My 2*1*1 RYBs mixed (up) reef tank and random reef thoughts

asg

the problem with keeping sun corals is that i got to wake up once a week at 4am to feed them... speak about early coral catches the worms...

Wow, the commitment you put into the tank. hahaha, btw very nice tank !

03 Feb 2015 - Growth

Three months into SPS and close to 9 months into my two feet tank. Been through the usual up and down for reefers and idea of decomm has crossed my mind at least twice in the period. Both occasion ended in major loss of my beloved fishes due to my own stupidity.

Coral (LPS/ SPS) losses never cause me that much hearth pain as fish losses. Yup, I am just decorating the house preparing for the fishes.

Below are the growth of my SPS in the short three months periods into them. No rare SPS, only colors that I love. I have not regretted venturing into the world of colorful sticks.

Pink BN @ 05 Dec 2014

post-5037-0-62230500-1425286814_thumb.jp

Now

post-5037-0-27122000-1425286841_thumb.jp

Radioactive BN @ Beginning Jan 2015

post-5037-0-08772400-1425286845_thumb.jp

Now

post-5037-0-78498100-1425286853_thumb.jp

Green digi @ Dec 2014

post-5037-0-17514800-1425286858_thumb.jp

Now (tips has increased quite a few)

post-5037-0-80463100-1425286866_thumb.jp

German Blue digi Beginning Jan 2015 (left side of photo), Forest Fire Dec 2014 (right side of photo)

post-5037-0-85564700-1425286870_thumb.jp

German Blue digi Now (tips has increased quite a few)

post-5037-0-87496700-1425286878_thumb.jp

Forest Fire Now (note the zoas growth)

post-5037-0-07422600-1425286889_thumb.jp

Clamopora @ sept 2014

post-5037-0-53372500-1425286893_thumb.jp

Now

post-5037-0-67269000-1425286896_thumb.jp

I love growth, at least it makes me feel that there are somethings to show for my effort. :unsure:

子非鱼,焉知鱼之乐... (you are not the fish so you...)

Then: my 4FT low tech selling off tank... (2006)

Now: (2014)

@Sept 2014

10/03/15 - Great Hair Algae

Don't be afraid of Hair Algae, embrace them. Think about it, what do tangs eat in the reef? Algae ah. The important thing is to keep your coral happy while fighting GHA.

21 Jan 2015, the day when a tank full of GHA greeted me after my two weeks trip. One and a half month later, 90% of them are gone. One of the reasons why reefing is so interesting is that you got to see problems and get to solve them. So here I am, wishing all a Great Hair Day ah.

post-5037-0-83500900-1425956215_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-96408600-1425956513_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-15752500-1425956570_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-68832200-1425956559_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-41636400-1425956186_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-20591400-1425956196_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-68246300-1425956206_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-39904400-1425956225_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-53858400-1425956235_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-81676200-1425956245_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-04920100-1425956256_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-63371200-1425956524_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-67670100-1425956533_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-92176300-1425956541_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-05552000-1425956551_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-68832200-1425956559_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-15752500-1425956570_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-39401900-1425956581_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-49878600-1425956589_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-41343200-1425956597_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-37941600-1425956606_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-16277700-1425956615_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-46486100-1425956626_thumb.jp

@Sept 2014

06/04/15 - Stupid Mistakes We Made

As usual, FTV to kick start the update

post-5037-0-31968100-1428289119_thumb.jp

Synopsis of my stupid mistake:

-Back from overseas trip

-Small HOB Canister (linking two FR and UV) not pumping

-Pumped it

-Tank smell like century eggs

-Flame angel spinning right in front of me, Anthais grasping for air at water surface

-Do a 40% WC

-Add AC

-Flame angel mati, anthais suvived

- I cry cry cry

Other than that, the rest of the LS are doing fine. The only new coral I added in in the last three weeks is a red cocoa worm. I think I can still find space for a small yellow cup coral which I have not seen in LFS for the last 6 months.

SPS wise, the usual suspects are still growing, cant wait till the day I can trim my Jade Green Digitata and I swear, the polyp is blue ah.

