Anemone death in captivity

zephyros

How did your anemone die?  

245 members have voted

1. 1. How did your anemone die?

• Death by powerhead (Anemone got stuck in PH)
    • Death by expelling guts (due to incorrect water and/or light requirement)
    • Death inflicted (sting to death) by other corals
    • Eaten by LS
    • Other unknown causes

Hi reefers,

As we know that anemone death can and most of the time leads to tank crashes,

which can be very discouraging for reefers.

Objectives of Poll

1) To give a (rough) number and idea to the how the anemone (excluding apitsia) can die.

2) Not as a discouragment for reefers, but a caution and information sharing

This poll does not have a selection for "I've no problem keeping anemone" etc,

for the very simple reason that NO ONE had kept an anemone till natural death,

coz NO ONE knows the lifespan of an anemone in nature.

So, those whom had manage to keep their 1st anemone alive for months or years,

"touch wood" :ph34r: , you might one day come back and click on the poll.

Actually I suspect my one of my anemone died because of being attacked by fireworms (bristleworms). I have seen them attacking my snails, and 3 of my astreas have died because of them. From my brief reading, these worms attack anemones and corals as well.

(~ cci[RR]us ~)
A pair of Nemos :: Deep Sand Bed
Solite 2x24W T5 :: Prizm Skimmer with Overflow attachment

After my Anemone died and I vormitted 3 times trying to remove it, NO MORE anemone for me.

:angry:

My advice, try not to keep anemone in the tank unless u r prepare for tank crash!!! :)

same feeling with my anemones. Then I managed to collect a couple of green carpets frm the sea. So far longest anemone surviving rate in my tank... abt 10 mths n still growing strong.. Those i bgt in past frm lfs... move here n there n then into rocks n then gonzo .... nitrite spike n all... mega water chg .... lets hope my current 3 carpets continue to grow well... maybe its becos those collected directly frm sea less stressed due to minimal travelling time etc...

i found mine stuck to the tunze. Lucky it is not YET rip into pieces by the

PH. Quicky took out and remove it. its DAMN GROSS, had to use a fork

to separate the ane, and the juice keep oozing out.

Anemoe give away FOC. NO THANKS.

it is a sad thing that I had "caused" a death.

It is a sadder thing to know this beforehand (that without a specialise

tank for anemone, this thing CAN happen to anyone.) and still go ahead

to keep one. :(

us,Sep 14 2005, 10:03 PM] Actually I suspect my one of my anemone died because of being attacked by fireworms (bristleworms). I have seen them attacking my snails, and 3 of my astreas have died because of them. From my brief reading, these worms attack anemones and corals as well.

u hav a nice avatar dere.. :shock:

us,Sep 14 2005, 10:03 PM] Actually I suspect my one of my anemone died because of being attacked by fireworms (bristleworms). I have seen them attacking my snails, and 3 of my astreas have died because of them. From my brief reading, these worms attack anemones and corals as well.

hold your horses.....and extract from Reef Invertebrates (Anthony Calfo & Robert Fenner)....

"... the True Beared Fireworm (Hermodice Carunculata) from days long ago when Fireworms were commn in the trade frim wild live rock out of Flordia and the Caribbean. but that wild rock had been illegal to collect since 1997. Other then imature (1-3 year aged) rock from the region...little wild substrate and very few of the real "bad worm" even make it to the hobby anymore"

also a check with some of the so call articles about the horror of fireworms seems to be written before year 2000!!!!

I don't know about you, but i used to have a firey red bristtle worms about 5 inch, worry so much and read a lot articles about them (most bad - and outdated)....however for for more then a year......never saw it attacking anything, only when my clams is in serious bad shape will the worm attack it.....even for dying fish the worms will not attack....it only does so when the fish is dead..... :D

so seriously if your anemone is healthy i think chances of anything attacking it is very very slim.....

Thanks Alvin for your compliments. I have other nicer avatars of my fishes as well. It takes time and lots of luck to capture good shots.

As for the worms, I believe mine is a "bad worm". I don't know if they come from the "wild rock" or not, but I have witness it attack my turbo snails. It darted at my turbo snail and my snail reacted by going into "turbo" mode! The snail rotated its shell clockwise then anticlockwise rapidly for 1-2 seconds, and the worm backed off. Sadly, my astrea snails are not equipped with "turbo" mode and they all perished with the same signs of being attacked by the "bad worm".

What signs? Basically, the worm will ooze out transparent, gooey gel when it sees its prey. I suppose it is some sort of saliva, or even toxins to slow down the prey. You can see this when you tempt the worm with a piece of food; it will be covered with the slim. Now, all my dead astreas were found earlier in the morning, when they were still alive the night before. Their shells would definitely be covered with a layer of transparent slim.

Actually I intend to do a writeup on the worm as I have photographed and took a video of my worm-hunting experiences. I'll post this as a new thread soon. Sorry for going off topic :P

(~ cci[RR]us ~)

Most of the anemones i buy, die because they could find a place to stay put.

Ya ya.. I know, not enough lighting, well that was my old tank, now i got T5 OH!! HA! But i haven't tried any in my new tank yet, and dun intend to.. dun want any crash.. dun ask for trouble..

