My little new 3 footer...

RAV-65

• Replies 2k

giantbicycle,

my tank still new, so the sand very clean, hopefully can keep it dat way as I've used 3 powerheads to create currents to prevent the dirt/deritus from settling down on the sandbed... :)

Benz,

you know wat, I've been planning this 3 feet for more than 3 months liao... :)

Vincent Ho

orhh..thats why...Nice and clean ..neat too... haha thanks for answering .. :thanks:

bro..

nice tank...

mine is the same dimentions...

would like to find out tho...

how did you hide your overflow and whether you used anything to help stack your rocks...

i'm planning to do a rescape you see...

so i need ideas... but i don't want to expose too much of my overflow...

thanks! :thanks::P

bro, the overflow on the right-hand side, just dat i stacked the rocks upwards to "cover" it, still can see a bit, but the lights playing tricks in the photo... :)

Yes, I used egg crates to stack the rocks up... trying see if you could spot the egg crates... :)

If u intend to use eggcrates too, plan it properly... i had to dismantle and rescape after the rocks almost came crashing down coz the eggcrates almost collapsed... took me 3 days to scape my rocks... :)

Vincent Ho

oh i used eggcrates too...

check out my tank thread to see...

i stacked it up towards the overflow too...

but you tank seems to have much more space inwards than mine...

my rocks on the right of the tank, in front of the overflow are almost touching the front glass already...

don't like that cuz then the area there cannot be lit properly by my MH...

any ideas?

i'm planning to take the rocks and egg crate apart and try to redo it...

maybe by trimming the existing eggcrate alittle...

can't see your eggcrates... ;)

maybe cuz of your lighting...

but i love your stacking!

well worth the 3 days of stacking them!

Bro, u might wanna use those black stickers to " black-out" the overflow, den easier to camouflage... :)

Actually, maybe the tank looks deeper as my rocks are stacked steeper, resulting in a sandbed of around 6" in front... :)

It was 3 days hard work... plus some stinging by bristles from bristle worm.... so honestly, I dun wanna stack them ever again! :(

Vincent Ho

i think adding stickers now will be a huge problem for me so...

heh... :lol:

my rock stack is pretty steep too but steep isn't good cuz then you can't stack many corals on the slope...

maybe you can invest in some gloves? ;)

i get stung too...

damn painful... :angry:

anyway got exam tomorrow...

gtg back to studying now... ;)

don't like the idea of epoxy tho...

gives me the impression that after sticking it...

it can't be moved anymore! :lol:

go ntuc and but the yellow rubber gloves...

but remember to wash the powder off the gloves before putting into your tank...

the gloves are the one with long "sleeves" that extend all the way up to your elbows...

they are pretty cheap...

around 7-8 bucks i think...

thanks!

i'll need the luck! :lol:

actually i tink the epoxy can be removed by twisting the rock that is stuck to....

Izit? ntuc got so cheap meh? maybe i can go take a look.... but now that I finished stacking liao, dunno still should buy or not... :)

okie, no more posting... gp study!!! :D:D:D

Vincent Ho

Thanxs bro, the reason the light is concentrated in the centre is because the MH is not hung up yet, willing be hanging it up tmr, rite now, its about 2 inch above the water level... :o:o:o

Tink the light would be more even when it's hung up... :)

Vincent Ho

actually crowded good wat, so that there's a surprise at every corner...:)

in fact, its tougher to make your tank crowded with corals as they sting one another, so takes alot of time to arrange... :bow:

good thing is my MH set can just change the ballast for $20 to use a 400W MH lamp... wahahahaha.... now waiting for my tank to mature and den maybe can try SPS... :)

Vincent Ho