My 2*1*1 RYBs mixed (up) reef tank and random reef thoughts

asg

19 Dec 2014 – My favorite corals and their $

As usual, FTV @19/12/14 to kick start this week update

post-5037-0-91229800-1418969451_thumb.jp

Just for knowledge sharing and to answer those bros who asked me the price of my corals while visiting me at home. It was kind of tough for me to tell the true price when my CFO was around, reason being most of these corals were recorded in the book as $1 - $2 (green/ brown $1, other colour $2) when I declared their buying price.

Most of the time when I saw a coral (or fish) in LFS which I am interested in, I will first come up with the price it is worth to me in my head before asking the price from the LFS. So this is how the buying process for me looks like:

Me (thinking): Wah, nice colour and I don’t have this colour/ type at home.

Me (thinking): Hmm… given the colour, type and size, this shall be selling at $X (self pricing).

Me: boss boss, how much is this? (point to the coral)

Boss: $Y because this is from mars/ rare/ healthy/ etc

Me: Wah, boss, today weather very hot hor, the sun so big, blar blar blar

Boss: Ok… how much you want?

OK, granted sometimes I got my way, sometimes I don’t. But hey, it might be surprising to you but most of the LFS owners are happy to bargain/ talk/ negotiate with you, simply because they got sick talking to fish/ coral whole day too and are happy to talk to a human-like creature.

So below is the purchased price for my top favorite corals:

1) Aussie Sun, $60, Iwarna (My number one loved coral in my tank, reason being very simple. Sunflower in the sea, I can't resist that at all)

post-5037-0-87236400-1418969492_thumb.jp

2) Pink Gonio, $40, Pinnacle (My number two love. Love the sea of pink and its cute short polyps)

post-5037-0-18282600-1418969475_thumb.jp

3) Golden torch, $80 per head, GO (Third on the list. Expecting it to turn into gold bar one of these days to recoup all my reefing $)

post-5037-0-65066300-1418969479_thumb.jp

4) True Octopus, 5) Golden Hammer, 6) Green Gonio, $30 each, GO. (In my good book because they open big big and sway sway sway)

post-5037-0-98013600-1418969484_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-86073400-1418969501_thumb.jp

7) Clown pairs hammer, from fellow reefer. (Love these hammer because they look like clown fish, swim like clown fish and eat like clown fish)

post-5037-0-26160600-1418969509_thumb.jp

haha, enough of the lame jokes. one week has passed, I am just relieved that my SPS are still retaining their colour and not yet bleached or RTN. Three more frags to collect from a bro tomorrow and I shall stop my SPS collection liao. Gonna let all the SPS settled down well and turn brown.

post-5037-0-31260400-1418969529_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-35552000-1418969532_thumb.jp

Happy reefing my friends and may the god of reef always be with you.

子非鱼,焉知鱼之乐... (you are not the fish so you...)

Then: my 4FT low tech selling off tank... (2006)

Now: (2014)

@Sept 2014

paiseh bro i asked how much coral cost when i was there to collect the fish food..

i understand your point..i too lie about the coral price to my parents when they asked haha

Haha, no problem. If i were you i will try my parents that corals are sold by kilograms... one kg $5

@Sept 2014

Haha, no problem. If i were you i will try my parents that corals are sold by kilograms... one kg $5

Haha then parents will ask, how come you spend more than 500 but never see the than full.... Ask for 495 back haha

Tank setup

4ft x 1.5ft x 1.5ft (3 way viewing)

ATI Sunpower 6 x 39w

Arctica 1/5Hp

Skimz SM161 skimmer

Smart ATO system

Jebao DC 12k

Jebao dosing pump (Fauna Marine Lite balling - Thinking)

Jebao RW 15 wavemaker

Upgrading in Process.....

More infomation coming soon!

the problem with keeping sun corals is that i got to wake up once a week at 4am to feed them... speak about early coral catches the worms...

Ha...the things we do for our corals.

BTW, lovely pink gonio. I've been hunting around for something similar (pink + short polyps) but don't them around often.

Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/mysliceofnature/

Ha...the things we do for our corals.

BTW, lovely pink gonio. I've been hunting around for something similar (pink + short polyps) but don't them around often.

Yo bro. So far in the past few months, i only saw one shipment from pinacle that have it. Ah bang ng couples iwarna GO AC all dont have.

Will give you a poke if i saw one again.

@Sept 2014

12 jan 2015

Weekly water testing shows that while NO3 still remains undectable, PO4 has some blue liao (still is less than 0.03).

Cant wait to finish my SPS fieldwork report so that i can have time to update this RYB post.

Seven more days to another two weeks trip. This time tank will have no human helps at all. Hopefully no 悲剧 when i come back.

@Sept 2014

Good luck Bro... I'm also going for my korea trip for 12 days without human intervention... Good luck to me as well...

Angel Keeper

Urgh... from my exp, topping up of water and emptying skimmer cup are most important thingy ah. U have plan for these two tasks liao...

@Sept 2014

2 weeks & 12 days is indeed quite long without intervention....all the best.

For my skimmer & long trips, i intend to hook up a Tom's aqua lifter ($15+ at Petmart) to the skimmer collection cup, then hook it to a digital timer to turn on occasionally to suck the skimmate into a separate waste container.

Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/mysliceofnature/

I intend to raise my skimmer so it collects drier and lesser skimmate... ATO already settled.

Angel Keeper

will raising the skimmer cup too much decrease the efficiency ah? or do you want to drill a small hole at the bottom of your cup and use airtube to connect the cup to a pail?

