LED Panel

sherman

Electrical tariff going up again.

I think is the 6th times since last year.

And this time is a 21%

That means it is now more expensive for aquarium hobbyists.

One of the biggest electrical consumption items in an aquarium is lighting.

If you run MH now,you can change to T5 if it does not affect your LS.

If you running T5 now you can change to LED lighting or solar lighting.

But there are not many on market.

And they are expensive to invest especially the reputable one.

Are there cheap alternative to this lighting issue for the general aquarists?

6.5 * 2 * 2 + 3.75 * 1.5 *1.5,(Decomn on 14/9/08)
4*2*2 + 2.5*1.25*1.25 (Decomn on 1/8/09)
5*2*2 (Fully LED light system, 140 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)
2.5*2*2(Fully LED Light System,96 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1 HP Daikin compressor with cooling coil
2 Jebao OW40, 1 ecotech MP40,
1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

1 DIY 80 led control by Bluefish mini 

1 radion XR30W G2, 2 Radion XR15G3

Sump area lite by 5 ft T5 , 6 * SSC 3 watt red LED for refugium

1 Full spectrum E27 led light

1 CR control by bubble count

Start No Water Change since 1st Dec 2016

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

And this time is a 21%

Can DIY.

I have some pics over at AF.com

http://www.arofanatics.com/forums/showthread.php?t=315348

Can DIY.

I have some pics over at AF.com

http://www.arofanatics.com/forums/showthread.php?t=315348

Thank You for the link.

Its give me a good start.

I have a few questions hope you can help.

1. So far is the total LED panel able to do what the 250MH has being doing?

2. What is your total investment so far?

3. What is the electrical saving as compare to using MH and LED?

Thanks for supporting this thread

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

And this time is a 21%

Just went to marine life and saw how the new LED Lumen Aqua works and the effect is the same or better than a 400W MH !! but the power consumption is only a faction of the power supply consume by a MH and other T5 lighting ... you can check out the products here at;

www.oceanus-light.com

My 2ft Tank

Tank specification ;

1) 8 mm glass with external overflow tank

2) 8 mm sump tank

3) Main return pump - AB 3000 ( 45 W )

4) Chiller main return pump - AB 2000i ( 18 W )

5) Chiller - Artica titanium chiller 1/10 HP ( 75 W)

6) Wave maker - tunze 6206 nano wavebox ( 10 W only ! )

7) Skimmer - H & S skimmer with AB needle wheel ( 18 W )

8) CR - RM Calcium reactor with AB 1000 ( 10W )

9) Denitirator - RM suplur Dnitirator with maxi jet pump ( 12 W )

10 ) Lighting - Lumen Auqa LED lighting ( 48 W only ! )

11) Hailei ozone generator ( 7 W )

12) Oceanus 2 x 2ft LED lighting ( 14 W) for chaeto planting

13) Tunze 6025 ( 6 W)

14) Skimz FR with rowa

TOTAL ; 263 W !!!

Just went to marine life and saw how the new LED Lumen Aqua works and the effect is the same or better than a 400W MH !! but the power consumption is only a faction of the power supply consume by a MH and other T5 lighting ... you can check out the products here at;

www.oceanus-light.com

Hi you mean they use the par meter and tested the effect between 400w and the leds. is the sae? If that good . may be thinking to change one too.

Now power supply is going up so high..think everyone is changing to LED in terms of long run.

My little ocean
Mix Reef-Main tank 30 inches Length x 32 inches Width x 18 inches Height
2 X Skim DC return pump
Aquabee 2000 chiller feeder

Hailea 1/2 Chiller
1 X Tunze nano wavebox

2 X EcoTech Marine Vortech MP10W
Deltec skimmer - Internal
Lumenarc 400watt 12K Reeflux

8 X T5 ATI Powermodule
Prolifux control with external touchscreen display
Refugium keeping chaeto

Better cut down, imagine paying more on the long run not just one month

anyway i have to decomm soon

Why not decomm and keep a nano 2ft tank..think power supply shall me no more then $40 if using LED lighting.

My little ocean
Mix Reef-Main tank 30 inches Length x 32 inches Width x 18 inches Height
2 X Skim DC return pump
Aquabee 2000 chiller feeder

Hailea 1/2 Chiller
1 X Tunze nano wavebox

2 X EcoTech Marine Vortech MP10W
Deltec skimmer - Internal
Lumenarc 400watt 12K Reeflux

8 X T5 ATI Powermodule
Prolifux control with external touchscreen display
Refugium keeping chaeto

At this moment, LED light set is still at high priced.... :cry::fear: unless you can wait for a couple of year.

