Magical's (6.5 x 2.5 x 2) Feet Partition Dream Tank

magical26

Power!!!

Yes bro, it helps to clear faster. Place the empty sand bag in the tank n let water drip on it then water won't get be cloudy.

Thanks for the lengthy tubing and plastic clamps, I am done with it actually. Can pass it back to you when you're free. Really appreciate your nice gesture :thanks: I didnt use the empty sand bag method, but still manage to put salt water in slowly. Tank cleared up after 3 days, will post pics shortly.

Nice! Where you get the sand from?

Ah Beng should have. If not u can order with them, they can get their supplier to deliver in a couple of days.

Hi both Bro redsuns and alex, the sand can be gotten from Ah Beng, Iwarna, Razali (DE Aquatics), or most other LFS. For mine, i ordered from tank maker and he delivered it. Everything in, got a bulk purchase discount, dont really bother where he gets his stock from as long as price is fair and competitive. Usually the case with full set up services. Hope this helps...

use sponge or wool to trap the dirt on downflow area at the sump. this helps to clear faster.

Yes bro, i did. Thanks for advise, tank is cycling and will post pictures soon.

After filling up my tank with RO DI + Salt Mix, it was murky for abt 3 days before clearing up. Tank is cycling now... here are the pics with minimal lighting.

I only on the lights for the purpose of taking pictures, will not keep any lights on during the cycling phase (though some people do). Glad that the chopping boards are out of sight now.

post-12962-0-97881800-1427333989_thumb.j

post-12962-0-63915000-1427334012_thumb.j

post-12962-0-51394400-1427334144_thumb.j

post-12962-0-73234300-1427334192_thumb.j

post-12962-0-45982600-1427334215_thumb.j

post-12962-0-62556700-1427334261_thumb.j

post-12962-0-80442800-1427334286_thumb.j

post-12962-0-32272800-1427334365_thumb.j

Nice...... Vy patient sia

Yes bro, am indeed taking it slow.

Love your scape,3 sides view always hard to ensure all views look nice.

Lovely setup. I like the scaping.

Looking forward to updates.

Thanks a lot for the kind words.

Dim dim……lomantic lah……

U r funny lah, bro.

Display Tank : 36" x 20" x 20" Herbie overflow box design, Sump : 36" x 21" x 17", Frag Tank : 16” x 20” x 16”, custom built by Tank Culture.

Lightings : Ecotech  Radion XR15 Pro x 2 for Main Display Tank, Inled R80 x 1 for Frag Tank.

Chiller : Dalkin 1hp compressor with build-in drop coil.

Skimmer : Skimz Octa SC205i Protein Skimmer.

FR : H2Ocean FMR75 Fluidised Media Reactor with Hailea HX-2500 (Feeder Pump) running Rowaphos.

CR : Skimz Monzter E Series CM122 Calcium Reactor.

BPR: Marine Source Biopellet  Reactor with Continuum Reef Biopellet Fuel. 

Main Return Pump : SICCE Syncra ADV 9.0 & Jebao ACQ-10000 Water Pump.

Wavemaker : Jebao MOW-9 x2 for Main Display Tank & Jebao SLW-20M  Sine Wave Pump for  Frag Tank.

Water Top Up: AutoAqua Smart ATO Lite.

Hi Reefers, hope you all had a good long weekend.

A while back, earlier in this thread, i shared how i DIY my ATS. Now that my tank is cycling, I took this opportunity to hook it up and run it.

Got these from Daiso, will need them to hang my downflow ATS

post-12962-0-59070500-1428242946_thumb.j

Screwed them to the beams beneath tank

post-12962-0-69324400-1428242974_thumb.j

Like this... Will hang my ATS screen here

post-12962-0-98722400-1428242992_thumb.j

ATS screen will be hung between these lights that i previously introduced earlier in this thread

post-12962-0-45461700-1428243004_thumb.j

Lights are super bright that its quite blinding and illuminates the whole cabinet when i off my living room lights. :upsidedown::poster_oops:

post-12962-0-66663000-1428243061_thumb.j

Screen is fed from a T-off from one of my pumps.

post-12962-0-42732000-1428243422_thumb.j

Goes straight to my ATS screen, and still have another spare valve available should i decide to run other media if ATS don't work in reducing P04 & N03 efficiently.

post-12962-0-01143600-1428243436_thumb.j

After a while some algae appeared but nothing much yet since I am only in cycling phase.

post-12962-0-46099100-1428243080_thumb.j

Hope to achieve those long lushy green algae on the screen when I am running the tank fully stocked. Will measure the P04 & N03 to see whether effective anot.

