RAV-65's Reef Haven...

RAV-65

Intend to do the rails like you did bro... this one u really need to help me out ah!! :D

Buy you prata lah... <---- most famous tagline lately! :D

Hey! No problem man. Just let me know and I can bring you shopping for the aluminium rails and beams! ;):D

48x30x27' Tank. Beckett Skimmer. Deltec PF600s. RM FR Pro. DE 250Wx2. DE T5 39Wx4. Tunze 7095+6000x2. Sequence DART pumps x2 (1 return+1chiller)

• Replies 370

BTW, u gonna get the luminarcs? ;):P

Good stuff man. Too late the orders and availability came too late. <_<

Nope... not using Luminarcs.... going for Aqualight pendant... :) and a mixture of T5s...

So... ONZ!!! will go shopping with you when I'm ready to do the lighting rails... ;)

Nope... not using Luminarcs.... going for Aqualight pendant... :) and a mixture of T5s...

So... ONZ!!! will go shopping with you when I'm ready to do the lighting rails... ;)

ok. :P

48x30x27' Tank. Beckett Skimmer. Deltec PF600s. RM FR Pro. DE 250Wx2. DE T5 39Wx4. Tunze 7095+6000x2. Sequence DART pumps x2 (1 return+1chiller)

Another issue brought up :

Seems like the OR6500 may not be powerful enough... den the "Ang Leng" Red Dragon got support issues...

Anyone can advise wat other pumps I can use??? This one really headache... :(

Intend to do the rails like you did bro... this one u really need to help me out ah!! :D

Buy you prata lah... <---- most famous tagline lately! :D

bro....you got loban to do something like light mover?????...something likethis......doesn't look too expensive, but me still looking if anyone carries it locally....guess no one into gardening here.... :P

count me in too.. when will u be shopping for them? me should be lookin for them ard Feb'06... however, if u are getting it earlier, i dun mind joining u guys to look for it... since i'm getting approximately the same size tank as u, 5x2.5x2.5..

now finalising the details n design of the tank..

count me in too.. when will u be shopping for them? me should be lookin for them ard Feb'06... however, if u are getting it earlier, i dun mind joining u guys to look for it... since i'm getting approximately the same size tank as u, 5x2.5x2.5..

now finalising the details n design of the tank..

Sure bro!! Our tank same size leh!! :yeah::yeah:

So we can go together... :)

Another issue brought up :

Seems like the OR6500 may not be powerful enough... den the "Ang Leng" Red Dragon got support issues...

Anyone can advise wat other pumps I can use??? This one really headache... :(

Can try the Sequence series of pumps. So far, the drone very minimal compared to the MAK5 I've tried out. ;)

Izit pressure rated? If not, the head-loss can be very high also...

U got specs on the pump...?? Wattage and flow?

HUH???!!! :shock::shock::shock:

Bro, you wanna live in a reef tank?! :fear::fear:

:D :D :D

Wah.. Beri cold..!! Beri cold!! haha :lol:

i mean the consept of the house lah.. haha.. and the Reef tank.. haha.. :D

nice! :)

just a suggestion, it may not be very practical:

how abt putting ur sump at about the same level of your display tank, prbly next to the side glass and let the water overflow into it. in this way you can really minimise head loss (max 1m). and because you will not have water gushing out of the overflow pipe into the sump under the tank and u shd get less microbubbles. skimming might also improve when the water in the sump is less turbulent. :)

bro....you got loban to do something like light mover?????...something likethis......doesn't look too expensive, but me still looking if anyone carries it locally....guess no one into gardening here.... :P

Bro...

lights mover??? You wan to mimic the sunrise and sun set ah?? Wahaha... :P

actually juz doing a lighting rack whereby I can push the lights one side to access the tank... :P

Daimy068 got a nice one set-up for his tank mah... :)

Wanna go shopping together? :P

what's your problem actually?

actually after I posted the graph, den I realised that I read the graph wrongly... thought the head loss was in Feet! :P

Anyway, now trying to find the right return pumps... trying to strike a balance between flow rate and power consumption...

Ideally, would like the turnover from main tank to sump to be about 20 times per hour... That would mean I would need return pumps of at least about 18,000 to 20,000 LPH...

Do you still have the specs for Iwaki MX-70 and MX-100?? Would appreciate if you can post them here... cant seem to find the thread... :)

because you will not have water gushing out of the overflow pipe into the sump under the tank and u shd get less microbubbles. skimming might also improve when the water in the sump is less turbulent. :)

Micro bubbles due to water coming down from overflow box can be solved easily.

nice! :)

just a suggestion, it may not be very practical:

how abt putting ur sump at about the same level of your display tank, prbly next to the side glass and let the water overflow into it. in this way you can really minimise head loss (max 1m). and because you will not have water gushing out of the overflow pipe into the sump under the tank and u shd get less microbubbles. skimming might also improve when the water in the sump is less turbulent. :)

Wah...

not a bad idea... but having any form of gravity feed would be tough... also, my house not so big leh... how to have one 5 feet tank and one 4 feet tank side by side?? But I must admit it seems a good idea! :P

There you go.

http://www.iwakiwalchem.com/iwaki/Literatu...X/MX70specs.pdf

For your return pump, have you considered the iwaki too? MD40R(X) sounds like good deal and is pretty cheap (less than SG$300) in HK. Have you heard of iwaki breaking down? Yes maybe after many years of operation.

http://www.iwakiwalchem.com/iwaki/Literatu..._WMD/MD3040.pdf

There you go.

http://www.iwakiwalchem.com/iwaki/Literatu...X/MX70specs.pdf

For your return pump, have you considered the iwaki too? MD40R(X) sounds like good deal and is pretty cheap (less than SG$300) in HK. Have you heard of iwaki breaking down? Yes maybe after many years of operation.

http://www.iwakiwalchem.com/iwaki/Literatu..._WMD/MD3040.pdf

Thanxs bro...

dat's what I'm considering now... use 2x Mx-100 for return pump... minimal headloss, but worried about the power consumption...

Thanxs for the links! ;)