Cheapest Set Up.

Hi guys. Was just wondering out of curiosity, what is the cheapest set up you have seen or is running currently? With that being said, SPS in the tank is still blooming and grow very well. Just curious how basic one can go on their set up with a healthy water parameters cause i somehow believe we dont really need high end product to have a blooming tank? So any basic se up to share?

For me, cheapest setup would be to run without chiller. Keep all heat producing systems to a minimum.

Just the basics- Return pump, 1 bio pellet FR and skimmer.(optional wave maker if return pump not enough)

Run dark refriguim as lighting at sump would only contribute heat.

For lights, run only LEDs, and situated them as far from water surface as possible.

Must be a shallow reef tank so that surface area for evaporation is much higher than water volume.

Check my tank thread. My temp never exceeds 29C even on the hottest days. :P

Cheapest set up?Stay near a very clean sea..Confirm the cheapest. ...Just need a pump will do..
actually that was my retirement dream. Live near the sea (somewhere???***) and run a tank by just pumping water from the sea. Only need lights with more blue to show the colors. That would be the largest refugium possible ..... Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

My Wish List

- Black Ocellaris

- Royal Grammar

- Orchid Dottyback

- Rose Anemone

- Zoos (all kinds!)

- Purple People Eater

- Floridae Rics

SPS tank require stable water perimeter, movement, lighting (T5 /LED for reduce energy cost) and temperature (within 2C and max 29C ).

IMO, non essential equipment such as wave maker, skimmer and light can be China made. If spoil u have time to replace.

However return pump and chiller are important equipment that require reliaiblity and any failure may ruin your entire coral collections.

Our very own reefer in singapore. I feel this would probably be the lowest cost of keeping sps and still have it blooming with good growth n colour. If even more budget, can remove dosing pump, and manual dose.

wow! that takes discipline to take care of that tank!

Bro, why r u looking for cheap successful setup tank Reefer?..u can follow them if found but u might not b successful too..all tank r different..I have read a Reefer successful tank for 3yrs without skimmer..only LR & cheato in sump..at night return pump off n only wavemaker running..no chiller no fan..seldom wc too..salute him..I dun dare..

hope u start ur reefing soon n share ur experience..cheers

@ 291213

Updated video: Kenyee FOWLR

http://m.youtube.com/my_videos

Bro, why r u looking for cheap successful setup tank Reefer?..u can follow them if found but u might not b successful too..all tank r different..I have read a Reefer successful tank for 3yrs without skimmer..only LR & cheato in sump..at night return pump off n only wavemaker running..no chiller no fan..seldom wc too..salute him..I dun dare..

hope u start ur reefing soon n share ur experience..cheers

hey bro. just out of curiosity so thats why i started this thread. Not because im following their footstep to set up the cheapest set up of my own. Im just curious how far one can go to successfully setting up a chepest set up thats all. And yes i do have a set up of my own. :)

Ok bro..haha..I believe most Reefer will loss track of how much is being spent right from the start..equipments, tank set, fishes, corals and rocks aside, the best comparison will b the maintenance cost liao..cheers

@ 291213

Ok bro..haha..I believe most Reefer will loss track of how much is being spent right from the start..equipments, tank set, fishes, corals and rocks aside, the best comparison will b the maintenance cost liao..cheers
i havent change water for 2 mths. Dose little calcium and iodine. Dose some abc from grotech but i got them free. So i shd consider quite low maintenance cost Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

DT 7ft x 2.5ft x 2.5ft
Sump 4ft x 2ft x 2ft
2 x Jebao Wp60
2 x 5000 GPH Return Pump
1 x Teco Tr20 Chiller
4 x 150w Led Light Set
Np Biopellets

Ultraphos
Bubble Magus C99

Chaeto Refugium

2 x T5

i havent change water for 2 mths. Dose little calcium and iodine. Dose some abc from grotech but i got them free. So i shd consider quite low maintenance costSent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

Wow bro..steady la 2 mth no wc..u must have got low bio load I think..less wc mean less salt used..indeed low maintenance cost..thumbs up

@ 291213

I got abt 30+ fish, 4 starfish, 4 cleaner shrimp and abt 10 snails. And quite alot of corals. At least 20-30 types ba i oso not very sure. But going to do a wc next week.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

DT 7ft x 2.5ft x 2.5ft
Sump 4ft x 2ft x 2ft
2 x Jebao Wp60
2 x 5000 GPH Return Pump
1 x Teco Tr20 Chiller
4 x 150w Led Light Set
Np Biopellets

Ultraphos
Bubble Magus C99

Chaeto Refugium

2 x T5

I got abt 30+ fish, 4 starfish, 4 cleaner shrimp and abt 10 snails. And quite alot of corals. At least 20-30 types ba i oso not very sure. But going to do a wc next week.

Wow bro..a huge tank to house that much fishes n corals..any video of ur tank to share with us?..bro, 2 mth no wc mean u haven wc since day 1 after setting up?..cheers

@ 291213

Wow bro..must b a huge tank to house that much fishes n corals..any video of ur tank to share with us?..cheers

Posted Imagefront view

Posted Imageside view

Posted Imagesps frag

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Imagetarget feeding to make them open

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

This are some of my pics for my tank. Will try to take a video other time.

DT 7ft x 2.5ft x 2.5ft
Sump 4ft x 2ft x 2ft
2 x Jebao Wp60
2 x 5000 GPH Return Pump
1 x Teco Tr20 Chiller
4 x 150w Led Light Set
Np Biopellets

Ultraphos
Bubble Magus C99

Chaeto Refugium

2 x T5

Ok haha bro..nice reef tank nice corals nice fishes..u got test ur nitrate level?..

tested my nitrate 2 week ago. Remain at 0(dd) but some of my lps cannot make it. Gsp not opening too. Maybe too low nitrate. Sorry TS to OT abit. Bro kenyee will update on my new tank post soon.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

DT 7ft x 2.5ft x 2.5ft
Sump 4ft x 2ft x 2ft
2 x Jebao Wp60
2 x 5000 GPH Return Pump
1 x Teco Tr20 Chiller
4 x 150w Led Light Set
Np Biopellets

Ultraphos
Bubble Magus C99

Chaeto Refugium

2 x T5

swee tank bro. how about equipments wise? wat equipment are u running? just skimmer and chiller?
yup a bubble magus c99 skimmer and teco tr20 chiller. N mention b4 a wp60, bio pellet and ultraphos. 3 x 150w china led lightset. Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

DT 7ft x 2.5ft x 2.5ft
Sump 4ft x 2ft x 2ft
2 x Jebao Wp60
2 x 5000 GPH Return Pump
1 x Teco Tr20 Chiller
4 x 150w Led Light Set
Np Biopellets

Ultraphos
Bubble Magus C99

Chaeto Refugium

2 x T5