The zoas surrounding the FF is growing at a crazy speed.

post-5037-0-07014100-1428289138_thumb.jp

Torchapora hiding among SPS

post-5037-0-96344000-1428289140_thumb.jp

忍不住,bought this cocoa worm cos its shell is odd

post-5037-0-31461000-1428289122_thumb.jp

Number 1 growth in my tank

post-5037-0-20074600-1428289134_thumb.jp

Q-ing SPS

post-5037-0-69461700-1428289148_thumb.jp

Q-ing LPS

post-5037-0-52024800-1428289125_thumb.jp

P/S: don't ask me why is the bag of zeovit stone doing at the front of the tank...

@Sept 2014

Everyone go oversea sure sweat …… there is a reefer who sell abt half his livestock when he going oversea.........just to play safe cos he kena lots of losses once.

Thanks bro for the compliment.

Yup every trip of mine will come home to some mati LS de

@Sept 2014

28/04/15 - SPS and Zoas

As usual, FTS for this update

post-5037-0-06547100-1430190725_thumb.jp

Somehow, my updates have changed from a weekly update to a monthly update liao. Partly because I have been traveling quite a fair bit for the last months but also because I have already gotten most of my coral in place so there is not much I can buy or play around with.

Two particularly painful incidents happened in the last month,

1) My chiller was down for half a day (luckily I am in SG for that day). Temperature shot up to 32.X degree and by the time I got home, several LPS has melted compare to only one SPS (BN) has peeled. Funny tho, I always thought SPS are the more vulnerable one.

2) During one of the weeks when I was away, the HOB canister that I linked that output to two FR (housing bio-sphere and NP bio-pellets) died. I did not think much and just restart the canister after I get home. Big big mistake. Tonnes of hydrogen sulfide was released into my tank. The whole tank smells like century eggs. Three fishes die almost immediately.

On top of these two stupid incidents, by and large I have a happy month reefing. GHA is almost down to 5%, SPS is growing, zoas are growing more so. Fishes are eating well.

I guess I will spend the next few weeks buying zoas to fill in the gap between SPS and watch both them grow.

Random photos and a feeding video as of 28 Apr 2015 (Before I am away again)

https://youtu.be/mg-0kN-T3BI

post-5037-0-93460500-1430190481_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-31418000-1430190490_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-43349500-1430190498_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-67970400-1430190505_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-10730000-1430190513_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-21947500-1430190521_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-78328300-1430190528_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-44054900-1430190536_thumb.jp

post-5037-0-62116000-1430190544_thumb.jp

@Sept 2014

Yo bro, I am using Zetlight ZT 6500. It is LED ah so I also don't know how may blue and white. But normally I set to 77W out of a max of 90W for 8.5 hours from 1130 am to 8pm. Morning 630am to 1130 am is about 40% white/ blue/ violet... light off is from 11pm till next day 530 am.

Hihi bro I try follow your setting but hard ley. Brightest is 32 . If 77w out of 90w is what HAHAHA

Mine is 6600 zetlight

This is a signature : hi

Hihi bro I try follow your setting but hard ley. Brightest is 32 . If 77w out of 90w is what HAHAHA

Mine is 6600 zetlight

Yo bro mine setting is a 29 b 31 c 28 something like that. U try adjust ur c/ d by one and see how much the watt move ah.

@Sept 2014

_-" did u use the show temp/ watt button to show the watt...

no LOL I didn't even know got the function

The button on the remote controller with the C/ F... just press three times...

You are a life saver. Will try when reach home.

26/05/2015 - Overfeeding 101

Nothing much to update in my tank, corals still growing, SPS still holding its colors, zoas and SPS still getting to know each other as neighbor, fish still fatty...

On last Sat morning, after feeding my fish their first meal (Doctor G) of the day, decided to video my daily feeding routine to share.

Like what I always says, a well fed fish is a happy fish...

My daily feeding routine:

Meal 2 of 5 @ 830am - mysis rains

https://youtu.be/eys343E8-jE

Meal 3 of 5 @1230pm - pellets mixture (normally is auto feeder but weekend I feed)

https://youtu.be/kgRW9NuUR7o

Meal 4 of 5 @ 530pm - Doctor G high tea

https://youtu.be/YmX8zaRMGL4

Meal 5 of 5 @ 730pm - Brine Shrimp attacks

https://youtu.be/2JsRuaRUH3s

watching them eat eat eat always makes me hungry...

