My reefzzz Tank

Reefzzz

Mine is not a new tank. Change to FOWLR after CFO complain that the chiller is producing too much heat and the location of my tank is unable to connect to a compressor coil. So no choice, finally have to dismantle the chiller and sump and just using a Eheim canister connect to the overflow.

Subsequently, me and my CFO run into a series of bad luck. One day i told her i suspect this due to us removing all the corals. Surprisingly, she agreed with me and told me to better 'reinstate' the tank.

So here i am, back to reefing again. Buying back all the equipments again and back to the old problems of heat dissipation from chiller. This time round, CFO did not make any more complain. At least for now....

Main Tank: 5 x 1 x 1

Return from overflow: Eheim compact+ 5000

Lighting: 2x 54W T5

Skimmer: Deltec SC 1350

Chiller: Arctica 1/10

Wave Maker: Tunze Nano Wavebox & Tunze 6055 with Photocell
Monitor 1: American Marine Pinpoint pH monitor
Monitor 2: American Marine Pinpoint Temperature monitor

This is how my fowlr looks like. I started off the fowlr with my long time residents, a pair of misbar black clowns. This pair been with me for many years and the only pair i managed to keep alive. I ended my fowlr with the same pair as well. None of the fishes that i bought during the short stint in fowlr survived. Very sad but not sure why. I probably just not suitable to keep fishes. Corals on the other hand is comparatively easier

Previous setup: FOWLR

post-6945-0-29628900-1382972132_thumb.jp

Welcome back bro

Thanks bro... Got a lot of advice from you on keeping fishes during that period. Your fowlr is always an aspiration for me. keke

For the reef tank:

Tank - 5x1x1 (low iron front panel)

Lights - Change back to T5

Skimmer - Deltec 1350

Pump - Eheim compact 5000. Using Diablo 5500 in the pic but unable to T-off to a few output

Chiller - Arctica 1/10

Pic 1: Main tank (changing out the water, putting back the cured LR)

Pic 2: Monitors

Pic 3: My simple sump

post-6945-0-96398700-1382972835_thumb.jp

post-6945-0-34912800-1382972847_thumb.jp

post-6945-0-13474600-1382972857_thumb.jp

Welcome back bro! Camping here for more updates :)

My little ocean
Mix Reef-Main tank 30 inches Length x 32 inches Width x 18 inches Height
2 X Skim DC return pump
Aquabee 2000 chiller feeder

Hailea 1/2 Chiller
1 X Tunze nano wavebox

2 X EcoTech Marine Vortech MP10W
Deltec skimmer - Internal
Lumenarc 400watt 12K Reeflux

8 X T5 ATI Powermodule
Prolifux control with external touchscreen display
Refugium keeping chaeto

Nice setup, the lighthouse is for decor purpose?

Display Tank : 36" x 20" x 20" Herbie overflow box design, Sump : 36" x 21" x 17", Frag Tank : 16” x 20” x 16”, custom built by Tank Culture.

Lightings : Ecotech  Radion XR15 Pro x 2 for Main Display Tank, Inled R80 x 1 for Frag Tank.

Chiller : Dalkin 1hp compressor with build-in drop coil.

Skimmer : Skimz Octa SC205i Protein Skimmer.

FR : H2Ocean FMR75 Fluidised Media Reactor with Hailea HX-2500 (Feeder Pump) running Rowaphos.

CR : Skimz Monzter E Series CM122 Calcium Reactor.

BPR: Marine Source Biopellet  Reactor with Continuum Reef Biopellet Fuel. 

Main Return Pump : SICCE Syncra ADV 9.0 & Jebao ACQ-10000 Water Pump.

Wavemaker : Jebao MOW-9 x2 for Main Display Tank & Jebao SLW-20M  Sine Wave Pump for  Frag Tank.

Water Top Up: AutoAqua Smart ATO Lite.

Hey bro u back! Another amazing zoas collector.

Bro, no time so see. Saw you have an amazing selection of collectables now.. :eyebrow:

Welcome back bro! Camping here for more updates :)

Going slow bro... Got lobang must inform okie...

Power lah bro!!! Welcome back!

Reefing still hard to resist. Most seems to come back after stopping for a while.. haha

Nice and neat setup bro. What fishes are you intending to put?

Still sticking with my original black clowns but they are getting big now and territorial. They tends to chase away other fishes crossing their path. Trying one pbt first since i don't have other fishes in my tank except one more royal gamma. If ti survive, then i out in a few more. Bought a very small and cute PT last Sat. Sun morning dead. i suspect probably attack by the black clowns. signzzz

Ah my sifu is back! The culprit who poisoned me and brought me into marine tank hobby in 1996 :P

Welcome back bro!

Alamak bro. you make it sound we are so old. I am not your sifu la. Your fish keeping record much better than mine.. Your tank should be quite full now. Still yet to visit your tank after so much talk andstaying so near... lol

Nice setup, the lighthouse is for decor purpose?

Yes bro, just for decorative purpose. i used to put in on a LR protruding out of the water..

Welcome back bro!

So where's the chiller now?

No choice bro. Chiller still put in cabinet like previous set up. I just attached a fan to the chiller to blow the hot air out. Else, i have to keep changing my adapter every half year or so as the heat in the cabinet spoilt all the equipment circuitry.