IMHO, Currently DIY is the way to go and the cost is about half of the cost but the outlook hor..... not as nice as those off the shelf, branded good la :pinch::lol: .

At this moment, LED light set is still at high priced.... :cry::fear: unless you can wait for a couple of year.

IMHO, Currently DIY is the way to go and the cost is about half of the cost but the outlook hor..... not as nice as those off the shelf, branded good la :pinch::lol: .

Its true Bro Jameshong.

LED may be able to replace MH,PL and T5HO in teams for spec and cheaper running cost.

But it is still beyond the reach of many aquarists.

Its either you wait for the price to come down or the alternative is to DIY the lite at a fraction of the

retailing price yourself.

So this thread is up for all bros/Sis who are interested to cut their electrical bill for reefing and for those who want to DIY

But have no knowledge and for those who have some knowledge and who wish to share with other reefers their know how.

So whether you are sharing or you wish to learn come in and support this thread.

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

Better cut down, imagine paying more on the long run not just one month

anyway i have to decomm soon

Its sad to hear that bro.

Please reconsider

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

Its true Bro Jameshong.

LED may be able to replace MH,PL and T5HO in teams for spec and cheaper running cost.

But it is still beyond the reach of many aquarists.

Its either you wait for the price to come down or the alternative is to DIY the lite at a fraction of the

retailing price yourself.

So this thread is up for all bros/Sis who are interested to cut their electrical bill for reefing and for those who want to DIY

But have no knowledge and for those who have some knowledge and who wish to share with other reefers their know how.

So whether you are sharing or you wish to learn come in and support this thread.

I have tried D.I.Y and bought one panel of the 50 pcs of white LED from Sim lim which is "Super bright" in my ###### eyes, and i thought this would be good for my chaeto in my refugium tank... But after testing it , i found that although it is "Super bright" to our eyes it does not encourage growth at all and my corals did not open up as well ..

After doing some study on it, and i find out that not all LED is suitable for our corals and plants.. Actually Plant and corals required a more "blue" and "red" to encourage growth and our ###### eyes see more yellow then blue which is also why these eyes seem very bright to our ###### eyes but is not really idea for reefing..

Extract from website;

Source: Photo Morphogenesis in Plant by R.E. Kendrick and G.H.M. Kronenberg (Published in 1986, Martinus Nijhoff)

Certain wavelengths have greater influence on photosynthesis, 400 to 525 nm (blue color) and 610 to 720 nm (red color) are the biggest contributors to photosynthesis, and most organic lighting that is sold in the market usually refers to two specific wavelengths, the red and blue wavelength.

From a distance, the color of the light that is exposed by the organic lighting is pink in color. While in existing white light LED, most utilize a blue color chip set with a coating of yellow phosphor and with this combination, white light is the end result ( Which is also why it seem so bright to our ###### eyes) . Therefore, the energy distribution of the white light has two distinct peaks at 445 nm (blue color) and 550 nm (yellowish-green color) but organic life also needs wavelengths at 610 to 720 nm (red color) and white light lacks this wavelength. This is the reason why white light LED is not advantageous for organic life cultivation.

My 2ft Tank

Tank specification ;

2) 8 mm sump tank

13) Tunze 6025 ( 6 W)

14) Skimz FR with rowa

TOTAL ; 263 W !!!

I have tried D.I.Y and bought one panel of the 50 pcs of white LED from Sim lim which is "Super bright" in my ###### eyes, and i thought this would be good for my chaeto in my refugium tank... But after testing it , i found that although it is "Super bright" to our eyes it does not encourage growth at all and my corals did not open up as well ..

After doing some study on it, and i find out that not all LED is suitable for our corals and plants.. Actually Plant and corals required a more "blue" and "red" to encourage growth and our ###### eyes see more yellow then blue which is also why these eyes seem very bright to our ###### eyes but is not really idea for reefing..

Extract from website;

Source: Photo Morphogenesis in Plant by R.E. Kendrick and G.H.M. Kronenberg (Published in 1986, Martinus Nijhoff)

Certain wavelengths have greater influence on photosynthesis, 400 to 525 nm (blue color) and 610 to 720 nm (red color) are the biggest contributors to photosynthesis, and most organic lighting that is sold in the market usually refers to two specific wavelengths, the red and blue wavelength.

