5+ft shallow tank

markietan

hey friends, i've started decomming my 2ft as i've gotten my new shallow tank, which is what this thread is about.

the original plans can be found at this thread

http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=78057

there were minor changes as advised by forum friends and tank maker. tank maker did quite a good job... good communication throughout and gave good advice. Delivered as scheduled too and workmanship is good.

tank specs

12mm glass w/ black acrylic backing & black silicon : 5.2ft (l) by 1.25ft (w) by 1.125ft (h)

internal sump w/ 4 partitions. 1st one is overflow & wet dry filter, 2nd one is for carbon & media, 3rd one is for refugium and last partition for return pump

total volume is 38 gallon (about 140 litres)

equipments

return pump : 3000l/h atman pump (to be changed to AB2000/i or AB3000 in the future) piped to 2 return holes

wavemakers : 2 x koralia 2

skimmer : deltec apf600 w/ atman feeder pump (fed from overflow partition, return to 2nd partition)

light : aquamedic 5ft retrofit (ati aquablue special and bluepro)

others : tubby ATO w/ kalk reactor

here's a FTS w/ sand, dead rocks and bacteria added to kickstart cycling.

post-5359-1242468754.jpg

the original idea was to create a simple tank for culturing fast growing corals like zoas and maybe SPS. however i do forsee myself stocking it with some nice fishes so i might remove some rocks to create more swimming space.

comments and feedbacks welcomed! :thanks:

• Replies 64

wa dam nice leh.

so jealous -_- ur hse so many tank!! hahaha. nice one. hope to see u stock it up nicely.

no lah.. gonna decomm the ones in my bedroom.. once i get rid of the bryopsis problem w/ the high mg treatment. then move all over to this one... =)

nice!!

bro mark, did u deliberately use some board to block the sunlight? u've got no intention to use the natural light?

mm.. the tinted windows are closed in this photo. no intention to use natural light in the main display. actually at the back of the tank where the refugium is, it gets plenty of light in the day even when the windows are closed. especially in the morning... one of the reasons why i chose to have the sump run along the whole length of the display too instead of having it at one side.

Any plan to "cover" up the top .. seem like the water level is pretty high...

yeah.. it does look dangerously high and i think its due to the high flow return pump.. if i change to a lower rate pump it will definitely drop. but i'll monitor and see how... so far so good, no overflow/leak. use until this atman pump spoil first... its running on a impeller w/ a satay stick shaft cause the original shaft dunno go where. haha

no lah.. gonna decomm the ones in my bedroom.. once i get rid of the bryopsis problem w/ the high mg treatment. then move all over to this one... =)

Bro... looking good! Looking forward to more photo updates! :eyebrow:

Mind sharing a photo of your bryopsis problem? I'm suspecting that I'm facing the same problem.

hey friends, i've started decomming my 2ft as i've gotten my new shallow tank, which is what this thread is about.

the original plans can be found at this thread

http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=78057

there were minor changes as advised by forum friends and tank maker. tank maker did quite a good job... good communication throughout and gave good advice. Delivered as scheduled too and workmanship is good.

tank specs

12mm glass w/ black acrylic backing & black silicon : 5.2ft (l) by 1.25ft (w) by 1.125ft (h)

internal sump w/ 4 partitions. 1st one is overflow & wet dry filter, 2nd one is for carbon & media, 3rd one is for refugium and last partition for return pump

total volume is 38 gallon (about 140 litres)

equipments

return pump : 3000l/h atman pump (to be changed to AB2000/i or AB3000 in the future) piped to 2 return holes

wavemakers : 2 x koralia 2

skimmer : deltec apf600 w/ atman feeder pump (fed from overflow partition, return to 2nd partition)

light : aquamedic 5ft retrofit (ati aquablue special and bluepro)

others : tubby ATO w/ kalk reactor

here's a FTS w/ sand, dead rocks and bacteria added to kickstart cycling.

post-5359-1242468754.jpg

the original idea was to create a simple tank for culturing fast growing corals like zoas and maybe SPS. however i do forsee myself stocking it with some nice fishes so i might remove some rocks to create more swimming space.

comments and feedbacks welcomed! :thanks:

very nice tank bro. Mind to PM me ur tank maker n how much u paid for it?? Thanks

Main Tank: 5 x 1 x 1

Return from overflow: Eheim compact+ 5000

Lighting: 2x 54W T5

Skimmer: Deltec SC 1350

Chiller: Arctica 1/10

Wave Maker: Tunze Nano Wavebox & Tunze 6055 with Photocell
Monitor 1: American Marine Pinpoint pH monitor
Monitor 2: American Marine Pinpoint Temperature monitor

tank is full of dino now cause i didn't soak the sand before i poured them into the tank... high on silicate!

