderator step in and ease thing off.... and in the end.. another bad chaphter on SRC.... it was all this bad incident that have stop a lot of experience reefer from making comments and suggestion....