I really very tempted to buy one more ATO and DIY an automated water change thingy...

@Sept 2014

2 weeks & 12 days is indeed quite long without intervention....all the best.

For my skimmer & long trips, i intend to hook up a Tom's aqua lifter ($15+ at Petmart) to the skimmer collection cup, then hook it to a digital timer to turn on occasionally to suck the skimmate into a separate waste container.

The only time I wish I do not have any fishes is when I come back to missing fish and a tank full of algae because of missing fish :cry2:

Anyway, not feeding SPS for two weeks wont be fatal?

@Sept 2014

Bro can teach me which lighting u are using now ? How many blue and white ?

Yo bro, I am using Zetlight ZT 6500. It is LED ah so I also don't know how may blue and white. But normally I set to 77W out of a max of 90W for 8.5 hours from 1130 am to 8pm. Morning 630am to 1130 am is about 40% white/ blue/ violet... light off is from 11pm till next day 530 am.

@Sept 2014

I think your skimmer tube go buy a longer tube an connect it to a big pail

My pail size about one salt bucket, went overseas for a week,come back the bucket is only like 15% full

As for top up water, fill the sump tank with more water the night before, of course if have ATO is best

Anyway for me, sump tank still a lot of water despite not using ATO

Can go invest on one IP camera to view your tank in case anything happens...

06/02/15 - Reasons why we love reefing

As usual, FTV to kick start the update

post-5037-0-30030800-1423189713_thumb.jp

Last one month was not actually smooth sailing for my tank. Due to some "force majeure" intervention to my tank, I believed I have lost my golden torch and is in the process of losing my golden hammer too. What? What is there to be angry? I thought one coral is only $2, you so angry for what?! Next time I wont help you feed your fish, you ask them go buy chicken rice themselves!! (never, never question force majeure).

On the bright side, hey, at least I am returning to a tank that will keep me occupy for next next four weeks loh. Some minor upgrade in term of equipment:

1) Bought a 3 stages DI filter, so now I am on 3+1 DI liao.

2) Change my UV from 9w to 36w. Hopefully this helps in controlling algae and ick, else I might be the first reefer in SG to use 3*36 UV for a two feet tank...

Oki, time to share some photos. Really feeling good to be back to mixed reef.

SPS Frags that are q-ing to be glued. Most likely will sell away the remaining after I glued what I could.

post-5037-0-33133100-1423189721_thumb.jp

Super sun and gonio is ready liao. Just need to wait till I finalise the position of the SPS frags.

post-5037-0-48790700-1423189718_thumb.jp

haha, yes I finally got a yellow SPS that is not "yellow-in-LFS-green-at-home"

post-5037-0-82565400-1423189723_thumb.jp

hammer hammer them.

post-5037-0-52616200-1423189716_thumb.jp

floating GSP island

post-5037-0-11891800-1423189715_thumb.jp

This green digi is showing light blue polpy. Hopefully it is not my hallucination ah.

post-5037-0-57947700-1423189725_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-18825000-1423189727_thumb.jp

Bought this from a nice bro. Hopefully can keep its colour ah.

post-5037-0-67417500-1423189728_thumb.jp

*There is no reason, love is love.

@Sept 2014

13/02/14 - PE

FTV and FTS @ 13/02/14

http://youtu.be/exWD03aVqTk

post-5037-0-28525000-1423794646_thumb.jp

Relatively a good week in term of reefing. A brown stylo that I bought is starting to colour up a bit. Funny fellow starting to show bit of yellow body with purple polpy.

Before

post-5037-0-72609600-1423794674_thumb.jp

Two weeks later

post-5037-0-22817600-1423794695_thumb.jp

There are also more PE from the other SPS too.

PE video:

http://youtu.be/fdhVo053YBY

http://youtu.be/R4E3fcCnf6Q

post-5037-0-85734900-1423794669_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-23012800-1423795389_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-31756600-1423794748_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-96563000-1423794770_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-58580700-1423794970_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-49644800-1423794982_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-19167100-1423794996_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-82818400-1423795008_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-79298300-1423795020_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-24498500-1423795031_thumb.jp

and the most most happy thing of all is that my 3 months old sun coral is starting to open in daylight. Hopefully very soon I wont need to wake up at 3 am to feed it liao.

post-5037-0-74268000-1423795035_thumb.jp

That'a all for this update. Happy reefing and CNY weeks ahead.

@Sept 2014

Very Nice sps!!

Display Tank : 36" x 20" x 20" Herbie overflow box design, Sump : 36" x 21" x 17", Frag Tank : 16” x 20” x 16”, custom built by Tank Culture.

Lightings : Ecotech  Radion XR15 Pro x 2 for Main Display Tank, Inled R80 x 1 for Frag Tank.

Chiller : Dalkin 1hp compressor with build-in drop coil.

Skimmer : Skimz Octa SC205i Protein Skimmer.

FR : H2Ocean FMR75 Fluidised Media Reactor with Hailea HX-2500 (Feeder Pump) running Rowaphos.

CR : Skimz Monzter E Series CM122 Calcium Reactor.

BPR: Marine Source Biopellet  Reactor with Continuum Reef Biopellet Fuel. 

Main Return Pump : SICCE Syncra ADV 9.0 & Jebao ACQ-10000 Water Pump.

Wavemaker : Jebao MOW-9 x2 for Main Display Tank & Jebao SLW-20M  Sine Wave Pump for  Frag Tank.

Water Top Up: AutoAqua Smart ATO Lite.