Anyone playing Magic?

RAV-65

read in the papers lately that there seems to be alot of people into this card trading game...

Anyone playing it?? Seems interesting to me... can share wat is it all about...? How does the game go??? How many people can play at the same time?

I also saw some starter game pack at a shop for $10.... dat's for one person?? or each person must get one starter pack??

• Replies 60

i USED to play it back in secondary school.. that's like 8-10yrs ago...

it's highly adictive and quite fun... starter packs just get u.. well.. started.. then you need all the expansion packs which cost more.. then there's the card trading etc...

it's fun really... still have my old black drop deck man...

i USED to play it back in secondary school.. that's like 8-10yrs ago...

it's highly adictive and quite fun... starter packs just get u.. well.. started.. then you need all the expansion packs which cost more.. then there's the card trading etc...

it's fun really... still have my old black drop deck man...

Bro... give more info leh... expansion pack 4 wat??

u start of with starter deck.. i think it gives u 45-60 cards forgot already... inside you find the basic cards you need to start off.. but if you ask me it's FAR FAR FAR from enough..

expansion packs are like add-ons... they usually have cards not found in the starter packs (more powerful cards) and as such the packs are more ex.. some expansion packs are more ex than others..

Basically the whole point is to build up a killer deck of cards... cards can range from lands (which give u mana), to enchantments, to creatures, to spells, etc...

Having the right combination of cards is the key to winning... there is a lot of ways you can play with stratergy here and that's where it gets interesting...

Then there's the hunting down of a particular card you really need to finish off your deadly combo... etc etc...

u start of with starter deck.. i think it gives u 45-60 cards forgot already... inside you find the basic cards you need to start off.. but if you ask me it's FAR FAR FAR from enough..

expansion packs are like add-ons... they usually have cards not found in the starter packs (more powerful cards) and as such the packs are more ex.. some expansion packs are more ex than others..

Basically the whole point is to build up a killer deck of cards... cards can range from lands (which give u mana), to enchantments, to creatures, to spells, etc...

Having the right combination of cards is the key to winning... there is a lot of ways you can play with stratergy here and that's where it gets interesting...

Then there's the hunting down of a particular card you really need to finish off your deadly combo... etc etc...

Anywhere where I can read about the game??

Muahaha...

oh boy, that was like 10 years ago when I just started playing magic. makes me sound like an old man but actually not. :lol:

Still have my white winnie and blue counter deck. Anyone interested to have a game or something like a tournment?

Most of my cards are type 2 from revised, legends, arabian nights.. Stop playing after Mirage..

Advice for anyone who want to start on Magic: be prepared to spend a least few hundred bucks just to start with an 'ok' deck. U can venture up to a few thousands $$ but still I think marine fish is still a more ex hobby. Unless u want to order a black lotus or a mox from the states. ;)

zehuan :peace:

haha used to play till tempest expansion came out then i quit liaoz. too time consuming having to think of all the combos and designing a deck.

my decks were land-d and burn deck... heh.. ex hobby.. minimum returns... haha

unlike marine..

wow ... magic ... DB and me used to sit down in some dark corner and play

magic ... like say 10yrs back ... we started during the 3rd ed ... :P

anyway ... magic is 1 of my fav game ... but when player start to take a game

win/lose too seriously, its take out the fun out of the game :(

i juz sold my cap/bloom/stormseeker deck which can dealt >200pts dmg :P

its a fun deck ... and when u pull out the combo ... u can luff evily :evil:

at ur opponent and see him burn to death :P ... this deck winning ratio is

abt 2 win out of 5 :P

another deck I've played is the sand-of-time/taniwa/land-d ... when combo out,

see opponent jaw drop :P

part of the fun in magic is building the deck and cutomise and fine-tune it to

ur playing style ... there's so many way to win a game ...

- land destruction (no mana to cast spell)

- drop deck (take card out of players hand)

- library death

- death by creature (either swarm by winnies and 1 BIG bugger etc)

- burn deck (kill by damage dealing spell)

each expansion pack with intro new cards and/or re-print some cards from

older edition.

there's so many ways to build ur deck, that's y u need to get the cards u

want for ur deck. That's when the card trading/buy/sell comes in. part

of the fun part of magic is the process of getting the cards u want :P

like cheonging lfs like that lor

min deck size is 60 cards (i think) ... u can only have 4 of the same card type,

except land cards ... hence, u had to fine tune ur deck such that u can pull

off ur combo in the shortest time.

each expansion pack with intro new cards and/or re-print some cards from

older edition.

there's so many ways to build ur deck, that's y u need to get the cards u

want for ur deck. That's when the card trading/buy/sell comes in. part

of the fun part of magic is the process of getting the cards u want :P

like cheonging lfs like that lor

min deck size is 60 cards (i think) ... u can only have 4 of the same card type,

except land cards ... hence, u had to fine tune ur deck such that u can pull

off ur combo in the shortest time.

Combo? With large fries and drinks ah???

Tell me more leh... I totally dunno anything about the game.... wats a combo ah?? :P

every deck will have a "combo", eg a winnie deck is a deck that

can summon out a lot of small casting cost creatures to swam

ur opponent. with this in mind, u had to think of

- how to get the most mana (for casting spell/summon creatue) in the

shortest turns, or rather how to bring out the most creatures in the shortest

turn

- which creatures to include in the deck (eg white and green got the most

low casting cost creatures)

- how over come a BIG defender if opponent summon one

- how to deal with mass creatures killing spell

- etc etc

another eg is a counter deck. basically, it consist of all the different counter

spells in Magic, and the purpose is to prevent opponent from pulling off their

combo, and finish off the opponent with a creature. this deck require the player

to understand their opponent's deck so that they know what spell to counter

and not waste it on some "bluff"

Combo? With large fries and drinks ah???

Tell me more leh... I totally dunno anything about the game.... wats a combo ah?? :P

combos are like u have a set of cards which are designed (by yourself) to do certain things... alone the cards might be powerful but together even more so..

Eg.

summon 1 x creature

cast strength on creature

then cast flying (opponent's non-flying creature cannot block)

then attack..

that's a super simple combo... if your summoned creature had just attacked w/o the flying spell, then it wouldn't be able to damage the opponent and instead would have been stopped by his creatures..

You can also upsize your combos for $0.50 to get large fries and a diet coke...

Hallo... people...

I kanna deprived for 10 years liao leh... dun like that leh... for 10 years I spent my time studying and working, now try to find back some of my youth and u people suan me... :cry2::cry2:

:lol::lol:

Anyone else got more info to add??

So I can summon a school of tangs, make the tangs fly, give them MX-100 to prevent headloss, den dose AA and iodine, feed him GP and cyclopeeze and give the tangs moonlight so that they can see in the dark, den train them to eat so that they become hungry and angry and bite off some reefer's head?!

Sounds like FUN!!!!! :D

very unlikely bro..

1 started deck have only 3 rare and 1 booster have 1 rare. I did attend one tournment at Suntec City before with my friends. The Romance of Three Kingdom Tournment or something. It is where every contestant start with only a starter and 2 booster pack. they can trade whatever card which they dont want. Quite fun actually.. got Guan Yu, Cao Cao, Red hare. Does anyone still remember?

cheer

very unlikely bro..

1 started deck have only 3 rare and 1 booster have 1 rare. I did attend one tournment at Suntec City before with my friends. The Romance of Three Kingdom Tournment or something. It is where every contestant start with only a starter and 2 booster pack. they can trade whatever card which they dont want. Quite fun actually.. got Guan Yu, Cao Cao, Red hare. Does anyone still remember?

cheer

Can I check? all the starter packs come with the same cards??? the booster packs also same cards??

Starter packs are usually similar whereas booster packs are those you dunno what you are going to get... consist of one rare card inside...

BTW, one of the rarest cards in my time when I played is... :D

THE BLACK LOTUS.... I wonder how much it is in the market now... anyway, heard the card is banned from tournaments..

post-11-1131266076.jpg

And yeah, I use a Sliver deck... Used to have 9 Sliver Queen cards until I sold them away... Here's a pix of me favourite card... a Legend card... the Sliver QUeen... hehe..

post-11-1131266234.jpg