Just Got a 4" x 2" x 2"

YzF

Hi all reefers here, i just got myself a 4 ft tank with sump. I have 2 tank presently. one 2 footer and a 4ft fowler. As none of them have a sump, i need a lot of help in setting this new tank up.

Spec:-

4" x 2" x 2"

2" sump

Hood with 2 FL mount on it presently.

post-34-1089829942.jpg

• Replies 166

As i got this 2nd hand from a Aro keeper, there's a lot of changes to be made.

Problem that i see so far:

- The pipings seem to be small?

- the return outlet in the first picture, is at the bottom.

- if i were to change the piping to bigger diameter, what will happen to the part where it is silicon to the tank (at the overflow bottom)? will it fit?

- What return pump to use? Eheim 1260?

- The pipings seem to be small?

- the return outlet in the first picture, is at the bottom.

- if i were to change the piping to bigger diameter, what will happen to the part where it is silicon to the tank (at the overflow bottom)? will it fit?

- What return pump to use? Eheim 1260?

1. The pipings seem to be small?

2. the return outlet in the first picture, is at the bottom.

3. if i were to change the piping to bigger diameter, what will happen to the part where it is silicon to the tank (at the overflow bottom)? will it fit?

4. What return pump to use? Eheim 1260?

1. The pipings seem to be small?

2. the return outlet in the first picture, is at the bottom.

3. if i were to change the piping to bigger diameter, what will happen to the part where it is silicon to the tank? will it fit to the new diameter?

4. What return pump to use? Eheim 1260?

Actually this is the pic at the seller's place. I will be placing it in my living room. No direct sunlight.

I plan to keep a mix reef. So i can keep every type of corals i like.

My plan now is

1. to Diy the lights in the hood to T5s. 2 x T5 or 4 x T5?

2. Diy a fan to cool system. Dun know if to invest in a chiller.

3. Buy a good skimmer. Marco?

4. Reinstall pipings. But afraid will have problems at the return output and at the base of the overflow.(see pic 1)

5. Buy a good return pump.

Are there any prob with the sump design?

Hi all reefers here, i just got myself a 4 ft tank with sump. I have 2 tank presently. one 2 footer and a 4ft fowler. As none of them have a sump, i need a lot of help in setting this new tank up.

Spec:-

4" x 2" x 2"

2" sump

Hood with 2 FL mount on it presently.

What are you going to put in a 4"x2"x2"tank and a 2"sump?????

4" - 4inch

2" - 2inch

So small, put what????? :P:P:P:P

I would reckon its 4' x 2' x 2' with 1 2' sump.

If you need any help you can always PM me or you can view my thread for some ideas :eyebrow:

http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=18924

Less than $200. the Resun one.

Less than 200 bucks... humm.. Where to get?

For the T5 tubes, where to get beside Glare?

Plan to get a Tunze also. 6060 good enough? :erm:

Feel so excited over the whole thing :yeah: Lots of work left to be done...

Thanks for all the advices given so far!! :bow:

One more thing, do you all think its ok to mount a MH bulb on the hood? Will burn the hood? STill dun know wan to run T5 or MH.. Wan to try SPS leh.. :unsure:

Can i ask you bros out there, what diameter of piping commonly used? Plan to redo all pipings.

My return piping is 20mm at sump area.

My overflow piping at sump is 25mm.

Now, is there any fixed diameter to follow? So that i can install skimmer or chiller in the future? :unsure:

Can i ask you bros out there, what diameter of piping commonly used? Plan to redo all pipings.

My return piping is 20mm at sump area.

My overflow piping at sump is 25mm.

Now, is there any fixed diameter to follow? So that i can install skimmer or chiller in the future? :unsure:

imo u need a "strong" pump if want the pump to drive ur return skimmer n chiller....wich i tink is :blink::blink: ..better to use individual imo B)

its also abit troublesome to integrate all 3 in 1....unless u can get some1 who can do proper piping layout for u...

get a sump as big as u can IMO....n mayb divide into 4 parts(overflow,skimmer, ref,return)

if stil getting t5 for ur tank...not sure 4 t5 enough or not.....me using 6 t5 for my 3x2x2....n stil planning to make it 8 :ph34r:

YzF,

20mm for return should be good enough for a 4ft tank. You can connect it to a Resun MD55 or Eheim 1262. My worry is that your overflow pipe 25mm is too small for any high volume flow. Mine for 6ft tank is 40mm. Since marine tank and fresh water tank are very different in the flow rate, for marine tank, it is best to be at least 6-8 times the turn over rate of the main tank. You may find that the 25mm overflow may become your bottleneck.

If you have any other question, just shoot. :)

imo u need a "strong" pump if want the pump to drive ur return skimmer n chiller....wich i tink is :blink::blink: ..better to use individual imo B)

its also abit troublesome to integrate all 3 in 1....unless u can get some1 who can do proper piping layout for u...

get a sump as big as u can IMO....n mayb divide into 4 parts(overflow,skimmer, ref,return)

if stil getting t5 for ur tank...not sure 4 t5 enough or not.....me using 6 t5 for my 3x2x2....n stil planning to make it 8 :ph34r:

i am thinking that i run 4 t5 first. i feel that with the lightings, i should be able to keep some LPS with DSB of about 4-5" (inch) :heh:

Maybe i will add another 2 MH in the later part. Dun know 250w or 150w better also <_<

Then maybe a chiller together with the MH... Big hole liao.. :cry2:

Just measured my sump. 76cm x 37 cm x 38cm (LxBxH).

Water Level will be at 20 cm.

Sump area is 78cm high and 120cm wide.

Dunt know about the rest, but if i couls start over. i will go for Bare Bottom tank... you cant keep certain gobies but less maintenance and potential risk w/o sand. will look weird w/o sand but its a trade-off i guess. up to you on what matters more to you..