I left one side of the cabinet door open, tilt the chiller to one side. It look awkward but no choice.. The only think i find unbearable is the fan noise.

i remember i read somewhere in the forum to connect the fan to the chiller so it only activate when the chiller kicks in. Any bros knows how to do it?

post-6945-0-16076000-1383017598_thumb.jp

post-6945-0-06662700-1383017605_thumb.jp

bro, perhaps you wish to create an opening at your cabinet to draw out the hot air ? try using ventilation/exhaust fan. I feel that it is far better than those CPU fan. you can check it out in my thread. I'm using that as well.

u can get the temperature controller at sim lim square. use that as a controller instead of the chiller's internal controller. both the chiller and fan plug into the controller, when temperature rise, both will be energized.

personally i haven't tried that. but i feel that is not necessary as the cost to run a fan is so negligible. i think the cost of getting the controller can offset the electricity bill for the fan for dunno how many years.. one month probably cost you $2-3 bucks..

>>

u can get the temperature controller at sim lim square. use that as a controller instead of the chiller's internal controller. both the chiller and fan plug into the controller, when temperature rise, both will be energized.

Bro, if i am using an additional temperature controller, how to deactivate the chiller temperature control.

Also, i occasionally heard reefers buying probe, temp controller, etc from SIm Lim. But whenever i step into Sim Lim, i only saw shops selling camera, PC and laptop related stuffs. I don;t remember seeing shops selling other stuffs. haha... Maybe i don;t know how to look around. See any bros can help

Bro, if i am using an additional temperature controller, how to deactivate the chiller temperature control.

Also, i occasionally heard reefers buying probe, temp controller, etc from SIm Lim. But whenever i step into Sim Lim, i only saw shops selling camera, PC and laptop related stuffs. I don;t remember seeing shops selling other stuffs. haha... Maybe i don;t know how to look around. See any bros can help

Go Sim Lim Tower not Sim Lim Square. Two different places.

haha sorry my bad...is sim lim tower...not square...

if i'm not wrong the idea is to set the chiller temperature at a lower temperature like 20 degrees. so whenever it is switched on/energnized, the chiller will kick in.

>>

Bro, no time so see. Saw you have an amazing selection of collectables now.. :eyebrow: Going slow bro... Got lobang must inform okie... Reefing still hard to resist. Most seems to come back after stopping for a while.. haha Still sticking with my original black clowns but they are getting big now and territorial. They tends to chase away other fishes crossing their path. Trying one pbt first since i don't have other fishes in my tank except one more royal gamma. If ti survive, then i out in a few more. Bought a very small and cute PT last Sat. Sun morning dead. i suspect probably attack by the black clowns. signzzz Alamak bro. you make it sound we are so old. I am not your sifu la. Your fish keeping record much better than mine.. Your tank should be quite full now. Still yet to visit your tank after so much talk andstaying so near... lol Yes bro, just for decorative purpose. i used to put in on a LR protruding out of the water..
Nice pc of decor, lighthouse to shine light for your slice of little ocean, ha ha...

Display Tank : 36" x 20" x 20" Herbie overflow box design, Sump : 36" x 21" x 17", Frag Tank : 16” x 20” x 16”, custom built by Tank Culture.

Lightings : Ecotech  Radion XR15 Pro x 2 for Main Display Tank, Inled R80 x 1 for Frag Tank.

Chiller : Dalkin 1hp compressor with build-in drop coil.

Skimmer : Skimz Octa SC205i Protein Skimmer.

FR : H2Ocean FMR75 Fluidised Media Reactor with Hailea HX-2500 (Feeder Pump) running Rowaphos.

CR : Skimz Monzter E Series CM122 Calcium Reactor.

BPR: Marine Source Biopellet  Reactor with Continuum Reef Biopellet Fuel. 

Main Return Pump : SICCE Syncra ADV 9.0 & Jebao ACQ-10000 Water Pump.

Wavemaker : Jebao MOW-9 x2 for Main Display Tank & Jebao SLW-20M  Sine Wave Pump for  Frag Tank.

Water Top Up: AutoAqua Smart ATO Lite.

Go Sim Lim Tower not Sim Lim Square. Two different places.

haha sorry my bad...is sim lim tower...not square...

if i'm not wrong the idea is to set the chiller temperature at a lower temperature like 20 degrees. so whenever it is switched on/energnized, the chiller will kick in.

Ok bros. Got it now. I been going to the wrong place all along.. haha

Nice pc of decor, lighthouse to shine light for your slice of little ocean, ha ha...

Its a decommission lighthouse already. Just like Sultan Shoal lighthouse. The rotating lights no longer functioning..lol

Looking good.

For the reef tank:

Tank - 5x1x1 (low iron front panel)

Lights - Change back to T5

Skimmer - Deltec 1350

Pump - Eheim compact 5000. Using Diablo 5500 in the pic but unable to T-off to a few output

Chiller - Arctica 1/10

Pic 1: Main tank (changing out the water, putting back the cured LR)

Pic 2: Monitors

Pic 3: My simple sump

Welcome back bro ;)

Looks like ultra zoas/paly going to form on the right island soon :look:

Passion in reefing!

youtube.com/watch?v=qExn-l-t5a4

youtube.com/watch?v=z6LNPWec5zA