How ARMY choose you for OCS?

akahoshi

SIT test - 1 factor only.. the computer test before u enter bmt.., your A level/ poly results, perhap your family background too< i believe so.. ;)

kraziworm83- enjoy your course, prepare yourself before pro term. i missed the food.. much better than unit ~ esp during x'mas.

jungle survival course-u will never forget the exp. ;) (try to catch a catfish to eat-forget about the leaves). ;)

i better - ns officer for few yrs .. :lol::lol:

to eat , to zzz , to defer ICT.. all the way!!

other than myself, quite a gd num of ns officer in this forum. u will join us soon.

u will defer your ict - during your study in local U etc.. after sch - defer again, oversea posting - defer again.. can't blame us and u ma.. :P

ACT GARANG AND WAYANG.. LOADS OF IT

Project R.E.

Main Tank: 48" x 18" x 24" 12mm with external overflow piping

Sump Tank: 28" x 14.5" x 12" (3 compartments)

Lightings: T5 HO - Hopar 3* 39w + ATI 2* 54w

Skimmer: Skimz Bullet Beckett

Chiller: Resun CL-650 (28 - 29 °C)

Wavemakers: 2* Seio M620 + 1* Hydor K2 (7100 litre / hr)

Fluidized Reactor: Skimz FR (currently empty)

Pumps: 1x Rio 32HF (Skimmer), 1x Rio 20HF (Return & Chiller)

Filtration: more than 80kg LRs, chaeto

Water Circulation: ~ 4000 litre / hr

Future Plans: additional wavemaker, DIY algae scrubber, DIY overflow box

Previously:

Project R : 36" x 12" x 24" 10mm reef

Heard from some friends that if during your SIT test, you keeping shouting and scolding ppl, they'll send you to SISPEC.. lol.. is it true?

there's some truth in this..

usually for some pple aiming for OCS.. they wayang alot by always trying to lead and talk alot

But there's some cases where they also diam diam do work and lead by actions not words..

Project R.E.

Previously:

I thought the system now was for all leaders to pass thru sispec then the cream get diverted to OCS?

Leadership is a grave responsibility wanted by few. Who in the right mind would work their ###### off for so little reward- a thin dark bar on their shoulders? Tough training with no chance to slack during RESERVIST. Its only for those who really refuse to give less than 100% in all they do. Its damn tough to have so much baggage on one's shoulders- not easy to be an officer, constantly being examined by the men for flaws in their leadership.

My personal opinion. :)

being an ns officer has even more responsibilities. ;) your guys - have children and wifes waiting for them. ;) During your cadet phase, u only face physical and mental pains. when u are a officer... a gd officer.. it is the responsibility that u need to shoulder. a gd officer don't need to put on his rank, hold his sword.. to differentiate him from others.. it is the willingness to lead, serve your country and your guys!!!.. that makeu an officer

Agreed totally. Being an NS officer myself, i hv seen some of my specs performing than some of the officers in terms of motivating the men to do the job.

Being an officer dun mean a thing if u always siam the dirty work.. i always believe in, if u want the men to do it, u had better be able to walk the talk. ;)

it is more of a situation awareness.. read the situation n take the lead when it is time to do so..

Hmm.. so am i right to say that the less bossy you are and the better you are a team player, you'll be choosen for OCS?

Not really

must know when to take to initiative to do things and not wait to be told to do things

System for army is flawed in some sense.... <_<

Ppl so dame fit get pes E or F, and those with truely got problem are overlooked

To qualify for OCS min 'A' levels / Dip / yr SIT test results / peer appraisel / yr PL commander interview / and more imptly yr fitness

I have seen lots of ppl get into OCS but fail ippt / SOC / SEOC or "those" cases where they are not allowed to commission cos of their poor performance during the terms in OCS.

Train hard and be careful! Dun OOC like me... :angry: injury and get downgraded! :cry:

Depending on yr perspective: U can take it as 2 yrs of time wasting, or 2 yrs of learning. Learning to live with ppl U hate, ppl u can't stand, and ppl who are yr true buddies

If dun make it for OCS, dun need to dispare. Army is just another phase in life tt we guys have to go through.

U don't need to go to OCS to have a never say die spirit! Everyday is a new challenge

To Lead, to excel to overcome. Never say die!

To qualify for OCS min 'A' levels / Dip / yr SIT test results / peer appraisel / yr PL commander interview / and more imptly yr fitness

Dip as in Diploma? But this is poly diploma or what? Cos actually i'm studying an American school and they give a Diploma when you complete Grade 12 (same as singapore JC2), but not the poly type..

Anyway bro, NS is not only abt getting into OCS.. becoming officer. It to teach u to be a more responsible man and human being, not to live your life like some young punk.

If you're thinking of contributing to the army, there're many other ways and duties to do it. Even a rifleman can do a big part.

If you're thinking being officer can earn big bucks, siam duties, act all high and mighty in front of your men, then sorry man, OCS is not a place for you.

I don't have anything against officers. I work through sispec to get into OCS and i don't find any difference between both responsibilities. And some cadets in OCS came out to be downright disgusting officers as well.

Project R.E.

Previously:

Haha, this is a nice thread manz. Keep it coming

Anyway any good advices frm the gurus about NS? I am gg in at 7th April.

Anyway, yupp i think now u need to go SISPEC then go OCS if u qualify. I help ya reconfirm with my mother again? =)

Haiz, OCS is a dream for every guys la. Look at the buildings. macham like resort sia. I went in during Army Open House 04. V impressed. But training damn xiong. I got my news frm my tutotsrs. Both of them S1 in my mum's working place. They say need to go hunger strike for 5 days in a jungle in Brunei. Then gotta cut trees and everything. sounds cool to me. Tats why i wanna give it a go at OCS

But during my SIT test, i answered a qns wrongly and went back 15 qns to correct my mistake. Kanna scolded. Jialat i think i CMI for OCS liao. :(