INCREASE in ELECTRIC BILL by alot..

What is in your tank?

Pump?How many watt each?

Light ?How many watt each?

Chiller ?How many watt ?

What is the running hour for each item every day?

6.5 * 2 * 2 + 3.75 * 1.5 *1.5,(Decomn on 14/9/08)
4*2*2 + 2.5*1.25*1.25 (Decomn on 1/8/09)
5*2*2 (Fully LED light system, 140 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)
2.5*2*2(Fully LED Light System,96 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1 HP Daikin compressor with cooling coil
2 Jebao OW40, 1 ecotech MP40,
1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

1 DIY 80 led control by Bluefish mini 

1 radion XR30W G2, 2 Radion XR15G3

Sump area lite by 5 ft T5 , 6 * SSC 3 watt red LED for refugium

1 Full spectrum E27 led light

1 CR control by bubble count

Start No Water Change since 1st Dec 2016

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

hi all, i just changed to a 4'2'2 ft tank, and just receive the bill, the bill went up by $150 which is double my normal monthly bill, is it normal? is there anyway to reduce cost? thanks

Congra...on your new tank. Alots of zoas?

since u said u just changed to a bigger tank , what is the equipment u changed?

even 2x150mh only sucks arn $50 a month , my guess is chiller and return pump

Mix Reef Tank: 5ft x 2.5ft x 2ft mixed reef

Chiller: daikin 1hp compressor

Return: Red Dragon 6.5m3

Lighting: Aqua Lumen Ocean 4ft

Skimmer: Reef Octopus RO-RPS-5000-EXT w/ Bubble Blaster

CR: RM 824 /milwakee PH controller

Tunze TS24 with 7096

Tunze Osmolator

American Pinpoint PH monitor

American Pinpoint ORP Monitor with Resun Ozone

RM sulphur denitrator

RM FR 424

RM FR 624

TLF Phosban Reactor

My old tank thread

469748_10150741487628605_529506809_o_zps36d5c396.jpg

Hi bro sherman

how u do the calculations?

this are my details:

Pump 65W 24hrs

Light 150W 10hrs

Chiller 650w 5hrs

What is in your tank?

Pump?How many watt each?

Chiller ?How many watt ?

What is in your tank?

Pump?How many watt each?

Chiller ?How many watt ?

hi bro, i have 2 pump rio 20f running for my main pump and 1 for my skimmer, they are 50 watt each.

my lighting is 4 tube hopar T5 lights

and my chiller is resun cl500 . my lights on an average of 8 hours daily.

Are you sure the $150 increase is due to the fish-tank?

Is it because you are using more electricity on your house air-con during this hot period?

Maybe there is sometthing wrong with your chiller? How often does it cut off ??

bro how to check if the chiller is malfuctioning? cause i just got this chiller from a reefer, this is my first time using chiller so dun really know how it works.. i doubt is the aircon as since last time we also everyday on aircon, bill is usually 150, max is ard 200, but this time round its hit 300, and somemore july 1 go up by 7% again.. so i am so scared, wanna find out the cause and now haven found a job since i ord

Hi bro sherman

how u do the calculations?

this are my details:

Pump 65W 24hrs

Light 150W 10hrs

Chiller 650w 5hrs

Underwater and Harlequin Mania give you the solution already

6.5 * 2 * 2 + 3.75 * 1.5 *1.5,(Decomn on 14/9/08)
4*2*2 + 2.5*1.25*1.25 (Decomn on 1/8/09)
5*2*2 (Fully LED light system, 140 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)
2.5*2*2(Fully LED Light System,96 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1 HP Daikin compressor with cooling coil
2 Jebao OW40, 1 ecotech MP40,
1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

1 DIY 80 led control by Bluefish mini 

1 radion XR30W G2, 2 Radion XR15G3

Sump area lite by 5 ft T5 , 6 * SSC 3 watt red LED for refugium

1 Full spectrum E27 led light

1 CR control by bubble count

Start No Water Change since 1st Dec 2016

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

Its perfectly normal... Last time i was using 5 pumps and 3 x 400W MH, + T5 and other device already come out to $400plus per month for tank alone. Now I dont own any tank. My monthly bill is only $180 per month as compared to $650 to $700 per month.

So high until PUB wanted to inspect my HDB house and see wheather what machine i put in because of sudden increase in load and when i removed my tank, my bill went down, they also want to check my meter and see whether i am stealing electricity or not.

Its perfectly normal... Last time i was using 5 pumps and 3 x 400W MH, + T5 and other device already come out to $400plus per month for tank alone. Now I dont own any tank. My monthly bill is only $180 per month as compared to $650 to $700 per month.

So high until PUB wanted to inspect my HDB house and see wheather what machine i put in because of sudden increase in load and when i removed my tank, my bill went down, they also want to check my meter and see whether i am stealing electricity or not.

Wow...lolx...some monster tank u got there huh...i think PUB revenue dropped when u decom, that's y.

I calculated to be $36.5 base on his light, pump and chiller.

How did you arrive at that figure? I got $93.27, assuming his chiller runs at 500 watts effectively for 24 hours a day.

Pump: $13.88

[(2 X 50W) / 1000] X 24 hours X 30 days X $0.1928

Chiller: $69.40

(500W / 1000) X 24 hours X 30 days X $0.1928

Lights: $9.99

[(54W X 4) / 1000] X 8 hours X 30 days X $0.1928

Assuming his chiller kicks in for 40 minutes and rests for 20 minutes every hour (quite likely cos 500 watts seems underpowered for a 4X2X2 tank) it will still be $46.27

I'm guessing the problem is the chiller, Resun 500 is quite old, and their chillers never consumes the power they claim, usually the rated wattage is more. If the chiller is not serviced, dirty, thermostat not accurate, it is not far fetched to say that it will consume far more electricity than the 500 watts and may kick in almost constantly.

Also, for the home air con, even if you switch it on everyday as normal, it would have been working harder for the past month when the weather was so hot. Some afternoons the temperature would reach 34 degrees or more. For an air con to maintain the set temperature, it makes a world of a difference if the ambient temperature outside is 30 degrees or 34 degrees.

I'm neither an electrician, engineer nor scientist, just someone who cares about how much energy my lifestyle is consuming. If my calculations or statements above are wrong, bros, please correct me :)

IMO chiller and lighting is the two main cause for high electrical consumption.. Switching to lower Wattage lighting which does not generate too much heat, and switching to a higher effective chiller like a direct titanium chiller with correct horse power will also help chill the water faster... The faster the chiller chills the water, and the faster it cut off, the lesser the energy drawn as well.

Titanium chiller have their probe direct contact with the water it chill comparing to other conventional chiller thus it will helps chilled the water much faster.

How did you arrive at that figure? I got $93.27, assuming his chiller runs at 500 watts effectively for 24 hours a day.

I calculated andyboss items.. sorry for the confusion

this are my details:

Pump 65W 24hrs

Light 150W 10hrs

Chiller 650w 5hrs

I calculated andyboss items.. sorry for the confusion

Yah, I thought you were replying in response to underwater's post but I realised after reading the thread again haha :paiseh:

bro how to check if the chiller is malfuctioning? cause i just got this chiller from a reefer, this is my first time using chiller so dun really know how it works.. i doubt is the aircon as since last time we also everyday on aircon, bill is usually 150, max is ard 200, but this time round its hit 300, and somemore july 1 go up by 7% again.. so i am so scared, wanna find out the cause and now haven found a job since i ord

wah jobless..still can afford to keep marine tank..somemore go for upgrade to bigger tank!! :bow::bow::bow:

I doubt you ever do your planning well in your upgrade..haiz <_<