Mel's 4' x 2' x 2' Tank

Melvyn Tan

• Replies 608

Er, what lightings are you running now? :)

T5s :( but if i get i'll just get a piece to try out...anyway this friend of mine who cultures corals only uses T5s, no chillers, no skimmers Strange isn't it ???

In fact understood that more advance reefing like those in Jap magazine are feeding corals and dependence on lighting somehow becomes lesser in importance....food for thought.....some experts are telling me reefing in Singapore are way behind.... :pinch:<_<

cultures corals only uses T5s, no chillers, no skimmers Strange isn't it ???

uses T5: possible if enough PAR is garnered from the appropriate amount of T5s used and tank depth factor.

no chillers: possible if the location and ambient temperature does not go pass the threshold that the coral can withstand.

no skimmers: possible if low bioload or there are other methods of nutrient reduction/removal

so all in all, not strange to me ;) all the above can be used if other conditions are met.

but if you tell me using T5s when the tank is 3ft deep or more....no chillers when the user is actually in middle east and no skimmers when there are tons of waste contributing organisms in the system.... then i would be very surprised and find it very strange ;)

yeah...some japanese have very nice looking barebottom, shallow sps tanks that are really out of this world.

Hahahha....nothing to say to you :rolleyes: careful balance is important but there is something slightly more to it....(dun ask me i dunno)

hey mel

a friend of mine had an sps once to try try and when the sps died, some of his lps bleached and afew quite badly

he blames it on the sps releasing toxins

i can't vouch for the truth in that but it sth worth your attention

Thanks....yeah i know...when sps rtn and tissues fly around it is like bombs flying around :lol:

good fengshui? :lol:

Yeah lah that must be it !!!!! no wonder your fishes so fat fat !!! actually fengshui would mean the fishes under whose hands and also corals under whose hands to be taken care of... :D nothing of that superstition but purely knowledge and care...

there are really alot of factors out there....

just like i have seen tanks of identical specs/equipment but end up in totally different directions....not in reefing styles i mean...but one ended in "tragedy" while the other doing well.

so besides having different owners, i guess the fengshui is one of the other factors resulting in the different results...hehe

but like you said "knowledge and care", probaby that's one big factor that differentiates the 2 owners and thus their 2 tanks :lol:

Thats why your AT is well-endowed and others "sway sar pan" clothes washing board (literal translation) :lol::lol::lol:

My powder blue is also well endowed - pardon me no silicon implants hor :lol:

can tell from your powder blue pics that the body very round round.....

very well done bro :)

will celebrate 1 year old tankhood for my AT on 1st April 2005 (no joke :P )

maybe blend some nice fishfood and dry under the sun compacted in a cake shape and let my AT feast on it... :lol:

okok...keep up the good work melvyn ;)

Thanks Roidan....remember to pass a piece of the cake to me hor, from your place to mine just a bridge across only hehhehe....

Spend all your time waiting

for that second chance

for a break that would make it okay

there's always one reason

to feel not good enough

and it's hard at the end of the day

I need some distraction

oh beautiful release

memory seeps from my veins

let me be empty

and weightless and maybe

I'll find some peace tonight

in the arms of an angel

fly away from here

from this dark cold hotel room

and the endlessness that you fear

you are pulled from the wreckage

of your silent reverie

you're in the arms of the angel

may you find some comfort there

Another song dedicated to all the beautiful angels !!! (both human and fishes)

There are 2 songs on angels - one above and the other some pages before, whoever can name the singer correctly gets an "angel" promise !!!

mel

y is sps tissue flying around so damaging?

Ermmm....let me ask Angel Gabriel or Angel Stripperella (by Pam Anderson - a dunno what to say kind of show :lol: )

Both will give different answers which one you want? :lol:

Angel Gabriel - "son...when you see what happens in the city of sodom and gomorrah in your tank...remember to remind your corals to leave just as Lot left..."

Angel Stripperella - "son...when you put it in just as when you decidedly puts in a puffer fish in the tank...remember the burst can be decidingly of pleasure and of pain...*crying out* :cry: panting *arghhhhhh !!* :evil:"

OIC, So I presume you dun believe in FengShui. :D

By the way, saw you post regarding the CL650 erratic turning on and off, I am experieneceing it too today. The temp was 30 degrees and the chiller still diam diam and after 5 minutes then it run like hell! :angry:

Erm....fengshui is something i find it difficult to understand

The CL650 will only turn on after about a few mins when it reaches the desired temperature.

Glad that the Acanthurus Japonicus is ok !!! thanks to your reminder of using a mirror to direct the attention of my PBT....that bugger has been relentlessly fighting its own reflection from this morning till now.

Got 2 pieces of Florida Rics...waiting for it to settle down.

wa

u got yrself 2 flor rics??

wat colour?

photos?

wat price can pm me pls?

Pm'ed u

I will be watching this space for the rics you bought today. Don't disappoint me, my wife and my son..... ;)

bro....no offence or anything...but u not scared your fishes have very high class taste???

there is always a spare tank for his fish and corals