The tank that should have failed

PulposTriste

Exactly as in the title, I'm a complete beginner. My tank is almost 2 months old, a softies dominated, second hand IM Nuvo 10.

20190907_215449.thumb.jpg.e8a13fa94646d6916644ad31f71ff6b4.jpg

I don't use RODI water like everyone says, only dechlorinated SG tap water and Red Sea Black bucket salt.

I don't run a chiller or a fan either, the temperature can even swing up to 30°C occasionally.

I just top up manually every other day, sometimes even forgetting to do so. The salinity can range from 1.024 to 1.027

I don't dose anything, or test for anything. Its starting to even have some small coraline growth.

20190907_215633.thumb.jpg.42884db64ba5d1d031a64553693b383f.jpg

As for lighting I just used a the stock IM Skyye 8w light that came with the tank, not the best but it allowed my corals to grow. My zoas and all corals are growing and opening up nicely. I even have a montipora digitata frag in there that's growing faster then I expected, even after I accidentally broke it into small 1cm pieces

There's even a small rock flower anemone that never moved from it's spot, which kinda shocked me since I was worried it would one day venture into my powerhead.

I also run a protein skimmer, just the IM Desktop ghost skimmer, it does release a bit of bubbles occasionally but it's not the worse, I do get some tea coloured skimmate.

I do have a small refugium for chaeto though, it's just a small air driven breeder box with a cheap LED light but the chaeto growth is insane. Same goes for the pods population, I'm even considering to get a Mandarin goby haha

20190907_215547.thumb.jpg.ff517e27b0fde560e86a20c9023a9a16.jpg

But of course, I'm not spared from algae growth, though it's not as bad as I thought. It's mostly kept under control by my astrea snails. It recently got better ever since I started running phosguard. There's also this rock covered in a sort of macroalgae and my orange yuumas that looks way better under actinic.