OMG! Look at these hybrids and rare fishes!

Yes, it is a popular fish in Japan, but v expensive! Local reefers will never wan to pay so much for a fragile fish.

It is deepwater and undescribed.

Too ex liao.... Somemore deepwater, who knows what will happen if they dun take well to the decompression... Then it is bye bye 2k...

Cyprinocirrhites polyactis

An uncommon hawkfish from indo shipment. Seen a few times at Irene and Ah Beng but never in big quantities, usually about 2 to 3 inches and in captivity rarely exceeds 4 inches. Not entirely reefsafe becos it'll eat small fishes and shrimps but is a cheap and beautiful hawkfish for the home aquarium.

post-10328-0-79984000-1296186502_thumb.j

post-10328-0-95423200-1296186681_thumb.j

There is a genus of anthias, Luzonichthys, that i've always been wanting to keep but never have the chance becos none has appeared before.

They are small, although fragile looking but reportedly quite hardy and easy to feed. All the species look quite similar to each other and there is still many waiting to be discovered and described properly.

They are peaceful and like to stay in a group and thus make a great schooling fish in aquarium.

A few species here that we may possibly see from vanuatu or philippines shipments:

Luzonichthys taeniatus

post-10328-0-37954800-1296194921_thumb.j

Luzonichthys whitleyi

supuretto.jpgpost-10328-0-82621400-1296195149_thumb.j

Luzonichthys waitei

p-80351-Waitei-Anthias.jpg

Wild caught clown. I like the white belly.

post-1940-0-89585100-1296195115_thumb.jp

post-1940-0-35758700-1296195121_thumb.jp

Main Tank: 3 by 2 by 2.5 ft

Sump: 30 by 16 by 16 inch

Return: Sicce 5000

Wavemaker: Vortech Mp40wES

Lighting: 2 X Maxspect Mazzara, 1 ATI True Actinic, 1 ATI BluePlus

Skimmer: Deltec APF 600

CR: Deltec PF 501

Filtration: Carbon FR, Phosphate FR

Chiller: Hailea 300A

Wild caught clown. I like the white belly.

These are wild caught?

They look so ORA picasso to me.

Anyway here a rare pair of naoko fairy wrasse. The rare one if the female. Female naoko are v hard to get in the trade.

post-10328-0-79521100-1296312465_thumb.j

These are wild caught?

They look so ORA picasso to me.

Anyway here a rare pair of naoko fairy wrasse. The rare one if the female. Female naoko are v hard to get in the trade.

yes it's wild caught.

fuel told me iwarna come in one piece like that before.

female naoko fairy wrasse is extremely rare. rare is an under statement.

the number of mcculochi clowns being sold in the market far out number the number of female naokos. and i dunno why coz fairy wrasses are haremic. for every male caught, at least 4-5 females can be caught also. if not more!

Nah....not at that price, some more not a pair....

i wanted to get it as i was thinking it's going to cost somewhere along 200+.

but wow... 400.

and the other half of the pair died.

so i ditched my plans of latezonatus and now am awaiting my rusty flame and melanistic longnose butterfly.

IMO an arabian beauty,Apolemichthys xanthotis

post-2961-0-20719500-1296369834_thumb.jp

Hawaii endemic pipefish,Dunckerocampus baldwini

dunckerocampus-baldwini-2.jpg

xanthotis is beautiful.

the black is very strong and not like the faded one from it's close cousin, the A. xanthurus. cream angel. it can be found in red sea shipment but as usual, with our crappy red sea shipment of ONLY purple tang, sohal tang, asfur, maculosus and golden butterfly, this fish is unobtainable to us.

baldwini is a v v nice pipefish that has been posted here i think only once before. but also cannot get. and it's quite deep water.