stock market

Nic a Jon

for those interested in shares investment

Sembcorp marine....immediate target $2.70....medium term $3.11

Sing Petroleum Co...immediate $5.20-5.25 (reached)....medium term $6.08

Starhub....medium term $1.90

the above prices for the S stocksare calls by investment banks, hedge funds, and stk brokers

cheers ;)

na......putting those forecast in shareinvestor.com ..will have no effect in prices,

becos most pp wont believe and more over prices are already so high.

Just talk talk to some stock brokers the other day...that the run up of STI index from 1500 to 2200 ....trading of shares did not involved much of public interest, tho there were some real investor out there. mostly involved were hedge funds and in-house traders who traded in and out. I wud hence think that the public out there is not heavily long on stocks. I only worry when everyone out there says buy...like back in 1997 and 2000.

Take note on Sembcorp as well......my customer, a friend, in Sembcorp E&C told me that Sembawang have sold off quite a bit of asset thus very cash rich....... ;)

Sigh!....if I have not stuck myself with some other counters, I would have chiong liao!...... <_<

Now waiting for the second liner to chiong!....kekeke :lol:

May the force be with us.......... :evil:

Starhub ..was forecasted to go $1.60 by some investment house when its was $1.20..becos earnings started coming in. I did invest in some at $1.25.

When it hit $1.55-1.60 UBS calling for $1.90....last week i think it did hit $1.75.

As to chun bo?? If really so chun then I will sell house and load up on a good stk.

Thats why i suggested investing and not speculating. Be prepare to pick up stock if need to instead of contra gains/losses. and buy on pull backs. ;)

14:50 24Jun2005 RTRS-Singapore rig makers ride high on oil price boom

By Ovais Subhani

SINGAPORE, June 24 (Reuters) - The surge in crude oil prices is carving out an unexpected new profile for Southeast Asia's financial capital Singapore -- as home to the world's top building yards for offshore oil rigs.

After a 20-year lull, exploration companies are scouring the deep waters again, sparking a boom in offshore drilling and filling the order books of rig-building yards Keppel Corp. <KPLM.SI> and Sembcorp Marine <SCMN.SI>.

NYMEX crude oil for delivery in August <CLc1> touched a high of $60 a barrel on Friday.

"This could be the beginning of a new boom in offshore rig building and it seems Sembcorp Marine and Keppel Corp are well positioned to ride this wave," said Nicholas Yeo, who manages part of Aberdeen Asset Investment's $15 billion in Asia and is invested in both companies.

Analysts say the two Singapore firms have the field pretty much to themselves as rig-builders in the United States -- once dominant global players -- have mostly disappeared as the sector was starved of investment after a boom in the late 1970s.

Singapore yards stayed focused even when the pickings were thin, moved up the technological curve to take the lead in shallow water jack-up rigs, and survived the lull in offshore drilling by building, converting and repairing ships and rigs.

GLOBAL LEAD

The closest U.S. rival is driller Rowan Cos. Inc's <RDC.N> LeTourneau Inc. But the three jack-up rigs LeTourneau is now building are all for its parent.

Yards in Japan and Korea, like Hyundai Heavy Co. <009540.KS>, are more focused on shipbuilding, while newer low-cost yards in China and Vietnam are behind in the learning curve, analysts say.

JP Morgan analyst Winnifred Heap estimates Singapore yards have about 80 percent of new orders globally and their market leadership is secure.

Of 32 jack-up rigs currently being built around the world, 25 of them are in Singapore yards, analysts said.

And of the 5 deep-water semi-submersible rigs, which are 4-5 times the cost of a jack-up rig, two are being built by Sembcorp Marine, two by Keppel Corp. and one by Korea's Samsung Heavy Industries <010140.KS>.

Jack-up rigs are mobile drilling rigs with legs that can be extended so the rig is above the water. Semi-submersibles, also mobile, drill in much deeper waters, held in place by huge anchors, partially submerged and floating above the drill site.

PRICE UPGRADES

"Given the current tight semi-sub market and renewed interest in new builds, such unique expertise could prove to be extremely lucrative," said Cheryl Lee, analyst at Merrill Lynch.

The share prices of Sembcorp Marine and Keppel Corp. have risen in tandem to reflect that optimism.

Sembcorp Marine shares have jumped 88 percent so far this year and are up 172 percent over the last 12 months. Keppel Corp. has gained 50 percent and 81 percent in the same periods. The main Straits Times Index <.STI> is up 7 percent this year.

