Build up a better relationship among members

Ricordia

I personally feel that in order for SRC to advance to a higher level of information sharing station...

A common understanding among domestic members should be established first.

An intellectual help/assistance among domestic members is needed to form such bond.

This is a forum where people visit to seek assistance and clearing any doubts on the Marine Aspect.

If one has found out that a fellow reefer has conducted some errors whether if it involves providing wrong information about the keeping of some marine life or the way the sale of a product is conducted,

I feel that he/she being more well-versed in that aspect, should PM and correct him or her on the errors. To encourage him/her to rectify the problem at the soonest.

Not otherwise.

I think that SRC is lacking an attitude of respect among fellow members.

Wild claims or flame on any reefer,without checking with the person first, is totally undesirable.

SRC is a forum where all of us learn and share....any differences or misunderstanding should be ironed out first privately before hurting the interest of individuals.

Thanks.

Dear members,

So far so good....

In our short one year history, there were only a few isolated controversy cases where individuals have rocked the boat every now and then.

SRC being such a small club, we are bound to know each other in a matter of time. Even if not physically, then by having someone else relate their relationship with you or their experiences with you.

So it's always good to keep your reputation good because you just never know.

I think personal integrity is very important and so is communication. More often than not, poor communication is the cause of most misunderstandings.

So let's try to keep things open and to be honest with each other in our dealings and we'll be fine.

Shady people will get shunned over time... its a fact.

Are you here to make friends or enemies? Remember, we are all hobbyists here.

I would also like to bring up the point about personal opinions and points of view. Everyone has them. Try not to get personally offended if someone else doesn't agree with you. Yet, be willing to listen and you may counter with a good argument if you so wish but DO NOT get emotional as at the end of the day... Singapore is so small... you'll meet face to face and sometimes, you find that an online persona can be quite unlike the real person.

Just chill... we'll be fine... :)

My 2 cents

do we have meetups or some sorts?

I mean take for example, Toyota Club Singapore has regular meetups between its members. and I notice it fosters a lot of good ties/friendships between the different people of the club. me included. :P

but I think the problem here is that we don't have cars or we're not like a "drive there and meet up sort of club" I suppose. then again, correct me if I'm wrong. =\

yeah so I propose. meetups and more meetups between ourselves. I for one, am free as a bird as my final paper was today! and I'm going to be meeting up a lot of people as I'll need all the help I can get from SRC. hurhur. (=

i think beside the celebration...

it can be like once a mth thing...1st sat of the month or something like that. then can meet at some place for coffee, can even go to LFS to see LS and learn from the experts. :D:D

Tank: 5 X 2 X 2.5

Sump : 3 X 1.5 X 1.8

Tunze 6060

Tunze TF08

Oceanrunner 6500

Deltec AP 902 Protein Skimmer

I-Aquatic Calcium Reactor

Arctica Chiller

The north-side guys had a LFS outing once....benefitted alot..got to meet fellow reefers and really mingle with each other. Extra perks were pratas at Jalan Kayu treated by Augustine :lol:

the one thing I learnt about such meetups is that you cannot meet up for just one sole disccusion, aka just pure reef topic.

the reason is that some people who are newer to the hobby *like me :P* may feel left out, not anyone's fault really. (=

so back to the topic. maybe we can do what the Toyota Club Singapore does. weekly/monthly zonal outings. like what someone said...all the north side people will go out for a drink or two.

I know it sounds far fetched, but I wouldn't mind organising one such thing....or what they call in TCS *short form for Toyota Club Singapore* a TCSS (talk ###### sing song* meetup. so yah. maybe I'd do just that for the north side people. but first let me get familiar with you people first. :P

I'm thinking more along the line of establishing a SRC Talent Pool . There are many professionals in our midst; engineers, IT professionals, editors, lawyers, accountants.

So if we can pool these resources together, we can leverage on each other's strength for mutual benefits. It can also be seen as a step up from a mere hobby club.

ya, lor, they always thought I am veri bad guy..

half I am only half as bad.. (if u know its quite bad liao..)

There's sometime minor n small gatherin sponge from the northern outing..

sometimes i do see some buggers like myself crawlin all over Singapore LFS.. We have a chat, goes each other place, help look out for stuffs..

Its a good network..! hehe.. oki.. anyone saw any red koko ard..?

I'm thinking more along the line of establishing a SRC Talent Pool . There are many professionals in our midst; engineers, IT professionals, editors, lawyers, accountants.

So if we can pool these resources together, we can leverage on each other's strength for mutual benefits. It can also be seen as a step up from a mere hobby club.

I'm a musician... anyway I can contribute? :P

so what the SRC going forward to be..?

if I can spare time, I can do some sums for SRC - budgeting,

costing, profit margin, reconciliation.. etc..etc.. in my free time.

