Kaykay's DIY-approach nano setup. 2'x1.5'x1.5'.

kaykay

• SRC Member

I have had a 3-footer (2+years), and a 6-footer (3years), both basically a FOWLR setup.

As i got both the tanks wholesale, the setups were pretty much up and running within 2 days.

I confess that i have never done a proper cycling in my life before.

Pretty soon, boredom sets in. I was also too lazy to revamp the systems.

While seeing the movers move the latter 6fter which I gave away, I kinda felt a sense of loss.

It really was a funny feeling. While the tank was sitting idle after selling the equipment and livestock, I found it a big eyesore in the living room. But while it was being wheeled away, I suddenly missed it very much.

It think it's an "Ah Q Mentality". A hoarders' mentality basically.

So....

A good way to cure the insanity? Start another tank!! Lol...

But this time, I'm taking things s.s.s.l.l.o.w.w.w.l.l.y.y.y.y... And challenge the lower limits of a budget to setup a fish w softies w LPS nano tank.

The few ways to setup a tank economically is as follow:

1. Buying used equipment.

I think there is a science to doing this.

a. Troll the forum every waking minute (I mean it!!). Well, having a mobile device with data plan certainly helps! Haha.

b. Have a clear idea what equipment you would like to have.

c. Patience has to be in great supply.

I also think that there is an art to it.

a. Look for rarely used, or lightly used equipment.

b. since buying used, just go for reputable reliable brands.

2. For items I cannot find on the pasar malam, buy non-European brands.

Nonetheless, I limit these to non essential equipment like fan, ermm.. what else ha?

Or get those positively-reviewed China /Taiwan brand equipment.

3. D.I.Y.

It's challenging. It's rewarding. The sense of achievement is addictive. The sense of ownership goes up several notches.

The cost savings is healthy to my pockets.

In addition, doing small DIY projects keeps the interest on-going on a regular basis.