DIY overflow system

Melvin

Hi fellow reefer,

Is a great gadget. i got one from Melvin. Even came to my house to fix up everything. :thanks:

Works fine everytime turning off the return pump to do maintenance for the sump. (washing the dirty cotton wool)

thumbs up :D

Moxa

Hey melvin ..... very nice man .... ###### .... :D

bro can u tell me where u bought the tubing and all the stuff u used to make your

overflow ... and if u can provide the bluprint will be a great help .

i want to try making it myself . as i want it to first run into my canister then go to my sump.

is that wise ???

if i run into any probs can ask u ???

u can PM ... cheers bro ... :D

Hi macman29 ...U can get the stuff at hardware shop but......some parts need special machine to make it... :nuke:

regards

Melvin

alamak ..... can u give me details ??? PLEASE :cry2:

hee hee hee .. i looked around the diy shop .. dont have le ... what kind of hardware shop ??

the old apek kind ah .. haa haa haa .. where did u go fir yours ???

hi i built this design but i have problems with water noise, any comment/solution? thxs

i can just add a end cap at the top of the open tube.. then make a small hole about 3-5 mm ... like that, the air flow will be lesser then not so much noise.

the noise is like "Orm..Orm..Orm" rite.. ??

after that will be "...................." :D

um...so are we meant to make a hole in the endcap or not?cause i tot initially its said not to have the hole....umm.....

and rockfish...yeah, will be having a surface skimming tube, just want to check that the length of everything is correct (ie, the t joint and stuff)

thanks again

the end cap i refered to is the one cirled in red in ur photo.

if u dun make a hole.. when the water run out, ur water level in ur tube will be drain completely. therefore when u restart ur pump, the siphon is broken already.

so it will not auto start the flow..

understand.. ??

post-9-1095223222.jpg

just to ask you guys if i didnt put the skimmer part will water still flow if i off and on the pump agaim , cause i had a overflow in my tank and can skip the skimmer part tks

hey gerald,

wat do u mean overflow in the tank .. u mean a partition for the top water to overflow into it .. ??

if u have that then u dun need a surface skimmer tube.

i use "solidworks" from my office.. hey man..!! if u need to draw anything just email me a sketch lah .. i'll draw it out for u in 3 D .. haha .. For u only .. haha

wat are friends for 13 yrs for .. ?? :P

huh??? u mean u do it during office hrs? :lol:

hey rockfish ,how are u ,yes you right there a square overflow system at my tank on the back left corner that where i can insert my whole pipe in without the skimmer part .But my concern is that when i off my pump to feed the fish will the water level still able to maintain ans also will it auto-flow again when i switch on my pump again tks bro .Cause i thought once the pump suck finsih the water it be enpty inside and i had to pur in water agaian when i start the pump again.