Tangs tat get too aggressive!

My AT and PBT whack MI, butterflies, angels...etc. Wat do u guys think.....any bro or sis out there experiencein aggressive tangs tat r nt only hostile to its own kind but other species as well. :pinch:

yes my sailfin tang is aggressive whenever a new fish gets introduced. The cure & it works all the time= catch it out n put into sump or quarantine for a week & then back in. Frdly again hahaha

try this...

get the cheap bathroom mirrors... place it facing your tank. try to cover the whole tank with the mirrors.

my power blue tang whacked one of the new comer(another tang) and it almost died. the PBT is very smart. the moment i put my net into the water, it will hide.

I bought 8 pieces of mirrors and place it facing the tank for 3days. PBT busy fighting with itself while the new comer is able to settle down.

now they are no longer fighting.

yes my sailfin tang is aggressive whenever a new fish gets introduced. The cure & it works all the time= catch it out n put into sump or quarantine for a week & then back in. Frdly again hahaha

both of my sailfins very docile...don't fight new fishes

perhaps different fishes got different character

or its prob because my tank has lots of fishes so i guess the tangs have learnt to coexist with other fishes.

just my opinion :)

oh, sth else to add, when i intro my yellow tang 3 mths after the sailfins have been in the tank, i put it in a betta box for 1-2days first and let the sailfins get used to it

after i release it, slight fighting only for 5mins.

perhaps this method works.

again, just my opinion :)

well....most of u guys experienced fight betw resident tang and newly intro tang> tats common coz everybody knws tat oldies will be aggressive to newbies. But as for my case, whack MI, angels, butterflies (they r not tangs :lol: ). There is a sayin tat if u feed ur dog raw bloody meat will make them very fierce....hmm.....

wonder wat did DB feed his PBT last time :P

well it really depend on how u intro the fish, my fish even though in a small tank, they dun really fight, they graze together...

Size does matter too...

wow...u gt special intro technique?

me newbie u c :paiseh: ....so do let us in on ur secret method of introducin fish so tat we can learn. :whistle

R there technique 123...e.g

special intro technique 1 for tangs only,

special intro technique 2 for angels only,

special intro technique 3 for butterflies only.....etc

btw, u mentioned "they dun really fight" meanin:

1. they dun fight at all.

2. they fight occassionally or ???? :rolleyes:

And size does matter??? meanin smaller size wun bully bigger size fish? :rolleyes:

me newbie u c :paiseh: ....so do let us in on ur secret method of introducin fish so tat we can learn. :whistle

And size does matter??? meanin smaller size wun bully bigger size fish? :rolleyes:

u are a AT specialist leh, with ur nice AT how can say newbie...

i am newbie :paiseh:

thinking better dun comment too much..

so sorry, for my, they fight when there is food droping from my feeder...

from observatins,

we should introduce

1. butterflies/ MI/AT

2. tang

3 angel

4. trigger

then will b fine :yeah:

from observatins,

we should introduce

1. butterflies/ MI/AT

2. tang

3 angel

4. trigger

then will b fine :yeah:

oh really, :rolleyes: intro butterflies, MI then AT then bla bla bla huh?

paiseh huh...me still new to marine u c, juz started keepin tangs 2 wks ago :whistle ....so may i ask.....frm whose observation u derive the abv equation frm? :huh:

So we intro butterflies frm the Chaetodontidae family then follow by MI which is the only member of the zanclidae family and a very close relative of the tang/surgeon and then we intro the AT which is frm the Acanthuridae family. Followin tat....u mentioned intro members of the Acanthuridae family again. So isn't AT member of the Acanthuridae family as well? and wun the AT harrass the other new tangs tat is goin to be added after the AT?

btw...my AT is the resident tang follow by other LS. ;)