Advice on Tank Upgrade

Hi Fellow Reefers!

Would like to hear some opinion and advise from all the bros and sis here in regards to tank upgrade.

Currently I'm running the following tank:

Tank display: 60cm X 30cm X 45cm

Sump tank: 30cm X 30cm X 45cm

Equipment:

Hailea HS52A

Maxspect Razor 120w

Bubble Magus Skimmer C3.5

Skimz Biopellet Reactor BR80

Eheim 1260 Return Pump

Due to the addiction on the reef keeping, I'm thinking to upgrade my tank..The options are as follow:

1. 2 feet cube tank

Advantages: i can use all my current equipment except skimmer and return pump i think

2. 3feet by 2feet by 2feet

Advantages: of course looks bigger and nicer i think! lols

Disadvantages: I need to upgrade all my equipment.... Sigh

My budget actually quite tough.. maybe i can afford up to $1,500 for this upgrade...

So could fellow reefer help me to give me some advice, whether i should go for 3 feet tank (probably i can afford only second hand tank) or 2 feet cube tank (brand new tank)....

Which one is better.?

Thanks all!

Display Tank: 3x2x2 feet (12mm Crystal Glass)

Sump Tank: 2.5 feet with 4 compartments

"Reef Maniac - Ninja: Fish and Coral don't wait for you!"

Go Iwarna, they have some good condition display tank with equipment for sales. If you have been keeping for awhile and know reefing in Yr blood, go for 322 at least. All the best.

Hahaha - I started this hobby like for 1 year already..

U mean Iwarna also sell those second hand tank ah?

I would choose the 322... else u spend so much but tank space only 15cm more than ur currently tank ah.

Agreed lah..

That's what I think also.. But the battle between new and second hand tank that make me confuse.. Lols!

Hi bro, it is a good time to upgrade indeed .... because Aquarama is around the corner!

Good bargain there; sometimes here also got good quality second hand tank or equipments; have to look out for it.

Always go for bigger, the better, tank!

(-_-) Happy will do ... (o_o)

Yes, there are 3 tanks at Iwarna, previously from their showroom. 1 is 2 ft cube and the other is ard 3 by 2.5 by ard 2. For marine, the bigger it is, the more stable it is. 322 is nice but if u can get 3 by 2.5 by 2, the depth will allow easy display with depth. Do go down and check out as you Nvr know the package price can be attractive and includes delivery and nsw supply etc. Think they can sure work out something for u, otherwise, go for aquarama and source for good deals, either go early or towards the end, timing will depends on yr luck.

Hi bro, it is a good time to upgrade indeed .... because Aquarama is around the corner!

Good bargain there; sometimes here also got good quality second hand tank or equipments; have to look out for it.

Always go for bigger, the better, tank!

Lols - noted bro.. Thanks for the advice and encouragement! Maybe try to sell my current equipment also..

322. Easiest Size to maintain, Cost efficiency and Good space for many fish species and coral!

Noted bro - Thanks ! Hopefully can find one soon!

Agreed lah..

That's what I think also.. But the battle between new and second hand tank that make me confuse.. Lols!

+1

bro, you just visualize this.... remove all coral, remove all fish, remove all current rocks, remove all sands, drain all the water, carry your current tank, move your new tank, fill in with water, wash your sands, ................ all for 15cm of extra space...

子非鱼,焉知鱼之乐... (you are not the fish so you...)

Then: my 4FT low tech selling off tank... (2006)

Now: (2014)

@Sept 2014

+1

bro, you just visualize this.... remove all coral, remove all fish, remove all current rocks, remove all sands, drain all the water, carry your current tank, move your new tank, fill in with water, wash your sands, ................ all for 15cm of extra space...

Make sense bro!

Let's go 3 feet tank..

Post a topic in the swop swop section already to look for 3 feet tank!

Thanks for open up my mind for this visualisation bro!!

agree with bro andtsg.

so much for that 15cm space and you will use it up in a matter of minutes!

although your budget maybe low, you can always shop for 2nd hand items. some of the more important items you have to get to start the tank, get them first. the not so important stuff like corals and fish and even new set of lighting can wait first!

its like buying a house or a car, most people try to stretch because it most problem gonna stick with you for years!

enjoy upgrading bro!

Noted bro..

But 1.5k to 2k enough for 3 feet tank?

Tank maybe i bought second hand, the rest see how it goes - do you guys think 1.5k enough..

Hand itchy and excited for this upgrading liao! Lols

Noted bro..

But 1.5k to 2k enough for 3 feet tank?

Tank maybe i bought second hand, the rest see how it goes - do you guys think 1.5k enough..

Hand itchy and excited for this upgrading liao! Lols

If you can wait, then wait for Aquarama? I got my 3 feet tank, (2nd hand for 3 days?), after the competition, from tank sponsors. $400 or so? Tank Piping and Cabinet minus delivery tho..

Follow Alex's Reefing Journey @ 

If you can wait, then wait for Aquarama? I got my 3 feet tank, (2nd hand for 3 days?), after the competition, from tank sponsors. $400 or so? Tank Piping and Cabinet minus delivery tho..

Wow - that's a good bargain..

Maybe just wait lor.. will they sell it in the forum also?

Lols - no worry.. they might post in forum..

AC has mentioned already that they have tank to sell - unfortunately it is not marine tank..

Hi, sorry to hijack the thread but how does it work for this aquarama? They will post the tanks for sales there or? Do we arrange for the delivery on the spot?

Think you can check and ask during Aquarama. I remember when I was there some of the tanks were already reserved!

I think this year aquamarin is sponsoring the marine tank competition, maybe you can start checking with them or look out here for their offer!

Oh ya, now that you mentioned. I did ask them before but a price has not been fixed

Thanks bro Alexcyf..

Another question..when i move the live rock and media filter to the new tank..do I need to cycle the new tank again?