Liverocks....

Joe_P

...so can build underwater castle for mermaids :P Using brick, never try it myself, thought someone may have try... Just an idea, don't know it sound so incredible... :paiseh:

By making DIY liverock, we are making a little effort to protect the environment. Believe at some parts of the world liverock harvesting is banned. However, our greatest limitation is space. If I have a backyard or garage I would definite try DIY. It's fun and can create any shape desire.

Garf Web site has some good examples. There is also video recordings showing the process.

Hi!

If it's to save money for small quantities of LR at home... I'm not sure that when you've computed all your expenses (really all your expenses!) you would end up saving much if at all. If it's for the aesthetics and aquascaping then it's a different matter.

On an industrial scale it's a viable industry in some parts of the world. I had read in book that they produce artificial LR in the US. The economical way to do it is to use the sea as a place to get your rock colonised with bacteria. These are basically LR farms on the costal area. The following link has a good article on the topic:

LR History

Well from my calculations, it cost <$10 for 10kgs of DIY live rock to be made. it is cheap but the problem is you require space to store it if made in large quantities and time to cure it.

Dun think the LFS here will consider this option. Takes to much time and too much space. alot easier to sell something you can oder rather then something you make. It is easier to gather then produce.

But if people use DIY liverocks, then no need to harvest from the ocean liao lor.

Maybe you guys can DIY your cement LR... transport it to the sea via lorry... dump it off a pier or somthing... tie it all together first with a rope and float... then retrieve it 6 months later! You probably need a crane or pulley system though! :)

It'll just be like LR!! :idea:

i wonder if you could make a live rock rack out of live rock instead of PVC. Or a DIY LR covered pvc structure. Would look far more natural.

Can see if any kelong willing to baby sit your LR for 6 months. Otherwise, I dont think the water QC is good enough for you to just dump off shore. Worse still, police coast guard thinks you are junking unwanted construction debris in coastal waters.

only in singapore. Fine this, fine that.

But spore not viable to make inquantity la. minus all the stuff and approval, the rock very ex liao. But in the states, the use mined porous rocks and dump tons into the sea and a few months later, retrieve them and sell as culture live rocks. They lease the land from the gov.

But here can only make in tanks or fibre glass tanks lor. but will still work if put a few live rocks in just in lower quantity and take tme. Will continue seeding these rock once my LS has all be cleared from my QT to the main tank. :lol:

• Sponsor

Hi there, making your own LR is indeed a small but significant step towards conservation, :P there are actually some farms off Fiji and Hawaii that are "planting" these man-made LR in the seas (harvested after 2 years).

I tried myself with the artificial lava rock (residual haematite I think) which is very porous but somehow, calcareous red algae just wouldn't grow. :( However, will be happy to actually try it out with the cement and stuff as I have an empty 6Ft Fibre in my backyard...all of you interested can come do this as a tiny project to provide an alternative LR source for reefers. .....its a small step, but all journeys start with one small step, ... ;) as a retailer who started off as a hobbyist, I want the marine hobby to go on..and on ...and on... B)

Hi there, making your own LR is indeed a small but significant step towards conservation, :P there are actually some farms off Fiji and Hawaii that are "planting" these man-made LR in the seas (harvested after 2 years).

I tried myself with the artificial lava rock (residual haematite I think) which is very porous but somehow, calcareous red algae just wouldn't grow. :( However, will be happy to actually try it out with the cement and stuff as I have an empty 6Ft Fibre in my backyard...all of you interested can come do this as a tiny project to provide an alternative LR source for reefers. .....its a small step, but all journeys start with one small step, ... ;) as a retailer who started off as a hobbyist, I want the marine hobby to go on..and on ...and on... B)

Hmmm..... maybe you can start selling DIYed liverocks...

You certainly have the space for that..... ;)