From a distance, the color of the light that is exposed by the organic lighting is pink in color. While in existing white light LED, most utilize a blue color chip set with a coating of yellow phosphor and with this combination, white light is the end result ( Which is also why it seem so bright to our ###### eyes) . Therefore, the energy distribution of the white light has two distinct peaks at 445 nm (blue color) and 550 nm (yellowish-green color) but organic life also needs wavelengths at 610 to 720 nm (red color) and white light lacks this wavelength. This is the reason why white light LED is not advantageous for organic life cultivation.

Bro larryng21,

Thank You for sharing your experience.

Our bro /sis now should have a better knowledge on LED lighting that they need.

By the way can show us a picture of the LED panel you buy and how much you pay for the panel.

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

Hi bro larryng21,

Thanks for your info :bow: .

From wat i know, some of the branded LED light sets are using Philips designed luxeon or luxeon K2 LED bulb. The Luxeon K2 come with different type of LED bulb with different colour, watt and wavelength, kelvin... so you have to select those that you required.

RS or Farnell singapore are seling Luxeon K2 (not K2 star) at about 10~12 buck/pc. IMO, mixing of luxeon K2 blue, 470nm and Cool white should be quite good for the coral liao unless you wanted to mix all colour, red, green yellow...( all type of wavelength into one set) and it's possible but it will seem odd when you viewing your tank lor :cry: .

Currently, there are no LED lightset in the market can produce all wavelength in one set at one time. Some brand do provide different wavelength, lumen, kelvin but it can't select all in one go instead select that you needed for you specific coral. So the most important is research more and choose the correct LED bulb :P .

Extract from website;

T8 user have direct replacement for their tube now with led in tube form.

So can use back original lite fixture.

T8H0LED.doc

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

This is interesting.. Buty T8 is mostly use for our in-house lighting and office.. i guess this will not fit on the T5 which most reefer use right ?

My 2ft Tank

Tank specification ;

2) 8 mm sump tank

13) Tunze 6025 ( 6 W)

14) Skimz FR with rowa

TOTAL ; 263 W !!!

Wow...brilliant idea for using it for low current LED :bow: !

Should use K2 star - Royal blue and CREE white. Mix them up at 2:10.

Try to research more before DIY as this could be expensive. Most importantnly, need to take of the heat generated by the LEDs, if the LED is running too hot, the light output will be much lesser. If not sure how to do it, just go and buy the ready made ones.

The initial cost of the lights could break even within 1.5 years, but will be faster if the electricity rates are increased again. 2 things you will save electricity when using LEDs. The lesser usage of electricity to power the lights for the same output of MH or T5s. And the LEDs do not normally radiate heat to the water, so the chiller will not have to work so hard. Therefore you will save on the electricity when running the chillers.

Member of :

MASS in Facebook

Reefing in LED

Try to research more before DIY as this could be expensive. Most importantnly, need to take of the heat generated by the LEDs, if the LED is running too hot, the light output will be much lesser. If not sure how to do it, just go and buy the ready made ones.

The initial cost of the lights could break even within 1.5 years, but will be faster if the electricity rates are increased again. 2 things you will save electricity when using LEDs. The lesser usage of electricity to power the lights for the same output of MH or T5s. And the LEDs do not normally radiate heat to the water, so the chiller will not have to work so hard. Therefore you will save on the electricity when running the chillers.

Ya man... Maybe LED lighting is going to be the more perfect lighting for reefing and planting in the future, which the only problem now is the high prices... But if more and more of us is using it i beleive the prices will drop , just like the supply and demand which higher vol bring down prices ect..

Just have to take note also that lights rays generated from noraml LEDs does not really spray like MH or T5 and it only shine straight diretly into the water..so you may require more unit in order to cover your tank.

My 2ft Tank

Tank specification ;

2) 8 mm sump tank

13) Tunze 6025 ( 6 W)

14) Skimz FR with rowa

TOTAL ; 263 W !!!

This is interesting.. Buty T8 is mostly use for our in-house lighting and office.. i guess this will not fit on the T5 which most reefer use right ?

Bro you are right.

Maybe fleshwater aquarist can use.

Hope they come out with T5HO soon

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

does any1 know what other good, ready made led lighting in the market? other than oceanus bcos they dont hv 3ft type & luma too ex. www.customaquatic.com has but not sure if gd. any advice PLs?

Bro how you get the magic ratio of 2:10

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer