Trigger99 Reef Log

Trigger99

• Replies 58

Thanks for the tip.will look for more powerheads for the tank.

I currently have a powerhead and a seio 820 inside the tank.

Think i need to get my tunze 6060 earlier than i thought.

I have face my seio downwards so that the detrius will be blown towards the tank which i could easily siphon out. If i face them towards the tank, the detrius will be blown under the rocks which will then be inaccessible right?

logical???? :huh:

For my tank, I have 2 tunze covering the top and 1 seio stationed at the bottom of the tank to handle the detrius under the rock.

The trick is not to use the siphon but to have the detrius stirred up so that it can be removed thru your overflow.

Bro better be prepare for your ammonia, nitrite and nitrate to shoot up sky high. Also make sure that your skimmer can take it and perpare lot of carbon. Trust me your water will stink. I try the same thing once mass die off dun dare to put back to main tank, ended up getting new rocks.

Hope this helps good luck to you.

ARhh... had to remove all the rocks and dip them in fresh water :(:pinch: ...... hopefully will get rid of the pest once and for all :evil::evil:

Bro you are killing your live rock by soaking in the fresh water.

Soak them in concentrated salt water to get rid of worms, crabs and others.

Thanks for the compliment huskiesg!

Will take picture once I have tidy up the cabinet.

too embarassed to show it now as it is extremely messy. :paiseh::paiseh:

Here's what i have in there now:

I-Aquatic Ical Cal Reactor 520 (not fired up yet)

I-Aquatic Waste Collector

I-Aquatic Iski Beckett Skimmer 6"x24"

I Aquatic Ifil Fluidised Reactor

Aqualight T5 retrofit 2 sets

A Eheim 1262 return pump

A CO2 tank with JBJ solenoid

Here's what I still need to get: (if anyone wants to let go, please pm me)

Tunze TS07

Chiller

1 MH 150W or 250W

PH controller

======================

Old birds who come across my thread, please help me with my queries please.

Ian's stuffs are top notch, you will not go wrong with it :)

Really admire your dedication and taking out the LR a third time.

Dun worry about the messy sump, I could never keep mine clean when I had a tank :lol: so still waiting for the pics :P:lol:

Life is a Cruel Teacher. It punishes you first and then gives you the lesson

Bro better be prepare for your ammonia, nitrite and nitrate to shoot up sky high. Also make sure that your skimmer can take it and perpare lot of carbon. Trust me your water will stink. I try the same thing once mass die off dun dare to put back to main tank, ended up getting new rocks.

Hope this helps good luck to you.

Bro, r u right..... :(:sick::sick::sick:

stinko...... maybe shld have checked more with you guys before ......

But just could not stand the sight of the mantis and those crabs.

Thus for beginners reading this thread, there are 2 ways (now that I know) to get rid of crabs and pest:

1. increase to extreme salinity

2. leave the rocks in the open air. The crabs and pest will leave the rock to breathe. This might take .5 day - 1 day. You will need to occasionally spray saltwater over the rocks

Anyway, the only good things that turn out are:

1. I got rid of the mantis and the crabs.

2. I get to stress test Ian's products.

See pics below:

The pest $@#$#!@%$#^%&%^*

:angry::angry::angry:

post-34-1129994869.jpg

Think i just lengthen my tank cycling by another 2 weeks :P

My I-ski is still working extremely hard........ :lol::lol: :lol

Luckily i am in no real hurry to set this up and can afford to wait patiently for the tank to gain equilibrium again.....

BTW, it still stinks!!!!! :sick:

post-34-1130073954.jpg

wah. . bbq the crabs k.

ya.... temperally kept one with me. With me for a month liao.... :D

Have been feeding him market prawn... Was told by a LFS helper can feed him crabs to eat...

Wonder u see the recent Japan Hr. They tied a crab in the octo trap to trap octos B)

So dun noe whether these crabs can be feed to tthe octo?

er.... its a common octo found at sea.... dun know its name.... but rescued it from a fisher man whom says might use it for bait to do fishing :o

So ask whther can give me, he says no problem after i told him that I would to rear it... :P

ya.... temperally kept one with me. With me for a month liao.... :D

Have been feeding him market prawn... Was told by a LFS helper can feed him crabs to eat...

Wonder u see the recent Japan Hr. They tied a crab in the octo trap to trap octos B)

So dun noe whether these crabs can be feed to tthe octo?

shld have told me earlier....

the crabs were all dying and the water stink so i threw them away..... :(