Good news keeps gushing even as some analysts fear the yards are nearing capacity constraints and their share price valuations start to look expensive.

Sembcorp Marine set a new high of S$2.64 on Friday as it surprised sceptics earlier this week with new orders worth S$1.5 billion, taking its total order book to S$5.1 billion.

Keppel's book stands at S$6.6 billion and its shares also hit a new high on Friday, of S$12.80.

Lee of Merrill Lynch raised her Sembcorp Marine price target by 18 percent to S$2.70, while Citigroup's Kevin Chong upgraded his target to S$3.11, from S$2.44.

JP Morgan's Heap, who has a target of S$15 for Keppel Corp., said yard capacity was not yet a limiting factor, given Keppel could leverage on its network of 16 shipyards in 7 countries.

Sembcorp Marine has 7 yards, 4 in Singapore and one each in China, Indonesia and Brazil.

NOT EXPENSIVE AS YET

Yeo of Aberdeen said the two stocks' valuations give little guidance as the strong flow of new orders continues to boost earnings estimates.

In the FTSE Engineering World Index, shares in Keppel Corp., valued at $6 billion, trade at 18 times forecast earnings, cheaper than the sector average of 39.5 times. Sembcorp Marine, valued at just over $2.2 billion, trades at 38.6 times.

"There's more upside for both stocks and even if there is a pull back it will be temporary and may allow an entry point for long-term, institutional investors," said Yeo.

Keppel Corp.'s full-year net profit is expected to increase by around a fifth to S$557 million, according to Reuters Estimates, while profit at Sembcorp Marine is forecast around 42 percent higher at S$135 million.

((Editing by Ian Geoghegan; Reuters Messaging: ovais.subhani.reuters.com@reuters.net; +65 6870 3094)) .

For Related News, Double Click on one of these codes:

[E] [sI] [J] [O] [PSC] [RNP] [DNP] [PCO] [PEN] [PCU] [OIL] [sG] [ASIA] [CN] [KR] [VN] [JP] [uS] [MAC] [ENR] [RESF] [LEN] [RTRS] [KPLM.SI] [sCMN.SI] [RDC.N] [009540.KS] [010140.KS]

For Relevant Price Information, Double Click on one of these codes:

<KPLM.SI> <SCMN.SI> <RDC.N> <009540.KS> <010140.KS>

Friday, 24 June 2005 14:50:28RTRS [nSIN57411] {EN}ENDS

Any of the stocks of the developers partnering for the IR/Casino will be a good and safe bet, usually mid year prices are lower - so can buy.

Anyone here invest in commodity - physical gold?

"I will tell you the secret of getting rich in Wall Street. You try to be greedy when others are fearful, and you try to be very fearful when others are greedy"

A quote from the best: Warren Buffett

If you have the money, just sit tight and wait for the next crash. Patience is the game. ;)

"I will tell you the secret of getting rich in Wall Street. You try to be greedy when others are fearful, and you try to be very fearful when others are greedy"

A quote from the best: Warren Buffett

If you have the money, just sit tight and wait for the next crash. Patience is the game. ;)

Agreed with WeiSoon....got money wait...but dun wait too long.

Coz my understanding the earliest crash that i know of is 1985, 1994 and 2000 (end)...

The boom is 1989, 1993(spore GOVT encourage buying share, oso KLSE Cheong) and 1997(Internet blooming with 2000 bugs).

As for now, market is picking up, but since Oil price going up, many share drop....:(

my 2 cents of thoughts....

Hope you win money and invest in your reef equipment

warren buffet also said "sit on ur winning position"

as long as the market is bullish, continue to be long.

Long oil stocks and oil rigs stocks as oil is going hit the roof - investment houses like Jp morgan and Goldman sachs calling for near to US 100 / barrel for crude.

buy US $ and sell Gold

more concern about petrol prices lolx ~

Go green. Don't drive and you won't be worried about petrol pricing. Won't end up adding to air pollution too. A bicycle is a very common alternative to many people who don't drive. :)

good news for those for are long sembcorp marine.

price at $2.84 up 20cents (+7.2pct) today. :P:D:yeah:

next target about $3

sharks have not read my 10K form yet :cry:

Wow..:yeah: ..so u must be loaded now....

So u r the long lost Stock Guru.... :bow:

Any stocks upcoming.....

hey bro dont like that say leh....me no guru lah :paiseh:

just wanted to share some good tips with fellow reefers when see spmething good :rolleyes:

i have been interested in these few for last half year esp sembcorp marine and SPC becos they are oil related. ...and i'm bullish oil price.