Mushroom fragging

blueheaven

They are supposed to split :)

If you did the incision right up to the mouth, then when it heals, it would have 2 mouths already :D

Do keep us updated on the progress ya? :)

If you did the incision right up to the mouth, then when it heals, it would have 2 mouths already :D

Do keep us updated on the progress ya? :)

cool... one of the rics I sliced seems to have spawned a whole other mouth seperate from the original shroom itself... Hm.. but too early to tell...

cool.. i think my shroom is splitting... i did a wedge shaped cut down to it's mouth and now that wedge is splitting to another shroom I believe...

Thanks for the tip bro!

Bro;

Some pix leh, yuma or florida?? :P

Equipment:

30G Corner Tank with 10G Sump, 2 x 24W artinic T5, 1 x 24W 10K, 1x 24W 20K, 3" Grade 0 sand & Live rocks, Activated Carbon, Bio-home, 2 x Seio M620, Hailea 1/2HP Chiller, Redsea Pro Skimmer

Live Stock:

Turbo Snail x 1, Green Mandarin Dragonet X 2, Blue Tang X 2, True percular x 2, 1 x Algae Bleenie, Clarke clown x 2

Reef:

1 x 2" Blue maxima, Red/Brown/Purple Mushroom (Discosoma), Pink Ricordea yuma, A little colony Brown/Green common Zoanthus, Red/Pink/Green US Zoanthus, Eagle-eye Zoathus, 14 Branch Goniopora Pandoraensis, 1 Starburst Polyps, 3 + 2 Branch Frogspawn, 4 Blasto, palythoa, Cheato

RIPs (Since June 2005):

1. Sabae clown (KO by Clarke clown) 2. 1 branch melted frogspawn 4 branch 3. Golden maxima (Ripe the base off rock by me) 4. Algae Bleenie x 2 (Starvation) 5. Blue Maxima x 1, 2 x Maxima, 1 x frogspawn, rics (Overtemp...)

Old 30G Corner Tank.

Restarted 30G Corner Tank.

wa sheiz..

u all beri she de use such a nice piece to cut..

i c liaoz heart pain siaz...

.... :cry::cry::cry:

Only if you doing a well-informed cut, should be okay. Then you have more mah.

Equipment:

30G Corner Tank with 10G Sump, 2 x 24W artinic T5, 1 x 24W 10K, 1x 24W 20K, 3" Grade 0 sand & Live rocks, Activated Carbon, Bio-home, 2 x Seio M620, Hailea 1/2HP Chiller, Redsea Pro Skimmer

Live Stock:

Turbo Snail x 1, Green Mandarin Dragonet X 2, Blue Tang X 2, True percular x 2, 1 x Algae Bleenie, Clarke clown x 2

Reef:

1 x 2" Blue maxima, Red/Brown/Purple Mushroom (Discosoma), Pink Ricordea yuma, A little colony Brown/Green common Zoanthus, Red/Pink/Green US Zoanthus, Eagle-eye Zoathus, 14 Branch Goniopora Pandoraensis, 1 Starburst Polyps, 3 + 2 Branch Frogspawn, 4 Blasto, palythoa, Cheato

RIPs (Since June 2005):

1. Sabae clown (KO by Clarke clown) 2. 1 branch melted frogspawn 4 branch 3. Golden maxima (Ripe the base off rock by me) 4. Algae Bleenie x 2 (Starvation) 5. Blue Maxima x 1, 2 x Maxima, 1 x frogspawn, rics (Overtemp...)

Old 30G Corner Tank.

Ok guys, time to post your frags :lol:

• 2 months later...

Hey guys kinda new to shrooms propagation. Any advice on how to remove them nicely from rocks or glass? I just ripped 2 of them up from glass put it on rocks. There are some tears. Don't know if they'll survive but so far haven't die yet. Would appreciate help from u guys.

dun think there are any other methods. Just gently pluck them up in a couple of flips... pull a bit left, pull a bit right, it'll come off after a while. avoid ripping it up in a one-shot motion lah~

Just another question : Can I frag Yumas / F.Rics using the methods here? Anyone tried and succeeded?

Okay Dude/Sis;

The method is to use a blunt chisel like object ans slowly pry it loose. Do not use sharp object as it will hurt the foot of the shroom, especially for yuma. It will definitely come off.

After that it will be good to frag. As for yuma or Ric, propagating is the same. But surviviabilty low for new yuma. Frag yuma for more than 1 month in the tank.

Equipment:

Live Stock:

Reef:

RIPs (Since June 2005):

Old 30G Corner Tank.

Thanks alot fiona and nakazoru,

Unfortunately my 2 frags of shrooms have melted away.Luckily it is frags from a friend who needs to periodically harvest his shrooms so that there will not be a war in his tank or else i would have felt real bad. So i'm currently looking for frags to put in my tank first. Didn't know need to acclimatise it for one month. Haha

Thanks guys really appreciate it.

Wee