Another DIY LED lighting

Jameshong

After the 1st LED lighting since last years and the result is good so decided to another one with 35 LED for better coverage for my tank.

All stuff just gathered yesterday morning and started my process of diying now and expected to complete by next week includes of testing.

Here are the update;

3mm Aluminum plate with drilled hole for wiring

DSC02772.jpg

Adhesive tape for Star MCB, Bond-Ply

DSC02782.jpg

Customised Acrylic sheet from DAMA.

DSC02797.jpg

Process and progress of boxing up the acrylic sheet. 3/4 done and will do the wiring once completed.

DSC02804.jpg

DSC02809.jpg

DSC02810.jpg

DSC02811.jpg

DSC02814.jpg

DSC02815.jpg

What is the esitmated cost for you new LED setup? How many driver r u using? R u using any Heat sink to disperse the heat?

Est <750. for entire 35 LEDs fixture of 4xUV, 13xRoyal blue and 18xPure white.

Currently plan is 2 Meanwell Power supply with extra input for 3rd Power supply ready. Which meant 1 Power supply for 22 LED (parallel, 700mA/ string) and othe other is 1400mA/string for 13 LEDs. When neccessary, I'll add one more power supply to become 11 by 11 by 13 :eyebrow: .

Same as my previous design...I'll be using 2 fans to disperse the heat and I think it's sufficient to do the job :whistle .

Update...

Drilled 5 holes at each side for ventilation.

DSC02818.jpg

Glued the side panel. Glass panel inserted for testing.

DSC02824.jpg

Top view.

DSC02823.jpg

Wow, this is a very neat and tidy DIY project. Can't wait to see the completed product! If only I had the knowledge and skills to build such projects haha.

I agree. The build looks great and I'm sure the finishing will be first class! Really hoping to learn some tips here n maybe gather up enough courage to build one myself. So many shifu here, anyone care to accept me as disciple? :unsure:

Est <750. for entire 35 LEDs fixture of 4xUV, 13xRoyal blue and 18xPure white.

Currently plan is 2 Meanwell Power supply with extra input for 3rd Power supply ready. Which meant 1 Power supply for 22 LED (parallel, 700mA/ string) and othe other is 1400mA/string for 13 LEDs. When neccessary, I'll add one more power supply to become 11 by 11 by 13 :eyebrow: .

Same as my previous design...I'll be using 2 fans to disperse the heat and I think it's sufficient to do the job :whistle .

You may want to re-consider driving at 1400mA, it would severely reduce the lifespan of the LEDs

Thanks for your advice.

Meanwell Power supply can vary the current :eyebrow: so I may reduce the 1.4A to 1A instead.

Nice diy! Your aluminium sheet will probably become very warm, especially if those LEDs are driven at 1A. Personally I would use a beefier heatsink.

Hi bro,

not to be worry as my current 22 LEDs fixture is driven at more than 1A with 2 fans and the temperature is not more than 30 degree. The in and out of my airflow is 44 cfm which is sufficient to disperse the heat lor :eyebrow: .

Also, it is not a good idea to drive strings of LED in parallel......Unless those LEDs are carefully matched with similar forward voltage.

For parallel, I 'll incorporated current mirror circuit to protect and balance up the current evenly to each string which I have done on my current LED lighting.

No issue for me :rolleyes: .

anyway, for this new project...i built in spare DC input connector in case I change my mind and drop off parallel stringing :whistle .

Progress updates.

I have completed the acrylic case and from now onward, I'll be working on soldering, wiring the LED.

Top panel

9.jpg

Top panel with Fan

8.jpg

Rear cover

7.jpg

glued the top panel to the main body.

5.jpg

top view

3.jpg

Front view

2.jpg

Completed view.

1.jpg

4 DC input connector, White, Royal Blue, Fan and 1 spare.

cee0a837.jpg

Hi bro,

Trial and error la. :ph34r: ..sure can gain Knowledge and skill from there onward mah :whistle !

You wouldn't know whether can or not, unless you try hor :eyebrow: !

Be very careful when driving at more than 750 mA.

Take your temperature reading the LED junction ,not the

star or the mounting plate.It can be very misleding.

Nice job

6.5 * 2 * 2 + 3.75 * 1.5 *1.5,(Decomn on 14/9/08)
4*2*2 + 2.5*1.25*1.25 (Decomn on 1/8/09)
5*2*2 (Fully LED light system, 140 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)
2.5*2*2(Fully LED Light System,96 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1 HP Daikin compressor with cooling coil
2 Jebao OW40, 1 ecotech MP40,
1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

1 DIY 80 led control by Bluefish mini 

1 radion XR30W G2, 2 Radion XR15G3

Sump area lite by 5 ft T5 , 6 * SSC 3 watt red LED for refugium

1 Full spectrum E27 led light

1 CR control by bubble count

Start No Water Change since 1st Dec 2016

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

I wonder why you chose acrylic as the housing material. Can it take the heat?

FYI, Acrylic is typically processed at 240–250 °C when manufacturing so I dun think 35 LEDs heat able to melted it :whistle .

From my past experience, It should not more than 40 degree with fan switching on :upsidedown: .

Why acrylic? Light weight, hard, many colour to choose from, cheaper and most important is that you can design, customise and to glued it yourself(DIY) :eyebrow:!

Be very careful when driving at more than 750 mA.

Take your temperature reading the LED junction ,not the

star or the mounting plate.It can be very misleding.

Nice job

Hi Sherman,

I know what you mean :whistle !

:thanks: .

Dated : 9th August 2009..................Happy Birthday to my WHITEY :yeah: !

Finally.....My baby Whitey was born :eyebrow: !

Delivery Time : 2330

Here the handsome guy looks ...

111.jpg

112.jpg

113.jpg

114.jpg

115.jpg

116.jpg