Brine Shrimp Eggs not hatching

dradttg

Dear all,

I have been bubbling brine shrimp eggs in salinity 1.02 salt water for more than 48 hours but none of the eggs has hatched.

The instruction on the bottle says that light is required but I remember seeing a LFS cultivating brine shrimp without specifically shinning a light on the brine shrimp.

I am using natural light and living room light on my.

Could lighting be the problem?

Thank you.

I hatch brine shrimp daily. I did not use any special light.

From what I know, if the eggs are poor quality - it will not hatch. If the eggs are fresh and are well kept, it will hatch within 12 hrs depending on temperature. ;)

I hatch brine shrimp daily. I did not use any special light.

From what I know, if the eggs are poor quality - it will not hatch. If the eggs are fresh and are well kept, it will hatch within 12 hrs depending on temperature. ;)

Thanks bro.

Must be the cheapo eggs that I am using. :P

I will monitor for another 1 to 2 days and see how.

I bought my seven months ago from Watercircle (when they are still doing retail).

I kept it in the fridge and take it out to every other day and it still hatch me tons of BBS.

I bought my seven months ago from Watercircle (when they are still doing retail).

I kept it in the fridge and take it out to every other day and it still hatch me tons of BBS.

That's great leh.

My vaccum sealed for freshness somemore. :(

How do you do it?

Dust the eggs from the bottle into the BBS hatchery and harvest 12 to 14hrs later loh?

Actually a container with salt water will do.

Mine is a commercial made one. I can't remember what brand, name or price. But mine is just a Black colored tray with a opening at the centre with a smal strainer cup. So when the eggs hatches, the BBS will swim towards light and in this case towards the centre of the tray. So what I do is just lift up the cup and I have a cup full of BBS minus water & deritus.

Actually a container with salt water will do.

Mine is a commercial made one. I can't remember what brand, name or price. But mine is just a Black colored tray with a opening at the centre with a smal strainer cup. So when the eggs hatches, the BBS will swim towards light and in this case towards the centre of the tray. So what I do is just lift up the cup and I have a cup full of BBS minus water & deritus.

Cheers,

OK, will post on monday.

Cheers,

My Brine Shrimp Hatchery. Bought from Watercircle previously can't remember how much liao.

This is the top view without cover. In the centre is a white strainer / collection cup.

post-57-1093225160.jpg

This is the top view with the cover.

Notice once the cover is on, only the center portion of the hatchery is exposed to light. This will lure the BBS to swin towards the centre whereby we can simply lift the collection cup in order to harvest the BBS.

post-57-1093225360.jpg

Cannot lah. Cuz very high ammonia and nitrites due to the eggs shells starting to bio degrade.

What I do is to whenever, I am mixing water for my main display, I will mix extra and store them in 1.25l bottle to be use for the hatchery. ;)

So can you managed to find the hatchery?

Most LFS will carry them. Got Ang Mo brand, got China brand, of course China brand cheaper but they say hatch rate very low.

Anyone got lobang where to get this hatchery? Is watercircle still selling? I'm interested to use this. Less troublesome separating the BBS from the egg shells. Urgently looking for one.