Next up, before i transfer my fishes from my old tank, I needed my tank cover to be done up first. Over the years, i lost a couple of fishes when they decided to commit suicide by surfing on my floor. :erm: So... a tank cover is a must for me!

Tank Cover

Firstly, I had looked around most DIY shops to find the appropriate mesh for my cover. It must be able to prevent fishes from jumping out, but must not block out too much light as well, unfortunately there was none i could find. Therefore, i decided to order it from US, and it arrived in a week.

post-12962-0-78266000-1429186977_thumb.j

I manage to get some acrylic strips and glued them together to form the perimeters of my tank cover.

post-12962-0-40669700-1429187048_thumb.j

To strengthen the corners and make it even more firm, i bought these from my neighbourhood DIY shop. 20 cents each...

post-12962-0-88968800-1429187095_thumb.j

post-12962-0-96788800-1429187273_thumb.j

Glued them down firmly with cyanoacrylate super-glue-gel and left them over night, it was rock solid the next day.

post-12962-0-46520400-1429187195_thumb.j

Forgot to mention that the entire perimeter of the mesh was stretched and super-glued down one side at a time. This process took quite a while, which was why i didnt update for some time. Almost felt dizzy every time i finish one side due to inhalation of the super glue vapour. :sick: To my surprise, it was quite firm. Tested it by throwing some objects like drink-coasters, empty plastic bottles, at it. And the objects bounced right back. I guess it should be safe enough to prevent those finicky wrasses, blennies, etc from jumping out.

Here is one of the finished pieces. The other one is double the size of this.

post-12962-0-04040900-1429187335_thumb.j

post-12962-0-72339600-1429187418_thumb.j

As it sits on my euro-bracing, i simply cant stand the markings of the super-glue vapour on the acrylic because you can see it through the glass. Although you can scrap it off, but its gonna be a lot of work.

post-12962-0-47772100-1429187481_thumb.j

Decided to black tape the outer perimeter of the acrylic pieces to make it look better and blend in with the black silicone.

post-12962-0-29096000-1429187584_thumb.j

Finally... much more acceptable aesthetically.

post-12962-0-46168900-1429187624_thumb.j

Glad that I had decided to go with a euro-bracing when tank was made. If its braceless, it would be a challenge to make it aesthetically pleasing to the eye. Guess in this hobby, sometimes we cant have the best of everything.

Anyone with experience in making tank covers, feel free to advise / comment.

Nice bro! Where did you ordered those mesh from? I think I saw those available at BRS but I couldn't order from them

Tank Size: 3.5 ft x 2 ft x 2 ft
Sump: 3ft x 1.5ft x 1.5ft”
Return Pump: Eheim 1264
Chiller Pump: H2Ocean Flow Pump 3000
Skimmer: Vertex Alpha 200
Wavemakers: 2 X Maxspect Gyre 130; 1 x Ecotech VorTech MP10WES, 1 x Ecotech VorTech MP40WES, 1x Jebao RW15
Filtration: Schuran Multifilter 100 (Rowa Phos), Two Little Fishies Phosban 150 Fluidised Reactor (Vertex Rox 0.8 Carbon), Enductor Fluidized Reactor- FR45 (NP Biopellets & All In One Biopellets) with Eden 140 Pump, Santa Monica Hogx1 Algae Turf Scrubber, Cheato
Calcium Reactor: Skimz CM152 with needle valve and Maxijet 600 feed Pump (CaribSea ARM Extra Coarse ,KZ Coral Gravel, Two Little Fishies Reborn, Grotech Magnesium Pro)
Dosing: Bubble Magnus Dosing Pump BM-T01 + 2 x 4 Head Expansion Accessory BM-T02
Bio Media: Marine Pure, Bacteria King, Eheim Substrat Pro, Eheim Substrat, Seachem DeNitrate, PowerHouse Hard, Polyplab Biosphere, Seachem Purigen

Chiller: JBJ Arctica Titanium Aquarium Chiller (1/3 Hp - DBE-150)
Lighting: ATI Powermodule 6 x 39 Watt T5. Solite 4 x 39 Watt T5 (Only 2 used) (Blue+ Blue+ Coral+ Purple+ Coral+ AB Special) (Blue+ Purple+)
Auto Top Up system: Tunze Osmolator Universal 3155 Auto Top Off
Monitoring: 2 x Milwaukee MC 122 PH Controller (Calcium Reactor & PH Monitoring)

Substrate: CaribSea Aragamax Select