in anycase here are some zoas i've added

:eyebrow:

post-5359-1243530992.jpg

post-5359-1243530987.jpg

post-5359-1243530975.jpg

post-5359-1243530982.jpg

bro, have more updates on your tank.. I am looking at yours for inspiration as i will probably looking for a 5x1x1.. hehe

• 6 months later...

here's some updates of my tank..

after decomming and selling off my 3ft, have shifted my 5ft tank to my living room

decided that this tank should be a 'green' tank so this is the equipment list i have for now. don't forsee myself adding anything else... except maybe another skimmer

1. AB 2000 return pump

2. Tunze ATO

3. Coral Lab kalk reactor

4. Hopar double AC fans (w/ temp controller)

5. Deltec MCE600

6. LED light set by bro Sherman

here are some initial shots which i grabbed quickly on my iphone b4 booking in on friday night

post-5359-1260804653_thumb.jpg

post-5359-1260804659_thumb.jpg

more to come this friday, stay tuned! =)

here's some updates of my tank..

after decomming and selling off my 3ft, have shifted my 5ft tank to my living room

decided that this tank should be a 'green' tank so this is the equipment list i have for now. don't forsee myself adding anything else... except maybe another skimmer

1. AB 2000 return pump

2. Tunze ATO

3. Coral Lab kalk reactor

4. Hopar double AC fans (w/ temp controller)

5. Deltec MCE600

6. LED light set by bro Sherman

here are some initial shots which i grabbed quickly on my iphone b4 booking in on friday night

post-5359-1260804653_thumb.jpg

post-5359-1260804659_thumb.jpg

more to come this friday, stay tuned! =)

Bro, finally see u update after such a long time. Ur tank looking good and very cool set of LEDS :)

hi markietan. its been a long long while! how have you been?

yo yo! been busy la.. haha.. bo bian have to decomm one setup.

how has sch been to you? your tank's looking good. all the nice zoas... i want! hahaa

here's the update for last weekend

Updated Equipment List

Return pump : Aquabee 2000

Skimmer : 2 x Deltec MCE600 (w/ media boxes : Rowaphos, Rowacarbon)

Cooler : Hopar double AC fans (w/ temp controller)

Lights : LED light set by Sherman (21 x 3W Royal Blue, 21 x 3W White)

Wavemaker : Tunze 6055 w/ 7091

Topup : Tunze Osmolator w/ Coral Lab Kalk Reactor

Others : 3kg Biohome plus

Livestock (Fishes)

1. A pair of True Percula Clownfish

2. 1 x Banggai Cardinalfish

3. 1 x Royal Gamma

4. 1 x 8 Line Wrasse

5. 1 x Yellow Tang

6. 1 x Blue Tang

Corals / Clams

3 x Maximas

2 x Croceas

Zoanthids

Ricordia Floridas

Red / Green Montis

random LPS / SPS frags

post-5359-1261393468_thumb.jpg

post-5359-1261393474_thumb.jpg

will try and take some closeup next week. also trying to change the LED arrangement as currently the white and blue are not well mixed... :paiseh:

yo yo! been busy la.. haha.. bo bian have to decomm one setup.

how has sch been to you? your tank's looking good. all the nice zoas... i want! hahaa

sorry for late reply. just came back from thailand about a week ago. was reading tru this then remember u posted something.

school is ok lah. thanks for the compliment! u wan some zoas? let me know which ones u want haha i see if i can frag for u :) its been awhile for sure. haha.

5ft tank looks great. ur rics are omg as usual. :)

Your rics fanastic.

More update please

6.5 * 2 * 2 + 3.75 * 1.5 *1.5,(Decomn on 14/9/08)
4*2*2 + 2.5*1.25*1.25 (Decomn on 1/8/09)
5*2*2 (Fully LED light system, 140 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)
2.5*2*2(Fully LED Light System,96 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1 HP Daikin compressor with cooling coil
2 Jebao OW40, 1 ecotech MP40,
1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

1 DIY 80 led control by Bluefish mini 

1 radion XR30W G2, 2 Radion XR15G3

Sump area lite by 5 ft T5 , 6 * SSC 3 watt red LED for refugium

1 Full spectrum E27 led light

1 CR control by bubble count

Start No Water Change since 1st Dec 2016