Travy's 90 Gallon

Travy

Finally got hold of a Digicam.

After a long wait... <_<

Anyway, caught up by the trend and decide to start a thread to track my new tank.

Here are the specs:

Main Tank: 3ft (36") X 2ft (24") X 2ft (24")

That totals up to abt 90 US gallons.

With a triangular shaped overflow/underflow system.

Sump: 2ft (24") X 2ft (24") X 1ft (12")

Totals abt... approx.. 25 gallons? Abt there. Came up with my own wacky design after 'taking reference' from Blue heaven and other bros/sis here. :P

Oh and do excuse the badly taking pics... Tried my best... Slow reflex, shaky hands and not so good camera la. :lol:

My main tank pic.

post-34-1122043066.jpg

• Replies 149

My sump. ;)

Intend to fill it with Live rocks and prob hav an area for Injured or sick corals...

Ya ya... anticipating that yeah.... <_<

post-34-1122043423.jpg

After finishing most of the work, had a piece of egg crate and some pipes left.

So decide to do a plenum system to my new set up... Got some tip from bro rav65 too ;)

Stuff used,

Egg crate, (dont ask abt the shape... levt over mah.)---> $18

3ftx2ft Nylon netting ----> $6

Pipes ----> dunno... <_<

Cable ties and fishing lines to put everything together---> free (Happen to find them ard...) :lol:

And the result.

post-34-1122044176.jpg

And how it looks like in my set up... This pic havent put the nylon yet...

But rest assured... Grade 0 sand cant go thru. B)

post-34-1122044259.jpg

Got some tips from bro loster. :lol:

Bought some Dead rocks from fresh water farms and reborn to be used as a foundation. And guess after some time, bacteria colonisation and algae growth.. will prob look the same as LRs. ;)

A couple of months, maybe 6... but hey...Why not? Not in a hurry and...

So much cheaper man!

Left them in pails of water (Water used to test leaks) for almost a week liao.. coz did found some dead sponges and stuff... (Wanna make sure they are more or less clean B4 i put them into the tank to begin salt water cycle with LRs) ... no time to do much abt them also... need to work.. gym... computer... :P

post-34-1122045107.jpg

Guess thats abt all for now... Can only do most of the stuff on weekends. Since everyday work at 0730 and back home at abt 2000... :snore:

Will try to get the cam and update again.

Meanwhile... My babies from my current 2 feet.

(Did i mention slow reflex, shaky hands and 'not so good' digicam?)

Big difference with and without flash... :nc:

post-34-1122045451.jpg

Only have four fishes in my 2ft.

- Paired clowns. (Dont care true or false, they are my babies and thats that! :pirate: )

- YT (Greedy crazy fellow, still remember how it refused to eat for almost a week when i first got it.)

- Lastly a Strawberry dottyback. (Full of character... :rolleyes: )

IMO together their colors compliments each other brillantly. Cant get them all together though... dottyback shy.... :paiseh:

On top of that are the inverts and LPS.

- 3 Pratas (one bleached... trying to nurse it back)

- Some yumas

- Metallic green and pink tip frog spawn

- Cream Purple center Goniopora

- Light green alveopora

- Green bubbles

- Some blastos

Of course non which can compare... so better keep...

More of my babies

post-34-1122046172.jpg

SMILE!!!

Color pales out... shocked by the camera, never seen b4 la :P

post-34-1122046335.jpg

Lastly my cannot make it yumas....

Dunno why the color doesnt seems to show up... hmmm maybe no color to

begin with? :P

Abit la... one is purple and green, one green and orange

and one green and pink... :upsidedown:

Thats for now... Anything shoot shoot... try to answer.

TOmorrow have to buy LRs... hook up chiller... put sand and base rocks into

the tank... fil with water... then... wait... :snore:

post-34-1122046679.jpg

looking good :lol: more pix :rolleyes:

Woah so fast post halfway u reply liao... :lol:

hahaha... see, i keep a look up for your tank pix... finally see it now :rolleyes:

Woah... :lol:

Not much now la. Havent even start cycle yet.

Doing it slow, making sure that i have everything i wanted in it. (Also... financial liquidity la...)

The last thing i wanna do is to strip down that tank to make changes... <_<

HAHA! Will try to get some more pics soon.

plan for bare bottom tank or what ...keep update your tank,,happy reefing

:D:D

Nah not bare bottom.

Plenum cant work without sandbed. Will prob have about 2-3" of grade zeros on top of it. ;)

Nah not bare bottom.

Plenum cant work without sandbed. Will prob have about 2-3" of grade zeros on top of it. ;)

finally yr tank is up......dun forget wat u owe me ar......i'm still waiting hor....anyway keep the pics coming.

HAHAHA! OKOK! NO PROB!

ANyway, been 'working' since 9am till now. :pinch:

Sand rocks all in... decom my 2feet, only left fishes and corals had transferred the rest over. Yt looks stunned... hahaha!

Found a huge worm when i remove the sandbed!!!! Think its a fire worm, has bunches of red hair along it body.

14inches long!!! i kid u not guys! Freaky thinkin that i was happily stirring the sandbed few seconds b4... :erm:

Dose it in fresh water :evil: Died immediatly... now in my plant pot. Wait for my mom to see this evening. :evil::evil::lol:

Again no cam.. or else can take and we all can compare... see who's big. :erm::lol:

Now going Reborn, get some more LRs and some salt. Salt not enuff! Underestimated. Now tank only abt 4/5 full and the sump is still empty!

Back.

Been abt a week since i updated.

And now... TA DAR!!!!

Decide on maximum open areas for my tangs.

So gone with two piles of rocks. One Main pile against the right corner of my tank and another 'vertical cliff'. :D

post-34-1122799081.jpg

Close up on the right "formation".

Its basically an empty shell. Arrange it in such a way so it has the 3 dimensional look and also maximize various tunnels, hide aways, sleeping holes... playing holes for my fishes. ;)

post-34-1122799603.jpg

The left.

'La vertikal kliff' :lol:

Wanted this look, and searched high and low for LRs that can do it. Found it and paid quite alot for them...

post-34-1122799744.jpg

Another full tank... Or rather... 1/5 full tank...

Lacking more visible and advance lifeforms... <_<

Excuse the greenish MH light. Looked a tab too yellowish... but havent the

slightest idea why it turned out as it is in the picture.

Also, got the bulb from a friend. used till cannot use liao.

Waiting for my BLV14K... :lol:

post-34-1122800164.jpg

Heres My MH.

Got it dirt cheap from a friend. Sand it a little, Rewire a little... spray paint a little...

Do the reflectors abit (Thanks Haanzii ;) )...

Now look like new... (Relative la... Looks much newer then when i first got it definately!) :ph34r:

Just imagine it covered in rust... no reflectors... wires all come out and stuff... :sick:

post-34-1122800572.jpg