Guys, majority of anemones perish in capivity due to lack of understanding about their natural habitant and the care in capivity,

The odds on their survival is relatively poor. Anemones are not to fault. They never ask to be removed from the ocean. Anemones move because they have not found a suitable location to hold.

Understanding their needs and how they will react would place u in a better position to care for them.

It took me > 1 yr to understand them better. Endless research, boring over books to learn more about them. Eventhen i have much more to learn.

http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=38333

Current not strong enough. Keep moving about.

Didn't take brine shrimps. Spit it out everytime.

Died...

Stink my tank.

Not keen to keep anymore. Unless .... :heh:

Only banded bead anemones from beach

They are the best. Active and eat everything U throw at it.

Once planted never move at all.

Highly recommended for people who wants fuss free anemones!

I had 2 BTAs.. one was orange & the other was pink.. The orange one was larger (at Diameter approx 15cm when spread). The orange BTA's bubbles on the tentacles 1st started to shrink until they looked like deflated latex gloves (much smaller of course! just looked like so).. then the tentacles started to disappear altogether... tried to feed it different types of food... dried prawn.. fresh prawn meat.. fish meat etc... but all were spat out.. it then started to move around the tank away from its usual hold. it ended up near the pink BTA.. then it started to shrink alot.. & died eventually... thereafter, the pink BTA shrank too (but the tentacles did not disappear) then died also... one of my cleaner shrimps died shortly after that.. a 2 crabs died.. 3 golden trevallies died... sibeh saaaad...... decided to change to a new tank instead...

Wonder if anybody had similar experience..

also, i've read about anemonies stinging reefers... I've seen the guys at the LFS handling the BTAs without wearing any gloves / protection, so i followed suit... the anemonies just left slime on my hands... didn't feel any stings or itches..

Any comments?

• 2 months later...
i wear gloves when handling anemones. BTA sting is not as potent as the haddoni. :P

I wear gloves not because of the sting but because of the slime they give off! Yucks! Damn smelly! The stink lingers even after I used soap to scrub my hands... :sick:

(~ cci[RR]us ~)

yeah. the anemone has this yucky smell. like er... rusty iron mixed with ammonia.

makes me gag. my anemone itchy itchy keep moving around.. floated to the power head. 1 side of the anemoe crushed.

woke up in the morn. water murlky. many fishes died. MY TANK CRASHED AFTER MERLY 2 MONTHS!

spent 3 hrs changing water. sian. now scared to keep em.

now keepin those that will only stay at 1 place. like zoos. leather.......

Have recently kept a red base anemone for about 3 months now and still crossing my fingers. They are very difficult to understand and have the tendency to commit sucide by going into power head or wavemaker. This is my last anemone. Had lost a few during previous attempts.

the reason for tendency is due to lack of flow around it.

Anemones imo rates water flow far more impt than light. when anemones lack of light would proceed to the nearest water flow to receive passing food.

i once place a seio blowing at an anemone, the anemone was at the pinnancle of the LR. however, after setup of a nano tank i remove that seio, the anemone was reckless despite being at the highest point to recieve light. it could be a possibility that my light is not sufficient. but it shows despite the light it prefer to go to an area where flow is more.

another occassion, when the lights were off over the weekend, the anemones would move towards the water flow. this was in another aquarium.

This is my 3rd anemone, the previous 2 stuck at the filter. sigh.

and this 3nd anemone doesnt looks good these days. dunno what to do ...

trying to feed with brine shrimp but it doesnt take, keep throwing out.

also tried to add the green green thing.(phytoplankton)

Now the anemone looks like died...i think still alive la. coz still stick on the rock.

and it doesnt looks like bubble anemone anymore. all the bubble become shorter and shorter.. some almost flat ..Omg..

One of the tomato was found died in the anemone's mouth... can you believe it ? :sick:

post-72-1146640141.jpg

friend...ur ane is dying...i once read some doc that if ur ane 'closed' or strink (like urs or even worst...ur water perimeter might hve problem..i've tried many ane but nvr hve them pass 1yr...sad...

:whistle maybe ur ane choke!! :whistle just joking...

Henry Tan

Sembawang

3x1.5x1.5 2.5x1x1.5

LS

1xfire clown/ 1xyellow boxer

1xpercular/ 1xcoral beauty

1xboxer/ 2xfire shrimps

1xcoral beauty/ 2xfalse clowns

2xhawk fish/ 1xane crab

1xyellow tail damsel/ 2xcleaners

3xturbo snails

2xhermits

1xtomato clown

Set up.....

Sump - Done

DIY Cabinet - Done

DIY Overflow Pipe - Done

friend...ur ane is dying...i once read some doc that if ur ane 'closed' or strink (like urs or even worst...ur water perimeter might hve problem..i've tried many ane but nvr hve them pass 1yr...sad...

:whistle maybe ur ane choke!! :whistle  just joking...

hahaha... choke !

serious ah, then i have to take it out soon lo...sigh.

let me show u the before photo... it was SO pretty.. ahah

post-72-1146646917.jpg