Nice bro, I am still very amazed how you have not upgraded yet! Very nice work for your tank!

Tank Size: 3.5 ft x 2 ft x 2 ft
Sump: 3ft x 1.5ft x 1.5ft”
Return Pump: Eheim 1264
Chiller Pump: H2Ocean Flow Pump 3000
Skimmer: Vertex Alpha 200
Wavemakers: 2 X Maxspect Gyre 130; 1 x Ecotech VorTech MP10WES, 1 x Ecotech VorTech MP40WES, 1x Jebao RW15
Filtration: Schuran Multifilter 100 (Rowa Phos), Two Little Fishies Phosban 150 Fluidised Reactor (Vertex Rox 0.8 Carbon), Enductor Fluidized Reactor- FR45 (NP Biopellets & All In One Biopellets) with Eden 140 Pump, Santa Monica Hogx1 Algae Turf Scrubber, Cheato
Calcium Reactor: Skimz CM152 with needle valve and Maxijet 600 feed Pump (CaribSea ARM Extra Coarse ,KZ Coral Gravel, Two Little Fishies Reborn, Grotech Magnesium Pro)
Dosing: Bubble Magnus Dosing Pump BM-T01 + 2 x 4 Head Expansion Accessory BM-T02
Bio Media: Marine Pure, Bacteria King, Eheim Substrat Pro, Eheim Substrat, Seachem DeNitrate, PowerHouse Hard, Polyplab Biosphere, Seachem Purigen

Chiller: JBJ Arctica Titanium Aquarium Chiller (1/3 Hp - DBE-150)
Lighting: ATI Powermodule 6 x 39 Watt T5. Solite 4 x 39 Watt T5 (Only 2 used) (Blue+ Blue+ Coral+ Purple+ Coral+ AB Special) (Blue+ Purple+)
Auto Top Up system: Tunze Osmolator Universal 3155 Auto Top Off
Monitoring: 2 x Milwaukee MC 122 PH Controller (Calcium Reactor & PH Monitoring)

Substrate: CaribSea Aragamax Select

Haha bro. Long time no bump into you le.

Haha ya lor,.you still chionging every week anot? No space le right?

Tank Size: 3.5 ft x 2 ft x 2 ft
Sump: 3ft x 1.5ft x 1.5ft”
Return Pump: Eheim 1264
Chiller Pump: H2Ocean Flow Pump 3000
Skimmer: Vertex Alpha 200
Wavemakers: 2 X Maxspect Gyre 130; 1 x Ecotech VorTech MP10WES, 1 x Ecotech VorTech MP40WES, 1x Jebao RW15
Filtration: Schuran Multifilter 100 (Rowa Phos), Two Little Fishies Phosban 150 Fluidised Reactor (Vertex Rox 0.8 Carbon), Enductor Fluidized Reactor- FR45 (NP Biopellets & All In One Biopellets) with Eden 140 Pump, Santa Monica Hogx1 Algae Turf Scrubber, Cheato
Calcium Reactor: Skimz CM152 with needle valve and Maxijet 600 feed Pump (CaribSea ARM Extra Coarse ,KZ Coral Gravel, Two Little Fishies Reborn, Grotech Magnesium Pro)
Dosing: Bubble Magnus Dosing Pump BM-T01 + 2 x 4 Head Expansion Accessory BM-T02
Bio Media: Marine Pure, Bacteria King, Eheim Substrat Pro, Eheim Substrat, Seachem DeNitrate, PowerHouse Hard, Polyplab Biosphere, Seachem Purigen

Chiller: JBJ Arctica Titanium Aquarium Chiller (1/3 Hp - DBE-150)
Lighting: ATI Powermodule 6 x 39 Watt T5. Solite 4 x 39 Watt T5 (Only 2 used) (Blue+ Blue+ Coral+ Purple+ Coral+ AB Special) (Blue+ Purple+)
Auto Top Up system: Tunze Osmolator Universal 3155 Auto Top Off
Monitoring: 2 x Milwaukee MC 122 PH Controller (Calcium Reactor & PH Monitoring)

Substrate: CaribSea Aragamax Select