Mushroom fragging

blueheaven

Basically I have shown the guys 3 basic ways to frag mushies and they are by incision, total cutting and pressure splitting.

The pos and cons of all three methods are highlighted below:

Total Cutting

Pros

Fast healing rate

You get more frags from a single polyp

Cons

Low success rate

Incision

Pros

Higher success rate than cutting

Easier to administer

Cons

Slower healing time

Pressure splitting

Pros

Highest success rate

Easy to administer

Cons

Longest healing time

You get very fre frags from this

So, I'm going to start with total cutting. For this method, you totally cut off the disk in a single snip and leave the stalk behind to grow into a new polyp.

After that, you cut the disk into pizza slices and the number of slices depends on the size of the specimen you are cutting

p519436.jpg

p519442.jpg

p519444.jpg

p519448.jpg

The cuttings are then placed in a frag box which is supposed to be filled with coral chips so that the frags can attach but I couldn't get my hands on them on that day.

p519452.jpg

Next is the incision method. This is basically doing raidal cuts along the polyp to stimulate new buds to form. It is best to cut closest to the mouth for higher success rate

p519420.jpg

p519425.jpg

Then leave the polyp to recover and new buds would form

p519427.jpg

And finally is pressure splitting which is actually to stimulate natural splitting using pressure. This is best done using a fishing line and you tie it across the polyp and make sure it runs across the mouth.

Then leave the polyp aside and wait for it to split

p519434.jpg

That come to the end of our little workshop and those who got the chance for a hands on would definately not forget this experience

p519449.jpg

And last but not least, many thanks to bro nakazoru for having the initiative and hosting this activity :thanks:

p519454.jpg

Can you guys see the pics? :huh:

cool stuff... didn't know of the incision method.. might try it soon... so I just snip it till almost the mouth? But how to move the frag?

You don't get individual frags in this method

This method stimulate budding so you'll probably get polyps clustered around together :lol:

And I forgot to thank bro somebody for the pictures :)

:thanks: for sharing and teaching!

Anyway, can ask about fragging for zoos? same methods?

Project R.E.

Main Tank: 48" x 18" x 24" 12mm with external overflow piping

Sump Tank: 28" x 14.5" x 12" (3 compartments)

Lightings: T5 HO - Hopar 3* 39w + ATI 2* 54w

Skimmer: Skimz Bullet Beckett

Chiller: Resun CL-650 (28 - 29 °C)

Wavemakers: 2* Seio M620 + 1* Hydor K2 (7100 litre / hr)

Fluidized Reactor: Skimz FR (currently empty)

Pumps: 1x Rio 32HF (Skimmer), 1x Rio 20HF (Return & Chiller)

Filtration: more than 80kg LRs, chaeto

Water Circulation: ~ 4000 litre / hr

Future Plans: additional wavemaker, DIY algae scrubber, DIY overflow box

Previously:

Project R : 36" x 12" x 24" 10mm reef

hopefully somebody (i dun mean u, bro somebody).. i mean anybody.. can post some pics like this above so pple like me can learn..

i usually hard to find time to attend the workshops although i'll like to..

Project R.E.

Main Tank: 48" x 18" x 24" 12mm with external overflow piping

Sump Tank: 28" x 14.5" x 12" (3 compartments)

Lightings: T5 HO - Hopar 3* 39w + ATI 2* 54w

Skimmer: Skimz Bullet Beckett

Chiller: Resun CL-650 (28 - 29 °C)

Wavemakers: 2* Seio M620 + 1* Hydor K2 (7100 litre / hr)

Fluidized Reactor: Skimz FR (currently empty)

Pumps: 1x Rio 32HF (Skimmer), 1x Rio 20HF (Return & Chiller)

Filtration: more than 80kg LRs, chaeto

Water Circulation: ~ 4000 litre / hr

Future Plans: additional wavemaker, DIY algae scrubber, DIY overflow box

Previously:

Project R : 36" x 12" x 24" 10mm reef

Sweet and sharp pictorial and summary. All the points in. Very good.

Equipment:

30G Corner Tank with 10G Sump, 2 x 24W artinic T5, 1 x 24W 10K, 1x 24W 20K, 3" Grade 0 sand & Live rocks, Activated Carbon, Bio-home, 2 x Seio M620, Hailea 1/2HP Chiller, Redsea Pro Skimmer

Live Stock:

Turbo Snail x 1, Green Mandarin Dragonet X 2, Blue Tang X 2, True percular x 2, 1 x Algae Bleenie, Clarke clown x 2

Reef:

1 x 2" Blue maxima, Red/Brown/Purple Mushroom (Discosoma), Pink Ricordea yuma, A little colony Brown/Green common Zoanthus, Red/Pink/Green US Zoanthus, Eagle-eye Zoathus, 14 Branch Goniopora Pandoraensis, 1 Starburst Polyps, 3 + 2 Branch Frogspawn, 4 Blasto, palythoa, Cheato

RIPs (Since June 2005):

1. Sabae clown (KO by Clarke clown) 2. 1 branch melted frogspawn 4 branch 3. Golden maxima (Ripe the base off rock by me) 4. Algae Bleenie x 2 (Starvation) 5. Blue Maxima x 1, 2 x Maxima, 1 x frogspawn, rics (Overtemp...)

Old 30G Corner Tank.

Restarted 30G Corner Tank.

hey andy, trying to be farnie issit?!?! :lol: somebody, anybody... haha..

you should have seen the faces of the other reefers at the workshop when i introduced myself as "oh hi, i'm somebody" hehe.. :lol:

u still have the cheek to say.. :angry::lol::lol:

i was one of them that goes :o then i realised wat he meant... :lol:

Wa lao a ....

Super clear leh the pics.

My DC cannot compare.

To those who took frag-lets home,

post results after a month ah.

No cheating by chionging LFS for

same type & passing off as home grown ah. :evil:

My stubbles have not fully healed yet.

Blasting them with extra hours of light.

:huh: (is that good? any tips for healing?)

Cool wksp & happy to have met all U guys!

Next wksp for ZOOS (if there is), i will also go.

wait ah let me get this clear... so the incission method u snip the shroom radially towards the centre but stop short of snipping the mouth itself yeah?

Do 1 cut or several cuts?

Also... for zoos can propogate via cutting meh???? The most i heard of is to remove some from their existing LR, then let them settle down on some new coral chips, then transplant...

wait ah let me get this clear... so the incission method u snip the shroom radially towards the centre but stop short of snipping the mouth itself yeah?

Do 1 cut or several cuts?

Also... for zoos can propogate via cutting meh???? The most i heard of is to remove some from their existing LR, then let them settle down on some new coral chips, then transplant...

Yes, you can do more cuts if you want but the success rate goes down as with the number of cuts you make

Best I've seen, do 2 cuts and hope it splits into 2 polyps

And as for zoos, you can cut them, rip them apart or even chisel right through them!! :lol: