EvolutionZ's Shallow reef build.

Evolutionz

@KELVINx3

indeed! cant wait for rocks and sand to go in.. hopefully can be done by tomorrow!

@megacue

ATO need another tank to hold the water right? no extra space liao leh..

EvolutionZ's Floating Reef:

(Decommed) EvolutionZ's 4ft shallow Mixed Reef Build :

I would have got a new cabinet if I were you, a sump like that would be really troublesome in the long run.

cabinet looks weak but it should be able to hold a shallow tank.

Are you going to decom your cube tank?

Sometimes the good guys gotta do bad things to make the bad guys pay. - Harvey Specter

Freshwater cabinet are not meant to withstand the weight of saltwater tank. From the front view, the cabinet thickness is way too thin. Take a look ard reefers tanks and see how thick their support beam is. Also not sure if your cabinet wood can tahan saltwater bo. Since everything is not set up, why not do a proper tank cabinet. When u fully stock up your tank, it will not be fun anymore when your whole tank come crashing down.

Fully agreed. Well said. But I'm gonna bet that he wont do anything about it.

Sometimes the good guys gotta do bad things to make the bad guys pay. - Harvey Specter

I think we should leave the TS to decide on what kind of set up he wants. It's good that alot of bros mentioned about the cabinet. But then again let's not make any sweeping statements and appreciate the buildup of his tank :thumbsup:

Thanks guys for your input about the cabinet.. i've pondered about it before too. If given the chance, i would've changed to a new cabinet.

I know saltwater is heavier than freshwater. after searching through the internet, i gathered that salt water weighs more than freshwater by 2.5%.. i have no idea how true is this..

My previous set up was a 400L freshwater + equiments (20kg OHF, 15kg sand, rock, wood) total around 435kg. not calculating the 2 salt water tank (total about 70kg) i am running in the cabinet

This current set up is a 230L saltwater + Rocks and sand (30kg rock, 20kg sand). If its true at 2.5% heavier, 230L works out to be around 236kg... with the rock and sand it will be around 290kg (not calculating the water volume reduced when rock and sand goes in)

if saltwater turns to out be more than 2.5% heavier.. i don't think it will exceed 400kg of freshwater..

partly i went for such a shallow tank was to reduce the amount of volume too.. im sure this cabinet cannot tahan a 4x2x2ft saltwater volume.

i've also called up qian hu regarding the cabinet and they told me its safe.. i believe they have a marine tank running a similar cabinet...

Once again, thanks to those who commented on the cabinet... i know its not 100% confirm to be safe but i guess i will have to take the risk.. since its already set up,

edit : yes, the 34L cube tank will be decommed

Mixed salt with existing DI water in tank and 25kg of rocks went in.. no idea how to scape it so i just placed it as per previous planned scape.. seems like its totally different.. probably will have to play around for the moment.

Scape look ok. Just need to make sure no dead spots and enough flow. Can just add more wavemakers later on.

Display Tank : 36" x 20" x 20" Herbie overflow box design, Sump : 36" x 21" x 17", Frag Tank : 16” x 20” x 16”, custom built by Tank Culture.

Lightings : Ecotech  Radion XR15 Pro x 2 for Main Display Tank, Inled R80 x 1 for Frag Tank.

Chiller : Dalkin 1hp compressor with build-in drop coil.

Skimmer : Skimz Octa SC205i Protein Skimmer.

FR : H2Ocean FMR75 Fluidised Media Reactor with Hailea HX-2500 (Feeder Pump) running Rowaphos.

CR : Skimz Monzter E Series CM122 Calcium Reactor.

BPR: Marine Source Biopellet  Reactor with Continuum Reef Biopellet Fuel. 

Main Return Pump : SICCE Syncra ADV 9.0 & Jebao ACQ-10000 Water Pump.

Wavemaker : Jebao MOW-9 x2 for Main Display Tank & Jebao SLW-20M  Sine Wave Pump for  Frag Tank.

Water Top Up: AutoAqua Smart ATO Lite.

Mixed salt with existing DI water in tank and 25kg of rocks went in.. no idea how to scape it so i just placed it as per previous planned scape.. seems like its totally different.. probably will have to play around for the moment.

Hi bro, nice tank.

Btw, how's the overflow returning back sump working?

beautiful! camping for updates!

Thanks!

Scape look ok. Just need to make sure no dead spots and enough flow. Can just add more wavemakers later on.

most part of the rocks are not touching the base.. should be having a good flow throughout the whole tank..

Hi bro, nice tank.

Btw, how's the overflow returning back sump working?

Thanks bro, overflow working great!

cool looking tank bro :thumbsup: if get clams would be very nice as can view from top easily

thanks! will certainly get one next time :D

Updates :

up and running for 2 days already. transferred all live rocks, corals and fishes to this current set up. Since its using cured live rock so should be fine.. so far fishes are eating and corals are opening just as usual..

Been dosing Microbe-lift Niteout-2 daily to provide bacterial.. Deltec MCE 600 producing some awesome loads of bubbles but only clear skimmate now probably due to the low bioload!

loving the Carib-sea Special Grade reef sand! perfect grain size.

2013-05-01232014_zps8af52bfb.jpg

2013-05-01232028_zps986a31e9.jpg

top view.. can easily view corals just have to press the feed button on my wp40.

2013-05-01232038_zps23ca22e5.jpg

shifted my sump and overflow box to the right as its generating too much noise to the corridor.

2013-05-01232045_zpse267cdbc.jpg

Unlike a 1 feet cube tank, the flow in a large tank is extremely important to corals. Generally speaking, adequate flow has been documented to improve coral growth and health and polyps extension etc because the currents facilitate gaseous exchange, wastes removal and deliver food and nutrients to them.

When I saw your initial setup where the overflow and wave maker were on the left, I was concerned that the flow around the right area would likely be very bad with lots of dead zones. Now that you shifted the overflow to the right, it improves the flow by pushing water from the left to the right. However, I'm not certain that the single wave maker is powerful enough to drive all the water along the entire length to the overflow side.

I suggest you relook at how the flow can be improved eg. put overflow in center and add another wave maker on right so that water is circulated from both directions towards the center. You will find nuisance algae eg. Cyanobacteria, growth occurs most often in dead zones and low flow areas.

Just my humble opinion for your consideration. By the way, I love your setup, scape and lights and can't wait to see the final product.

Aquarium 3 - 250 liters with sump and refugium

Jebao DC 6000 pump with speed controller

Skimz skimmer

AI Hydra 52 HD

Hailea HS-66A (1/4 hp) chiller

Maxspect Gyre

TLF Phosban reactors with Phosban

Tunze nano osmolator

Marine Magic Triplet Dosing

Aquarium 1 - 27 litres

Atman HF-0600 HOB filter

Maxspect Razor Nano 60W (10,000 K)

AOL 60 litres chiller

Tunze Nano Osmolator

Thanks a lot for ur advice regarding flow bro. I appreciate it alot. I understand what you meant and the single wp40 is probably overkill but I might add another smaller wave maker to push towards the rocks at the back to ensure no dead spots. Still finding the sweet spot to place the wake makers now.. Previously both overflow box and wave maker on the same side cause haven settle the plugs so all put one wide first. Thanks bro. I can't wait too!

i took ammonia and nitrite reading yesterday and it was 0.25 and 0 respectively.

Took some readings today :

API :

pH : 8.2

Ammonia : 0

Nitrite : 0

Salifert :

Nitrate: 0.2 (using the low range reading method)

Phosphate: 0

kH: 9.6

SG : 1.025

currently running 100ml of rowaphos in TLF phosban 150, gonna get another TLF and join them together running biopellets after i add in livestocks.

seems like my cycle is done? probably because im using my old LR and also cured LR from reefer. Stopped my skimmer since bioload is so low. added a bag of Biohome too.

2 pics to show..

my super cute bi-color blenny! eats anything..

http://s961.photobucket.com/user/fissiden/media/2013-05-02202430_zps5c62c49f.jpg.html'>2013-05-02202430_zps5c62c49f.jpg

blue stardust frag..

http://s961.photobucket.com/user/fissiden/media/2013-05-02202500_zps7317b683.jpg.html'>2013-05-02202500_zps7317b683.jpg

Update:

new corals addition.. corals and fishes are doing very well.. been doing Microbe-lift Nite-out II daily and also Red Sea Reef Energy A & B (2.5ml daily). probably will give grotech line a try after my red sea finishes.

Some corals pics :

pink tip elegance.

http://s961.photobucket.com/user/fissiden/media/2013-05-07201251_zps3a437524.jpg.html'>2013-05-07201251_zps3a437524.jpg

zoas

http://s961.photobucket.com/user/fissiden/media/2013-05-07201246_zps5436fa50.jpg.html'>2013-05-07201246_zps5436fa50.jpg

green Brain coral.. this particular piece had become everyone's favorite coral with its bright luminous color! getting a red one soon!

http://s961.photobucket.com/user/fissiden/media/2013-05-07201237_zps20a16146.jpg.html'>2013-05-07201237_zps20a16146.jpg

New addition added just one hour after placing in tank.. Yellow Lobo.. adds a spark of yellow to my tank!

http://s961.photobucket.com/user/fissiden/media/DSC03099-1_zpsa57472e0.jpg.html'>DSC03099-1_zpsa57472e0.jpg

GSP glued to overflow box.. hopefully will spread fast and cover the whole box!

http://s961.photobucket.com/user/fissiden/media/2013-05-07201422_zps67040676.jpg.html'>2013-05-07201422_zps67040676.jpg

Got this birdnest from a kind reefer when i bought his elegance, he fragged most part away so trying my luck with the remaining ones. doing pretty well with nice PE.. hopefully its color will retain..

http://s961.photobucket.com/user/fissiden/media/DSC03122_zpsbab2e54c.jpg.html'>DSC03122_zpsbab2e54c.jpg

top view

http://s961.photobucket.com/user/fissiden/media/2013-05-07201534_zpsa111206d.jpg.html'>2013-05-07201534_zpsa111206d.jpg

Livestock!

Banggai Cardinal..

http://s961.photobucket.com/user/fissiden/media/2013-05-07201456_zpsc9d41f28.jpg.html'>2013-05-07201456_zpsc9d41f28.jpg

my mandarin from my old 34L.. much more pods for him!

http://s961.photobucket.com/user/fissiden/media/2013-05-07201517_zpsb83d7447.jpg.html'>2013-05-07201517_zpsb83d7447.jpg

Got 2 of this lovely tuxedo urchins! superb at eating brown algae (which is currently blooming in my tank) however its been attaching to some of my zoas frag and carrying them around..

http://s961.photobucket.com/user/fissiden/media/2013-05-07201445_zps2a0ab262.jpg.html'>2013-05-07201445_zps2a0ab262.jpg

My sump tank.. Deltec MCE 600 (great skimmer) on the left, eheim 1260, Rio pump (chiller and 2 TLF 150 reactor feeder pump). Currently only running rowaphos.. will be running biopellets once more livestocks go in.. chaeto in a breeder's net but im thinking of DIY-ing a partition using eggcrates.

http://s961.photobucket.com/user/fissiden/media/2013-05-07201711_zps26be5a06.jpg.html'>2013-05-07201711_zps26be5a06.jpg

FTS. added a SunSun 3000l/hr wavemaker blowing at the back.. thinking of changing to 5000l/hr model instead.. still waiting for my universal laptop adapter to come so i can run W1 or ELSE mode on my wp40 at lower flow..

http://s961.photobucket.com/user/fissiden/media/DSC03082_zpsc4cdf04d.jpg.html'>DSC03082_zpsc4cdf04d.jpg

angle view

http://s961.photobucket.com/user/fissiden/media/DSC03089_zps849a5d10.jpg.html'>DSC03089_zps849a5d10.jpg

Light is currently 10" above water level.. running 9 hours but mainly the blues and some white. rest of the whites only comes on for 2 hours a day now.. worried my corals may bleach.

http://s961.photobucket.com/user/fissiden/media/2013-05-07201409_zps841a4417.jpg.html'>2013-05-07201409_zps841a4417.jpg

simply switch on feed mode on my wp40 and enjoy the top view..

http://s961.photobucket.com/user/fissiden/media/DSC03096_zps2c6f0abe.jpg.html'>DSC03096_zps2c6f0abe.jpg

Thanks for viewing!