I also got one fren (in IT line) that volunteer to do IT stuffs.

Also minor business laws, I can still help abit, cause I do my business

law in my accountancy course.

Its just that someone at the moment still think he can handle.

so I leave it as it is.. but seeing the things how it been going..

not really good at all.

Its just that someone at the moment still think he can handle.

so I leave it as it is.. but seeing the things how it been going..

not really good at all.

Dun know your standard so high, bro. To me...veri good lah :lol:

Ok.... I better break this up before it goes out of control. I trust each other being reasonable adults can exercise the proper restraints.

IcecruncherZ, thanks for volunteering, now we know who can we approach for info or, more importantly, your contacts in the music industry.

Bwilly's assistance in accountancy / book keeping will be much appreciated. I do need someone to explain to me why some new accounting rulings necessitates the immediate clearance of employees' leave.

bwilly,

I am sure you're referring to me. :D Probably what I need more is a time management manager... hahaha... I can do simple sums.

Besides, I'm not running SRC like a business corporation here and certainly no plans to get a public listing. When I do, I'll tap on to your expertise.

Ok.... I better break this up before it goes out of control. I trust each other being reasonable adults can exercise the proper restraints.

IcecruncherZ, thanks for volunteering, now we know who can we approach for info or, more importantly, your contacts in the music industry.

Bwilly's assistance in accountancy / book keeping will be much appreciated. I do need someone to explain to me why some new accounting rulings necessitates the immediate clearance of employees' leave.

no lah fren. that's HR policy. nothing to do with accounting. not in my life have I see any FRS mentioning tat. The more recent changes that may affect u.. is that smaller companies

with small turnover ($500K n below) may not need to have their accounts audited. Not many companies falls that category. Those sole priopreitorship, alamak, u see their accounts also so messy, n kelong.

Costing n budgeting is a powerful if u know how to use it well. wack the management n grill n grill them to stick to your budget..

much more than more financial records keepin.. every month balance can liao.

n AT, I did not refer to u leh. I recall someone said I balls carry for a living. so boss..

u want kopi or teh..?

so what the SRC going forward to be..?

That is up to the founder to provide some direction, I can only provide certain degree of consultation.

To be really idealistic, a formally registered club, not necessarily as powerful as the US The National Rifle Association (NRA), would give us many good benefits B)

There is much to be done, but that will require a lot of co-operation and support amongst members.

Frankly, we're not quite mature yet, still bickering and profiteering with each other. I'd give it another 3-5 years before some formal proceedings can be put into an action plan.

Someone prove me wrong ... ;)

Unless u looking at the case of hardware zone, they go into commercialise n is doing quite well, I think there's a market for it here, slowly but surely developing with internet n readily available form of medias, ppl can easily source n help them in their reef keeping more successfully (n therefore longer span of interest)

profiteering is no stranger in all areas. taking hwz as a biz model, there's classads (free though), paid subscription, etc..etc.. its not really within the control. For myself, I think the forum is for all keen reefers to get together, share info, seek best buy. Mods n such should step in only when there's any serious of overstepping of line, that may directly/indirectly affect SRC.

I am no expert in marine keeping, but if need to be, I can help look at the internal control of keeping things bouncing abt. (not the mods at the forum) of course given time n study of the model of an eh.. reef club. its different from a business model. hehe. different set of controls. Once a year, I will come abt n audit SRC.. haha...! of course for a reasonable fee of some rose anemone n of course red koko worms.

of course in the long run, I will love to see something not as big as hwz, but in their line. with contributors (regular) who review items, n LFS who volunteer their products as they know, their pdts will ensure it get the exposure needed in a specific target customers. Reefers will base on this unbiase review to make their decision. Certain benefits n tie up for members. Monthly or qtrly events for mbrs. eg. One local photographer forum has their own, SEED gathering, where they gather n go to one shop to do bulk purchase n negotiate veri good discount.

Best, is the hwz pricelist, its openly published n even though the PC hardware market is much much much more competitive than reefer ones. There's alot of exchange of info. on pricing n such openly.

Well, this pt is debatable, but so far no company has sue hwz on this. (but yes, for flaming..)

tat's my case.

IMO, SRC is a place to share and learn from fellow reefers. We are here to make friends and not enemies. Indeed, I get acquainted with a lot of nice reefers thru' SRC, who really go all out to help each other. Very comforting and impressive.

I believe by practising graciousness and mutual understanding/tolerance will definitely make SRC a better place for fellow members and LFS.

Personally, I salute AT for his efforts in creation of SRC, which had no doubt benefitted all of us in many,many ... ways. :bow:

Let's be FRIENDS NOT enemies..

I'm a musician... anyway I can contribute? :P

you could bask along orchard road and contribute your earnings to a SRC treasury! *chuckles* just kidding of course. :P